AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > 64 Bit computing

64 Bit computing "The" Topic for emerging 64 bit hardware and software.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 03:44 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

only time will tell....................:(

mmm might have killed my 9800pro.... just put my new ram and SATA in computer and was busy restoring from a ghost image onto the SATA drive and I thought mmmm pc is very quiet today and felt near the 9800pro and the heat was amazing!!! looked and the fan on the VGA silencer had died immediately switched of had a bit of a jiggle and now its working? any way still getting some image on screen so will tell once ghost has finished oh the joys
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 03:58 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Man!

Sorry to hear that BradMax. Hope everything works out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 04:21 PM
RatBastard's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Beyond The Sun.....
Posts: 59

no doubt!! Hope it works out for ya!!
__________________
Epox 8HDA3+
A64 3200+ (10x215)
2 x 120 SATA Cuda's(RAID 0)
2 x 512 Kingmax 3500
Radeon 9800XT (433/372)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 05:01 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

I have everything crossed for you. I know that feeling only too well recently
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 08:36 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by dod
I have everything crossed for you. I know that feeling only too well recently
she's back, now i need some help using my SATA wtf? downloaded the drivers from MSI as U cant find the disk, thing is ive 4 ports and 2 different SATA devices ones Promise and the other is onboard VIA thingy, so obviously depending on which one I need the drivers etc, ok boot using win xp pro disk and hit f6 to run raid setup but still finds no disk although bios is reporting it, also misplaced booklet that came with mobo.... wish i was more organised
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 09:58 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradmax57
she's back, now i need some help using my SATA wtf? downloaded the drivers from MSI as U cant find the disk, thing is ive 4 ports and 2 different SATA devices ones Promise and the other is onboard VIA thingy, so obviously depending on which one I need the drivers etc, ok boot using win xp pro disk and hit f6 to run raid setup but still finds no disk although bios is reporting it, also misplaced booklet that came with mobo.... wish i was more organised
F6 during setup eventually asks you to install the floppy for the SATA drivers. Have you got that far yet?

And good news with the card
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 10:04 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by dod
F6 during setup eventually asks you to install the floppy for the SATA drivers. Have you got that far yet?

And good news with the card
Thanks, i did try that but with no luck, but for some reason next time it worked????? anyway seems okay only thing is ive dropped from 200gb to 160gb but shoudl still be enough for now. Think i got the card just in the nick of time got your new stuff yet Dod?
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 10:16 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradmax57
Thanks, i did try that but with no luck, but for some reason next time it worked????? anyway seems okay only thing is ive dropped from 200gb to 160gb but shoudl still be enough for now. Think i got the card just in the nick of time got your new stuff yet Dod?
Is it maxtor? If it is use the maxblast utility to format and you should regain the lost space.

Stuffs not here yet. I sent cheques off a couple of days ago so I don't really expect anything till about the end of next week.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 11:21 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by dod
Is it maxtor? If it is use the maxblast utility to format and you should regain the lost space.

Stuffs not here yet. I sent cheques off a couple of days ago so I don't really expect anything till about the end of next week.
Samsung, i liked the look of the 3 year warranty, all seems well at moment......
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2004, 05:58 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

It's a shame ATI don't put more in to their drivers, so that you are warned when the fan dies.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Isn't it about time? LP Random Nonsense! 2 8th January, 2006 11:21 PM
doesnt boot first time, boots second time. sweety CRASHED! 5 22nd July, 2004 12:48 AM
A better time? dod Random Nonsense! 5 2nd October, 2003 05:47 PM
"Your machine's time isn't synched to MSN's time. 25. cloasters OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 8 10th October, 2002 03:39 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0