AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > 64 Bit computing

64 Bit computing "The" Topic for emerging 64 bit hardware and software.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2005, 09:02 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

AMD Turion 64 benchmarked

See it here:
http://www.coolaler.com/ipb/index.php?showtopic=42810
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2005, 09:52 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

*skeptical*

i dunno... i really dunno.
Its unconvincing.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2005, 10:43 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

definitely a bit sus
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th March, 2005, 03:14 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Something is a bit dodge with the voltage.

1V on the second bench?
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th March, 2005, 09:58 PM
nodavilp's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 58

http://theinquirer.net/?article=21613
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=55174
__________________
AMD AthlonXPm 2,2ghz,1,55v Epox 8rda3+,rev.3.2. kingmax ddr433, 2x512mb Powercolor r9800pro,r360=XT ANTEC 1080amg,430w Misty watercooling for CPU 107D,959nf,mx700,...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th March, 2005, 10:22 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Trouble is that those relate to the same source as originally posted, so they don't really confirm anything.

Hopefully, AMD will have this chip at CeBIT and we will get some official info.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th March, 2005, 11:55 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

It would appear the same guy now has a 4200+ CPU.

http://www.digital-info.net/vbb/showthread.php?t=2635
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2005, 12:04 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Just to illustrate the journalistic integrity of the inquirer, they source their latest tech news from, "Some dude, some where, from some country, who speaks some language, who has a picture, thats half blacked out, that was posted on some forum."

DAMN, brb, im going to that forums to post that i have osama bin laden living in my basement. After all, a photo of osama in my basement is all the proof you need, its not photoshopped or anything. Honest.

From the people who brought us the Geforce 6900, and the Athlon GT. well done guys, have a pulitzer!
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2005, 12:16 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

It goes without saying, don't believe everythong you read!

What's a pulitzer?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2005, 12:27 AM
Sideburns's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: UK, North East
Posts: 280

A Pulitzer is a prize for damn good journalism.

The inquirer is a much ignored site for me.
__________________
"Pain is only relative to the comfort you live in"

Athlon 64 3700+, Shuttle sn95, 1gb, nvidia 7600gt

----old-----
xp1700+ @ xp2600 (12.5*166 / 1.6v), epox 8k3a+, TwinMos + Geil 1.5gb ram, Ati radeon 8500 128mb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2005, 04:03 PM
Bring the Noise's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 243

I'm still wondering why people are thinking the FX-55 will equal a Athlon 64 4200+

Just by looking at AMD's past PR listings let make some comparisons...

3500+ 2.2Ghz 512KB L2
3800+ 2.4Ghz 512KB L2 (300 Pr points for a 200Mhz speed bump)
4000+ 2.4Ghz 1MB L2 (200 PR points for doubling the L2)
4300+ Min for 2.6Ghz 1MB L2 (300 Points for 200Mhz speed bump)

Cross pointing
From a 3500+ to a 4000+ we see 500 PR points from a 200Mhz increase and doubling the L2 cache. So we should see a 500 PR point jump from the 3800 to the FX-55's clock locked version, cause its the same 200Mhz increase and double the L2 cache.

Now the fact that the new E revision contains an enhanced memory controller (one that can run 4 sticks of PC3200 at PC3200 -vs- reducing speed to PC2700) and the addition of SSE3.

I'm thinking the PR number 4300+ or 4400+ for the 2.6Ghz cpu with 1MB of L2. Let the 512KB version be the 4200+
__________________
Kingwin 436WM Black-n-Gold
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ (Frosted with a Vapochill Light Speed)
Asus A8N-SLI Premium
2GB OCZ PC4000 Gold
SLI'd E-VGA 6800 GT's
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2005, 07:25 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

All I get is ©êºp¡Aµo¥Í¿ù»~¡I*Õ*Y±z¤£½Tª¾¦p ó¨Ï¥Î¬Y¶µ¥\¯*¡A©ÎªÌ¤£ª¾¹D¬ ¦ó±z·|±o¨ì¦¹¿ù»~°T®§¡A½Ð¸Õµ ¬Ý¬Ý»¡©úÀÉ®×¥H¨ú±o§ó¦hªº¸ê °T¡C. I cant get any legible writing.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2005, 07:52 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...oc.aspx?i=2374

Turion released. And its not a new chip at all, its the same old athlon64, only now they are calling the athlon64 mobile in combination with its chipset / architecture a "technology"

So, Turion 64 is to Mobile Athlon 64 as Centrino is to Pentium M. (after the cattle exporters are through with it)
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2005, 09:38 AM
Bring the Noise's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 243

AMD Turion 64 = speed bin Socket 754's that can run at minimal voltage while producing very very little heat paired with efficient chipset, graphics, wireless, and the rest.

