AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > 64 Bit computing

64 Bit computing "The" Topic for emerging 64 bit hardware and software.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2004, 11:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 97

nf3150 with working agp/pci lock!!!

This thread from another forum is actaully about OCZ EB memory but its what the guy from OCZ testing dept says that is interesting:
http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...eadid=17210682

Quote:
Originally posted by nochance
The board in the benches is an AOpen Ak89Max NF3 150.It has fully working agp and PCI lock but lacks in the vcore and vdimm dept.Vdimm is 2.8max so I may have to apply the soldering iron to this one

Upto now it seems the gigabyte, shuttle and Aopen are the only boards to have the lock working.I can tell you NF3 250 is easier for the manufactuers to apply the lock to and the new MSI already has a bios to 300fsb and hits it VERY easy.I will be working with many manufacturers to get 300+fsb bios files and Vdimm t at least 3V.

DDR1 has a lot more life in it yet..trust me
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2004, 06:07 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

300mhz sounds good!
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2004, 06:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 97

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok
300mhz sounds good!

better than that.this is a reply when i asked him about this motherboard by email.

Paul the bios used on the AK89 is posted on the AOpen site. It took a lot of hard work to get the bios engineers to get it right but as you see 347fsb is the outcome ;-)


AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2004, 08:45 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

okay where is this board available? in UK
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2004, 08:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 97

unfortunately DABS.com.
maybe they have imorived as i havent bought off them since the 1st geforce gfx card cos customer service stank!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2004, 09:09 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by pumbertot
unfortunately DABS.com.
maybe they have imorived as i havent bought off them since the 1st geforce gfx card cos customer service stank!!
I use them all the time, for buying stuff work work they are very good as far as im concerned, my on board sound died yesterday and I requested an RMA this morning received it already......
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2004, 11:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 97

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradmax57
I use them all the time, for buying stuff work work they are very good as far as im concerned, my on board sound died yesterday and I requested an RMA this morning received it already......

cool must have got better.the question is to spend £100 or wait 2-3 weeks and get an MSI K8N NEO NF3 250 with 2 sata raid arrays(no bottleneck!!!).awesome looking board.

google the reviews.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2004, 05:41 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

mmmm im going to have to return my current board so could be without again for a while, dont use sata anyway never had any good experience with it.
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2004, 05:52 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I haven't bothered with SATA. Built a new A64 system with a mate, the SATA drive went down for no apparent reason after a week. It's fine now.

I just going to stick with WD IDE drives for now.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2004, 07:20 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

ive found from personal experience i cant overclock anywhere near as much as with ide drives, my current system was corrupting windows at 215fsb with ide im at 230 quite happy...
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2004, 08:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 97

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradmax57
ive found from personal experience i cant overclock anywhere near as much as with ide drives, my current system was corrupting windows at 215fsb with ide im at 230 quite happy...

yes of course but only because SATA(which on nf3 150) run off the PCI bus and are more sensitive to o/c. On the nf3 250 SATA without bottleneck, not running off PCI and anyway locked PCI/AGP.
i can assure you OS, games etc load extremely quicker with 2 raptors in raid0 over IDE drives any day of the week.I just moved to 2 raptors and all i can say is you dont know what you're missing guys!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2004, 08:55 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by pumbertot
yes of course but only because SATA(which on nf3 150) run off the PCI bus and are more sensitive to o/c. On the nf3 250 SATA without bottleneck, not running off PCI and anyway locked PCI/AGP.
i can assure you OS, games etc load extremely quicker with 2 raptors in raid0 over IDE drives any day of the week.I just moved to 2 raptors and all i can say is you dont know what you're missing guys!

About 350gb of storage space your absolutely right i know about the raptors being fast just couldnt bring myself to go from a 250gb hdd to a 76gb (not that I normally use more than that anyway)
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2004, 09:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 97

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradmax57
About 350gb of storage space your absolutely right i know about the raptors being fast just couldnt bring myself to go from a 250gb hdd to a 76gb (not that I normally use more than that anyway)
what you talking about?i still have another 200gb+160gb as IDE for storage.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2004, 09:03 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by pumbertot
what you talking about?i still have another 200gb+160gb as IDE for storage.
Nice
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2004, 09:04 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

however those damn cables are so annoying i mean how easy to knock off, i will try some soon
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2004, 09:22 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

The SATA cable? I couldn't believe how loose they are, I thought the connector must be broken at first. What's that all about?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2004, 09:26 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok
The SATA cable? I couldn't believe how loose they are, I thought the connector must be broken at first. What's that all about?
I know i mean us modders and oc'ers are known to poke inside the case once and a while the slightest knock took one of mine off
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2004, 09:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 97

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok
The SATA cable? I couldn't believe how loose they are, I thought the connector must be broken at first. What's that all about?

yeah.fault lies with the manufacturers of board and drives though not cables.
the connectors on the back of the raptors allow the cables to lock into place quite tightly.nothing like the connectors in SATA maxtors or any motherboard i have.

come on mobo techs, get it right with nf3 250.we want fittings that keep the cables tight.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2004, 02:31 PM
silentrunner's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Posts: 14

raptors are the way to go

have to say the speed difference with setting up raptors in raid 0 is the way to go, have had mine running a week now fast as, i did have windows xp 64 bit running but was have problems with drivers ati to name but a few, i have a 256mb 9600 xt and couldn't get drivers to work, so i am back to the 32 bit version, and it is still fast i did however download the ati drivers from omaga and they are well smart www.omagacorner.com only third party driver programmers supported by ati.

Athlon 64 3200+
Abit KV8-MAX3
Raid 0 WD Raptors
Raid 1 Maxtors SATA 160gb
120 GB SATA Page file, tmp and DVD Files
1gb OCZ 3200Mhz Plat.
Asatec Waterchill water cool system on CPU. GPU, And North Bridge.
ATi 9600 256Mb XT Omaga Drivers
Liteon 8X DVD-/+ RW
BTC CD-RW 52X
Antec P160 Case Silver finish
Globalwin Supersilent 520w PSU (19dBl)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2004, 05:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 97

Quote:
Originally Posted by silentrunner
have to say the speed difference with setting up raptors in raid 0 is the way to go, have had mine running a week now fast as, i did have windows xp 64 bit running but was have problems with drivers ati to name but a few, i have a 256mb 9600 xt and couldn't get drivers to work, so i am back to the 32 bit version, and it is still fast i did however download the ati drivers from omaga and they are well smart www.omagacorner.com only third party driver programmers supported by ati.
yep it is lightning fast.btw i think you mean omega drivers at www.omegacorner.com
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lock AGP sidiz AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 3rd May, 2005 04:08 PM
Windows "Lock Computer" not working Cerium OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 1 2nd April, 2005 11:37 PM
Lock Up dj_jon CRASHED! 1 31st August, 2003 09:05 PM
prime lock up orby EPoX MotherBoards 0 17th February, 2003 11:59 AM
8k3a+ pci/agp fsb lock possible? Sideburns AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 9th November, 2002 05:04 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0