AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > 64 Bit computing

64 Bit computing "The" Topic for emerging 64 bit hardware and software.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2004, 10:37 AM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok
Here's a CPU benchmark using 64-bit SiSoft Sandra.

Download it here: http://download.9down.com/software/S....SP1.Win64.rar

(This is the only place I have been able to find it)
got it! post some results when I get home
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2004, 06:42 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

not alot of difference but a bit quicker, although im not sure if my 64bit OS is running too smoothly as look at this error message im getting in the bottom right corner
Attached Thumbnails
A64 overclocks - what have you?-64bit.jpg   A64 overclocks - what have you?-error.jpg  
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2004, 07:41 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Thanks for posting your results, Uncle Bob.

So, what do you think could be holding me at 218mhz? I'm thinking it's the 1.55v max vcore on my board.

Higher latency settings don't seem to help.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2004, 07:44 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradmax57
not alot of difference but a bit quicker, although im not sure if my 64bit OS is running too smoothly as look at this error message im getting in the bottom right corner
It may be overclocked a bit too much. Ease off a couple of mhz and it may settle down.

If folding runs fine then I am convinced my system is stable. It's been folding all day while I was at work, no crashes.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2004, 10:55 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok
Thanks for posting your results, Uncle Bob.

So, what do you think could be holding me at 218mhz? I'm thinking it's the 1.55v max vcore on my board.

Higher latency settings don't seem to help.
Believe it or not.....try removing one of the memory modules and running at 5123 and see how much further you can go. Have you tried using ClockGen?
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2004, 11:23 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I am looking at ClockGen now, 64-bit version.

I am very alarmed by the fact that I set vcore to 1.55v in the BIOS and I have now discovered that this took no effect whatsoever! It would appear that it has been at 1.4v all along.

Now I can play some more!
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2004, 11:54 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I am able to overclock more now.

Something must be forcing my vcore voltage back down to 1.4v whilst the machine is booting. Could WinXP 64 be doing this? Something I don't understand is going on here.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2004, 12:52 AM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok
It may be overclocked a bit too much. Ease off a couple of mhz and it may settle down.

If folding runs fine then I am convinced my system is stable. It's been folding all day while I was at work, no crashes.
32 bit was sweet at exactly the same timings but did drop it to 220 and all was well
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2004, 03:23 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

My limited experience with XP 64 was that it did nothing to alter my BIOS settings.
ClockGen is sweet!
Another product I found for looking at settings for 64 bit computing is http://crystalmark.info/?lang=en
Attached Thumbnails
A64 overclocks - what have you?-crystalcpuid.jpg  
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2004, 01:47 AM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

240fsb
Attached Thumbnails
A64 overclocks - what have you?-240fsb.jpg  
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2004, 02:28 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Nice one!
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2004, 04:08 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

64 bit finesse!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2004, 02:49 PM
FluffyChicken's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Wales
Posts: 89

Not sure what version of AIDA that is but it's currently at v3.93 officialy

You can always get the most upto date version from here
http://www.livewiredev.com/bbs/showt...&threadid=3774 just subscribe to the thread and you get a nice email every time a new Preview Version is out.
These are preview but you get told what's altered.
Also if you look in the Plugins on the toolbar you'll see more benchmarks...
Been using at for a long time now.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2006, 06:56 AM
Bart's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2005
Posts: 24

Quote:
Originally Posted by dod
Just interested in what guys are getting out of their A64's. I'd post if I could

Anyway, what board, what cpu, voltage, fsb, MHz, ah, you know what to put down
279x9=2511MHz, LDT=4, Vcore set @ 1.5, 2x512 OCZ Platinum rev 2 set at 2325,1T, Vdim@2.8. Can go higher, but have to raise voltages (and temps) and slow down the DRAM timings.
Winchester 3200
ABIT AV8
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2006, 03:47 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Here are some latest Opteron scores...
Attached Thumbnails
A64 overclocks - what have you?-dc17503.jpg   A64 overclocks - what have you?-opteron14.jpg  
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2006, 04:07 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Bob
Here are some latest Opteron scores...
My aunt never told me what a fine MAN you are ! :thumsup:
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2006, 11:00 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

EDIT: Apparently I've caught a slight case of retard...its going around ya know.

Nice!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2006, 03:08 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seperah
EDIT: Apparently I've caught a slight case of retard...its going around ya know.

Nice!
I was vaccinated by Dr. leary back in '65....I think it didn't work though!

Thems OC's are on air...using Arctic cooling freezer 64.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2.../SETIPCs01.jpg
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old 4th March, 2006, 08:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2006
Posts: 15

This is my latest OC. 300x8. I was trying for 300x9, but it didnt wanna boot.

A64 overclocks - what have you?-3000.300x8.2400.jpg
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old 4th March, 2006, 01:41 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

2.4 is very nice for a 3000+.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus EN8600GT overclocks great danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 21st May, 2007 11:01 PM
Is this the end of big overclocks! QSDT Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 34 14th January, 2006 06:59 AM
KT600 - ET overclocks - EP-8KRA2+ EPoX Tech EPoX MotherBoards 126 30th September, 2003 08:35 PM
8K3A+ v1.2 - What kind of overclocks you getting? +=space|monk=+ EPoX MotherBoards 30 3rd August, 2003 12:49 AM
overclocks to improve life. .:N2:. Random Nonsense! 23 12th June, 2002 05:38 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0