AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > 64 Bit computing

64 Bit computing "The" Topic for emerging 64 bit hardware and software.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2005, 08:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 6

Giving up on x64 bit

Right, that's it. I've tried to completely convert over to x64 and I AM GIVING UP! Nothing works...still!

List of things that do not work:

Windows Update
Sound Blaster 5.1 Surround sound (only 2 speakers!)
DVD Software
Punkbuster Anti-Cheat software
Half of my games

That's not all I'm sure. Not to mention it took me 3 hours to find working LAN drivers!

Back to square one...nice one Microsoft and all other manufacturers for FAILING to provide ANY good drivers.



PS: I've tried to live with x64 for nearly 2 months! Dont slate me for not trying!
__________________
_____________________________________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ NewCastle @ 2.42Ghz
Asus K8V SE Deluxe
512mb Corsair XMS DDR 3200 (2-3-3-6 @ 220Mhz)
Creative Nvidia FX5600 128mb AGP
Western Digital 40GB 7200rpm HD
Sony CD-RW 52x/24x/52x
Samsung CD-R 52x
Samsung DVD 16x
17" Sony 210ES Flat CRT Monitor
Akasa Fans
Raidmax Cobra Case 420W PSU
Windows XP Pro SP2
_____________________________________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2005, 09:48 PM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

It looks like you aren't using a sound card for that sound issue. I'm guessing it worked before but make sure the 5.1 setting is enabled in your driver and windows. I had the same problem on my other comp, 32 bit edition, and solved it by downloading the latest driver and enabled the 5.1 channel setting. It'd be a good idea to give up on it though. It looks as if until some 64 bit game/software come out no one's really looking to update any drivers so just stick with 32 bit edition until they've decided to update thier drivers. My 2 cents.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2005, 09:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 6

Yeah I am seriously considering to downgrade to 32-bit and wait for Vista to come out (I bet that will be just as bad!).

I've tried all sorts of drivers, settings, DVD decoders, codecs...I've given up on the sound card issue for now. I might have to relegate to my onboard 6.1 card
__________________
_____________________________________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ NewCastle @ 2.42Ghz
Asus K8V SE Deluxe
512mb Corsair XMS DDR 3200 (2-3-3-6 @ 220Mhz)
Creative Nvidia FX5600 128mb AGP
Western Digital 40GB 7200rpm HD
Sony CD-RW 52x/24x/52x
Samsung CD-R 52x
Samsung DVD 16x
17" Sony 210ES Flat CRT Monitor
Akasa Fans
Raidmax Cobra Case 420W PSU
Windows XP Pro SP2
_____________________________________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2005, 12:41 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

LOL, nuke it now and go back to 32 bit edition. XP 64-Bit did a horrible job. They should have at least came out with a compete 64-bit driver base. They had over a year I think after the Athlon 64's came out, maybe less but still, they didnt make any updates to the actual operating system other than the fact that it supports 64-Bit stuff, did they?
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2005, 07:31 AM
Bring the Noise's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 243

Yep Creative is slow when it comes to drivers...

I've been thinking about enabling the onboard audio to see if 5.1 works with the realtech chip.

DVD player software... Shoot I'm still using NVDVD 2.0 (it never had dolby 5.1 support).

The Asus board came with a brand new copy of WinDVD but I haven't even pulled it out of the cardboard container...

Punkbuster not working... haven't tried in a while so I don't know.
I do know that people had issue's with the first update for Battlefield 2 and punkbuster (both 32bit and 64bit users)... so much so that the first update was recalled. So it may be the punkbuster program and not XP 64...

I had issue's with the Windows update page, ended up I had the nvidia firewall setup incorrectly.

Check your firewall settings and allow Active X programs from the Windowsupdate web site or the page will just error out.

Also you have to use the 32bit version of IE to go to the windowsupdate page... Page will not work with the 64bit version (something Microsoft will need to fix)


Now for half of your games not working you can set them to emulate xp, 2000, or even 98. If its a 16bit game then don't expect it to work as this is a 64bit OS that only supports 64 and 32bit app's (that is the price of progress).

