AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > 64 Bit computing

64 Bit computing "The" Topic for emerging 64 bit hardware and software.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2005, 09:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Location: milton keynes, england
Posts: 56

Question cool and quiet

had a play with 64 bit version again (ver 1218) and noticed that the 'cool and quiet' cpu speed adjustment feature is not working. the cpu is running full speed all the time which runs down the laptop battery pretty quick. do i have to load something or is there a setting somewhere? cant remember how it appeared on the on the XP 32 bit
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2005, 10:10 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Try installing the Windows XP 64 driver, if it exists. It should be on www.amd.com.

I might grab it and upload it if it isnt already on AOAFiles.com
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2005, 08:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 4

I checked AMD but they have no C&C driver for 64 bit operating system which is really strange consdidering they're pushing the technology.

WinXP 64 bit comes with a proper driver that kind of supports it.
However, while it does lower the multi and the voltage to the right frequencies the HTT is automatically increasing to counteract that change leaving the CPU at the same speed!
My voltage is at 1.1v, multi of 5 and HTT for ~450 according to CPU-Z!
what the hell is going on?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2005, 09:15 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

you must set your desktop to max battery in the "power options" to enable cool and quiet. make sure this is done.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd April, 2005, 01:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 4

here look at this:

http://members.inode.at/broschek/inuse.jpeg
http://members.inode.at/broschek/idle.jpeg

something is wrong there!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd April, 2005, 02:11 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

yeah, and i'd say it was the software you are using. 451 FSB is pretty much a world record right now.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2005, 03:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Location: milton keynes, england
Posts: 56

Angry

Quote:
you must set your desktop to max battery in the "power options" to enable cool and quiet. make sure this is done
tried that but no difference, still running full speed
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2005, 04:15 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

word is that the speed changes cannot be detected by 32bit tools in 64bit Windows. get a 64bit tool, maybe try sandra-x64, and make sure that there are no changes taking place. the final HTT number shown could just be a bug in cpu-z, that detects only max speed, and when the multidrops down, it tried to derive the HTT speed by dividing the max speed by the current multi..surprisingly enough, you get 451fsb. You ram would have caused your system to crash if it were really running 451FSB, as only really special kits of TCCD can reach these speeds on DDR(and not on 2.9v, either!). That whole little thing there tell me that CNQ IS in fact working.

this is just a un-educated guess, but i'm probably right.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cool&Quiet chrisbard The Quiet PC 15 2nd May, 2006 10:10 AM
Cool n Quiet question on 8kda3j OnDborder EPoX MotherBoards 27 5th September, 2004 07:07 AM
How do I enable Cool `n´ Quiet on my 8KDA3J? JooV EPoX MotherBoards 9 19th August, 2004 06:10 PM
8KDA3+ Cool&Quiet vs HTT burton EPoX MotherBoards 1 20th July, 2004 11:25 PM
Cool N Quiet w/ 8Kda3's g3no EPoX MotherBoards 0 17th July, 2004 09:28 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0