AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > 64 Bit computing

64 Bit computing "The" Topic for emerging 64 bit hardware and software.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2004, 08:57 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Oops

I think my bios is trashed

Went to update to the latest from the epox site. Used alt F2, every thing ran perfectly watched the little white bar writing, then it went to reboot and all I got was long BEEP - space LONG BEEP

Tried disconnecting, clearing cmos, took out battery but nothing

Edit: Maybe not: Showing code C1 which is memory, not going straight to FF, tried swapping out the memory in this machine but still nothing
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space

Last edited by dod; 20th February, 2004 at 09:58 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2004, 10:51 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Bummer!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st February, 2004, 03:42 PM
timbob2469's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Pa. USA
Posts: 805

What type of bios chip is in that board? More importantly, can you hot flash with a bios chip from an NForce2 motherboard such as 8RDA+ or NF7-S ? If not, why can't manufacturers settle on 1 type of bios chip for all motherboards, you know ,like a generic 1 or 2 MB chip that can be interchangable.
Helpful hint for hot flashing, use a piece of dental floss looped once under the chip to help remove and lower in the chips, once you have your keeper in place and your backup with a good flash, just gently pull the floss out and fully seat the chip.
Bob
Attached Thumbnails
Oops-bioschip-and-floss-medium-.jpg.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	46.8 KB
ID:	8032  
__________________
EP-8RDA+ v1.0 3827 bios
XP1700+ JIUHB 175 x 12.5=2187MHz. 1.75v
2 x 512MB Crucial pc3200 10, 2, 2, 2.0
THERMALRIGHT SLK900u 92mm Zalman fan, Enlight 420 watt, AIW 9000 Pro 64mb DDR agp4x, voltage mod 1.85v
Home made NB cooler
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st February, 2004, 10:00 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Great tip Timbob! While it remains risky, this should really help decrease the possibility of error!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 06:29 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

The trick I use is to take a heavy-duty paper clip, straighten it out, then bend one end at a 90 degree angle about 1/16" (about 1.5 mm) from the end. This allows it to fish down the side of the socket and let you pull the chip out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 10:10 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
The trick I use is to take a heavy-duty paper clip, straighten it out, then bend one end at a 90 degree angle about 1/16" (about 1.5 mm) from the end. This allows it to fish down the side of the socket and let you pull the chip out.
That's what I use as well. Thing that's bothering me here most is that I have a horrible feeling it could be the memory controller on the chip that's gone. Hence the C1 error. Hoping I'm wrong.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 11:15 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Dod - send me a personal e-mail with your name and address on - if you are unsure of my address contact sysadmin.

You've caught me lucky today - testing K8T800 and Longhorn 4051 as we speak so if I can locate where my dude keeps his SST 39SF040 blanks I'll be on the case for you.

You've just saved urself £11 odd!!!
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 11:29 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
Dod - send me a personal e-mail with your name and address on - if you are unsure of my address contact sysadmin.

You've caught me lucky today - testing K8T800 and Longhorn 4051 as we speak so if I can locate where my dude keeps his SST 39SF040 blanks I'll be on the case for you.

You've just saved urself £11 odd!!!
One of the last true gentlemen I'll put the cash to AOA. Everyone happy.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 01:19 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

I'll hold you to that!
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2004, 11:52 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
I'll hold you to that!
Obligation fulfilled
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2004, 06:21 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Many thanks to both of ya!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2004, 08:08 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Just got your Pay-PAL! Care package dod! Thanks again ET for making this trip possible; George, thanks for taking AOA along for the ride!!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 25th February, 2004, 11:44 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Much much appreciated Dod - nice one mate!
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2004, 08:46 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
Much much appreciated Dod - nice one mate!
No probs, and thanks, the chip came in today.

Now the bad news, no difference, still that continuous cycle of long beeps. COmbine that with C1 and Am I right in thinking probably memory controller on the chip?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2004, 02:55 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I couldn't O/c mine above 205 without very bad things happening . I was running Samsung PC 3700

With Samsung certified chips.

After talking...well whining to ET about it, I finally got the message "Fast RAM no longer required!

I swapped it out for my OLD PC 2700 set to Auto.

If I told you you wouldn't believe what I'm running that RAM at now.":O}

Have you tried SLOWER ram dod?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2004, 11:30 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~
Have you tried SLOWER ram dod?
Thanks Dan, was worth a try I've tried my XMS 3500 and 3200 as well as a stick of Kingston 2100 Value ram that I have as a spare.

All I get is that damned annoying beeps. This is just so frustrating after the week I've had with work machines
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2004, 05:53 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

It's like I said ealier...BUMMERRRR!

Did you trying pulling the CMOS and reseting to Optimized defaults with each try?

This may not be necessary, but on my board it seems to be. After failing enough times to qualify for a Government grant it just became a habit in trying to get things up.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2004, 08:59 PM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

it's unlikely that you killed the cpu unless you were near 2vcore or 3.3vdimm. all i can suggest is draining the capacitors and pulling the battery for a longer period. other thing you might try is starting without any memory in an attempt to clear a 'vapour lock'
systems should shut down after a bios flash and give users a chance to clear the cmos before trying to run the new bios.
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2004, 10:21 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I'm giving my Corsair 3500XMS a try, seems to be OK

Does ANYONE know what all these new memory settings do?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2004, 09:31 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by flytek
it's unlikely that you killed the cpu unless you were near 2vcore or 3.3vdimm. all i can suggest is draining the capacitors and pulling the battery for a longer period. other thing you might try is starting without any memory in an attempt to clear a 'vapour lock'
systems should shut down after a bios flash and give users a chance to clear the cmos before trying to run the new bios.
It was unplugged for about 5 days which should have been enough time Everything was set at auto and nothing was overclocked at all, I hadn't had time.

As I dont have a spare 754 pin yet I've sent it back for testing/replacement. If it turns out it's good it's still cheaper paying the testing fee rather than buying a new chip.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
oops! dabaerman CRASHED! 8 27th October, 2006 03:18 PM
oops? Toro Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 14 24th March, 2006 02:51 PM
Oops!!! toaster Case Modifications 6 19th March, 2005 03:12 PM
OOps. mookydooky EPoX MotherBoards 0 10th July, 2003 02:31 AM
Oops Spode Random Nonsense! 7 25th December, 2001 02:21 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0