Now if Nvidia can produce a version of the Nforce 4 ultra at 90nm and back it with a 90nm 6200 or 6600 mobility (8 pipes in the thin and lite market should be more then enough).
IBM's Fishkill Fab does 300mm wafers and 90nm process size, and Nvidia goes through IBM for some of their fab production (IE chips).

Back a speed bin'd Socket 754 with a 90nm chipset and GPU (all using SSDOI) and you should be able to come up with a thin-n-lite notebook that would give you decent performance with good battery life... This is what AMD needs to smack Centrino around!

Another thing to remember is AMD's agreement with IBM about SSDOI or what ever they are calling the Strained Silicon On Isolator process they have come up with.

So if Nvidia was still going through IBM for chip production. They could possibly use the production techniques that AMD has refined with the K8's E4 steppings but use them at IBM's plant (again AMD-IBM agreement on production techniques and the Fab's use the same tools on the backend).

That could create a low voltage chipset and more importantly a low voltage GPU that would not generate 60 to 80 watts of heat and guzzle electricity like a beast.

Anyhow just a hope.
But I'm thinking that 2Ghz isn't going to be enough for cpu speeds if Intel is about to push up to 2.2 and higher for the PentiumM cpu's.
__________________
Kingwin 436WM Black-n-Gold
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ (Frosted with a Vapochill Light Speed)
Asus A8N-SLI Premium
2GB OCZ PC4000 Gold
SLI'd E-VGA 6800 GT's

Last edited by Bring the Noise; 10th March, 2005 at 09:46 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2005, 10:34 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I think it will be ok. Dothan does not have a whole lot of headroom and intel know that, which is why they are planning to change their dual core base from dothan to the next generation of the dothan design soon after their launch. We know the Athlon64 has headroom to burn however they have not limited turion 64 to athlon64 cpus. I would not be surprised if we saw an athlon64 / Geode hybrid sometime soon. Geode core, on 90nm, or possible even 65nm, given how successful their last die shrink was, with 64 bit enabled, and an on chip memory controller, with possibly a much smaller cache than you would expect on a mobile chip. The reduced DDR latencey from the on die controller makes the A64 much less effected by cache changes. Less cache could mean better battery life which is what i care about a hell of a lot more than performance. Performance around the 2.4-2.8 range with good battery life is alot more important than flat out speed.

I seriously think thats how they can beat centrino. Be making a slower performing platform with twice the battry life. I think Geode definately needs to come out of the woodwork in a big way, even if it does inherit some A64 tech.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2005, 06:38 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

This set of benches shows how little the L2 affects performance in most situations with the A64

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu...on-2600_5.html
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2005, 07:19 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

The Inquirer is just a techie version of the Enquirer - Attentiojn grabbing headlines backed by poor writing, little or no fact checking, and no real technical information even when the facts are in order.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2005, 10:19 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by dolanenwindrift
The Inquirer is just a techie version of the Enquirer - Attentiojn grabbing headlines backed by poor writing, little or no fact checking, and no real technical information even when the facts are in order.
Here here.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 07:54 AM
psy^'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: 3095.au
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to psy^ Send a message via MSN to psy^

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
Just to illustrate the journalistic integrity of the inquirer, they source their latest tech news from, "Some dude, some where, from some country, who speaks some language, who has a picture, thats half blacked out, that was posted on some forum."
But this is the Internet!
Nobody lies on the Internet
__________________

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Retail R600XTX pictured & benchmarked Gizmo Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 19 15th April, 2007 02:26 AM
MSI's Turion 64 X2 dual core reviewed Gizmo Mobile Devices and Networking 9 22nd July, 2006 01:55 AM
EP-8KDA3+ & Turion 64 support Snakedriver EPoX MotherBoards 0 18th March, 2006 07:27 PM
Turion 64 OC g4dg3t AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 7th June, 2005 04:07 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0