If you run into a program that doesn't work or doesn't work correctly... please list it, so we can get the geeks on it and hopefully find a solution.
__________________
Kingwin 436WM Black-n-Gold
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ (Frosted with a Vapochill Light Speed)
Asus A8N-SLI Premium
2GB OCZ PC4000 Gold
SLI'd E-VGA 6800 GT's
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2005, 08:39 AM
benighted's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Location: Grayland, WA.
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to benighted Send a message via MSN to benighted

I managed to almost get almost everything working on my x64 machine. I found that the on-board sond drivers were way better than the aftermarket soundcards (most of wich dont have x64 drivers).
I even got my wireless card working, I had to use generic RT 2600 drivers that only support 11mbps but it works so I'm not going back to x32.
__________________

Buy AVG Anti-Virus and Support AOA!!
AOA Team fah
Silent water cooled system:
Zalman Reserator 1.1
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice @ 2400MHZ
Epox 9NDA3+
2GB GSkill PC3200
Maxtor 10 SATA X2 RAID0
eVGA 6800 Ultra 256MB

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th August, 2005, 07:49 AM
Bring the Noise's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 243

Did some tinkering and I got 5.1 audio back within XP 64.

with the latest drivers installed the audio console does not work...

But the file CtPanel.exe from drivers-amd64-041805.zip works just fine (which that zip is on the aoaforums files section).

I didn't even install the file as listed on planetamd64's forums. I just extracted the zip to a folder and started the executable then I set the driver to match windows for speaker configuration and now I have 5.1 audio (even after a reboot).

For reference purpose's I'll post a link to the other trouble shooting page
http://www.planetamd64.com/index.php?showtopic=8517

Thanks to Tinoku...

The file can be found baried down in the zip file in the following folder Install/wdm/common/amd64.

Never Give Up Never Surrender.
__________________
Kingwin 436WM Black-n-Gold
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ (Frosted with a Vapochill Light Speed)
Asus A8N-SLI Premium
2GB OCZ PC4000 Gold
SLI'd E-VGA 6800 GT's
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th August, 2005, 07:59 AM
benighted's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Location: Grayland, WA.
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to benighted Send a message via MSN to benighted

The hard and strong will never surrender.
__________________

Buy AVG Anti-Virus and Support AOA!!
AOA Team fah
Silent water cooled system:
Zalman Reserator 1.1
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice @ 2400MHZ
Epox 9NDA3+
2GB GSkill PC3200
Maxtor 10 SATA X2 RAID0
eVGA 6800 Ultra 256MB

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2005, 03:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 60

I have got everything working on my x64 system except my printer... Other then that I find it allot more stable then xp32. Probably end up buying a new printer that actually supports x64 if such a thing exists.
__________________
Athlon 64 3500+ Venice
Epox 9NDA3J
Geforce 6800GT XFX
1GB Corsair CMX3500C2
Audigy 2 OEM
Logitech z680 5.1
iiyama VM Pro 454
Antec Truepower 550w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2005, 05:37 PM
45 Auto's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: land of Gov. Terminator
Posts: 98

As to printer drivers, there is native support for a number of printers built into x64. The trick is to find the driver that will work with your printer. For example, I'm using a canon I560. There is no 64bit driver from canon. However, found out that the bjc8000 driver works with my printer. I don't get the display of how much ink is left, but the printer is functional.
__________________
9nda3+/0520 3200 venice E3 @300x9/2x256 or 4x256 GSkill LE/X800XL/XP90/Enermax Liberty 500watt/dual Maxtor S-ata/3 optical drives

asrock939dualie/3000winnie@230x9/2x512 Patriot ddr400ELK/Enermax Coolergiant 480/9600pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2005, 11:57 AM
Bring the Noise's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 243

Speaking of Drivers...

Evga has the 77.77 version of the forceware drivers listed up
ftp://evga.com/7777XP64.exe

Probably just has support for the 7800 GT's but ya never know... currently at work so I'll tinker with them when I get home.
__________________
Kingwin 436WM Black-n-Gold
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ (Frosted with a Vapochill Light Speed)
Asus A8N-SLI Premium
2GB OCZ PC4000 Gold
SLI'd E-VGA 6800 GT's
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Idiot giving Republicans a bad name. mookydooky Random Nonsense! 30 10th August, 2004 05:59 AM
Giving my computer away. Staz Random Nonsense! 4 3rd April, 2003 03:36 AM
Wow, talk about giving RAM a workout.. magnux EPoX MotherBoards 7 29th December, 2002 06:43 PM
surlyjoe giving me a run for the $$ Lionfish ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 9 17th February, 2002 06:48 PM
My mighty AVIA is giving the cause 1,610 mhz TranceBear ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 11 29th September, 2001 05:32 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0