AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > 64 Bit computing

64 Bit computing "The" Topic for emerging 64 bit hardware and software.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2005, 05:47 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Free Upgrade to Windows 64bit Edition

Those of you with 64bit processors and a legit copy of Windows XP Professional can claim your free upgrade to the 64bit edition.
Orders must be made before by July 31st and make sure you really want it as I don't think you will have a 32bit license anymore.

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/6...e/default.mspx
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2005, 06:15 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

made my order already. sucks that you lose you XP 32-bit liscence tho. Disks will ship in may.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2005, 06:53 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I suppose it's one sure way of forcing support, if enough customers move over and burn their bridges and start to complain about lack of drivers, then manufacturers are gonna have to take notice.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2005, 07:07 PM
IceRaptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 501
Send a message via MSN to IceRaptor

Damn... i was hoping to have both installed on different partitions...

ohh well... i'm going for it
__________________
E4300 @ 3.15Ghz ( Arctic Freezer Pro 7)
PowerColor 4830 512MB
2x pc6400 2Gb
320gb Seagate
500gb WD (external)
Gigabyte P965 S3
OCZ Stealth-X-Stream 600 Watt
Vista 32 bit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2005, 07:10 PM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

Ditto. Will be making the order when I get home tonight.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2005, 07:18 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

this is for an upgrade disk..there are costs associated with this, for shiping, but the actual cd is pretty much free.

Very little support is offered...one call to Microsoft, and when you install the upgrade, you void your OEM warranty, if the OS was pre-installed.

Now them disabling online activation for "pre-installs" is starting to make sense...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2005, 07:51 PM
IceRaptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 501
Send a message via MSN to IceRaptor

yeh... they charge $12 to ship....
__________________
E4300 @ 3.15Ghz ( Arctic Freezer Pro 7)
PowerColor 4830 512MB
2x pc6400 2Gb
320gb Seagate
500gb WD (external)
Gigabyte P965 S3
OCZ Stealth-X-Stream 600 Watt
Vista 32 bit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2005, 02:28 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

It's a bit dumb to not have the option to download it like they did with the preview versions
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2005, 04:16 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

that's becasue they are disabling cd keys from online activation...they have to manuaslly enter it, almost, and they have complete control of who gets it if they send a disk..they couldn't with a download. they could be encoding each disk to your cdkey as well...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2005, 05:49 AM
fantomfreq's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: Fort Stewart, GA
Posts: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to fantomfreq

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
that's becasue they are disabling cd keys from online activation...they have to manuaslly enter it, almost, and they have complete control of who gets it if they send a disk..they couldn't with a download. they could be encoding each disk to your cdkey as well...
Now THAT would be wasteful and take forever. Disks are stamped out from a master, so either some new technology would need to be created or Microsoft would be burning each disk from a custom image. I'm sure that they've thought of something along those lines before but deemed it too financially impossible.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2005, 07:17 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

THEY DISABLE YOUR CD FROM ONLINE ACTIVATION....opps. caps...if you have a non-OEM version. they have to do it somehow, and a machine to burn a disk, simply changing activation to the one each person enters online, print a label, package it, etc...explains the $12 cost....would take about 5 mins for a complete cd.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2005, 08:10 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

It's $22 to the uk though, about £11. They chose the perfect time, when i was planning to buy some more ram. ah well, be able to afford it after thursday then start saving again.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2005, 08:17 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

What no upgrade for 2000 Pro? Don't they trust me? LOL
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2005, 11:04 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

i guess this is only for full versions of xp then?
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2005, 11:18 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

XP pro, nope...read this:

Quote:
The Technology Advancement Program is designed to assist customers who have acquired a new x64 Computer with the intention of replacing a previously licensed 32-bit version of Microsoft® Windows® XP Professional (1-2 Processor Version) Microsoft® Windows® XP Professional (1-4 Processor Version and Microsoft® Windows® XP Professional Reduced Media Edition (1-2 Processor Version) (“Windows XP Pro (32 Bit)”) with Windows XP Professional x64 Edition on such system. This program allows customers to exchange a license for Windows XP Pro (32 Bit)for the new version of Windows XP Professional x64 Edition.
Technology Advancement Program Eligibility
In order to be eligible to receive Windows® XP Professional x64 Edition, your computer must have been ordered between March 31, 2003 and July 31, 2005 with Microsoft Windows® XP Pro (32 Bit) preinstalled.

In addition, you must read and agree to the following:
By participating in this program, your 32-bit version of Windows® XP Professional will no longer be licensed.
The installation of Windows® XP Professional x64 Edition requires you to format your hard drive. You must back up your files and settings prior to the installation or they will be erased. Microsoft is not liable for any loss of data as a result of this installation.
Windows® XP Professional x64 Edition requires 64-bit hardware drivers (32-bit drivers are not supported). Drivers for 64-bit Windows are created at the discretion of hardware manufacturers and may not be available for some of your hardware components.
For the purposes of the End User License Agreement for your existing Windows® XP Pro (32 Bit) software, your installation of this software will be an “Upgrade.”
The installation of Windows® XP Professional x64 Editions will void any support with your PC manufacturer. One free support call will be provided by Microsoft for any installation-related issues. Additional calls to Microsoft support will be available on a pay-per-incident basis.
Cost for shipping and handling of upgrade is $12.00 USD for domestic shipments and $22.00 USD for International shipments plus any applicable taxes.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2005, 11:24 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
XP pro, nope...read this:
Well I have an OEM version of XP Pro, im trying to enter my COA from the label I stuck on the top of my pc and it dont like it mmmmmmmm
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2005, 11:33 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

lol that's who they are supposed to be doing this for!

they also say some OEM's will be handling the upgrade if you got like a dell, or an hp. they did not mention who tho.
Quote:
In order to be eligible to receive Windows® XP Professional x64 Edition, your computer must have been ordered between March 31, 2003 and July 31, 2005 with Microsoft Windows® XP Pro (32 Bit) preinstalled.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2005, 12:01 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Quote:
Originally Posted by skool h8r
It's $22 to the uk though, about £11. They chose the perfect time, when i was planning to buy some more ram. ah well, be able to afford it after thursday then start saving again.
You won't be able to use it at the moment yet though, it needs a 64bit cpu, which currently means an Athlon64 or Pentium 4 6XX series
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2005, 08:20 AM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
lol that's who they are supposed to be doing this for!

they also say some OEM's will be handling the upgrade if you got like a dell, or an hp. they did not mention who tho.
LOL but mines obviously a hand crafted piece of perfection "cough"! it does mention for self builds aswell, anyway Ive sent them an email to see whats up I have 2 copys of XP Pro anyway and only one in use at the moment so duel boot should be okay for me
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2005, 02:28 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

grrrrrrrrrrr tried again "we are sorry we cannot process your order at this time" mmmm same COA used as before?
Attached Thumbnails
Free Upgrade to Windows 64bit Edition-order.jpg  
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini

Last edited by bradmax57; 27th April, 2005 at 03:07 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
windows server 2003 enterprise edition FTP karbon86 OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 28th October, 2004 10:29 PM
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition 1218 smidgley 64 Bit computing 43 15th September, 2004 06:47 AM
Wireless and Windows 64bit Legros 64 Bit computing 4 17th August, 2004 11:37 PM
DNA drivers for ATI Radeon Windows XP 64-bit Edition smidgley 64 Bit computing 2 26th May, 2004 10:14 AM
Windows Real Good Edition Caffinehog Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 2 21st September, 2002 09:26 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0