AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > 64 Bit computing

64 Bit computing "The" Topic for emerging 64 bit hardware and software.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2006, 09:04 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Angry Overclocking....

Last night...

System completely stable not OC. Start OC different stages...in 15 minutes baaaaam

1. Inside windows first error message: Nvidia RAID USA failure loading....
2. My computer/Network NB icons appeared named as "folder" and were partialy working. I also had anomalies with ie/ctrlpanel.

What I think happened is that the FATinfo was corrupted or something. I had to reinstall windows but before that I moved latest nvidia forceware drivers to another partition so that I can easily install them. After installing windows (I lost nvidia raid few times having it not posted after bios initialization) when installing the forceware (the same that worked great first time), baaaam, computer reboots and when xp logo is to appear nothing happens. Reinstalled windows again and use original mobo cd and everything is ok. This leads me to think that not only the fat but maybe the data on the hdd was corrupted. I had RAID for at least 3 years and the worse I had was that at the windows start some files would appear truncated and they were solved by the windows management, no harm done. This RAID I had was based on ITE 8112 and it was STRIPED with 2 IDE Seagate discs.

My question is this. If an OC can damage instantly my windows installation how am I going to find out what is the best I can get from my rig? Why did this **** happened? Is it common for SATA RAID to just screw things up so badly? Am I the wrong factor here?

Thanks guys

/end rant/
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2006, 11:15 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Overclocking has always run the risk of screwing up your Windows partition, even if there's a PCI lock in place.

Recommendation I would make would be to set up your Windows partition so it works (with few or no apps), then use Symantec Ghost (or similar) to make an exact copy of the partition. That way, when things go bang, you can then just use Ghost to put the working Windows back on the hard disk.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2006, 04:46 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

download 3dmark 05 when you get windows working and look at system info andit will tell you your clock maximum with that mobo. Very useful.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2006, 08:05 AM
Quickbeam177's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to Quickbeam177

Sounds like what happens when you forget to lower your HTT multiplier before crankin' her up. If that was the case you've probably already realized it though.

Don't know what else to tell you sir.
__________________
DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D w/704-2BTA BIOS
AMD Opteron 144 CABNE 0544EPMW 135633AK50274
2x 1gb Patriot PDC2G3200LLK 2-3-2-5
eVGA Geforce 7800GT
SoundBlaster Audigy 2
2x WD Raptor 36gb in RAID 0
NEC Silver DVD +/-RW ND-3540A
Enermax Liberty 620w PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AM2 Overclocking kellamne AMD Motherboards & CPUs 28 14th August, 2006 07:40 AM
Overclocking a 3.4 calhoun Intel Motherboards & CPUs 12 29th October, 2005 03:07 AM
Overclocking your Nvidia 6800/6800LE DDR graphics card: Overclocking/Unlocking Guide. MONKEYMAN AOA FAQ 0 16th July, 2005 10:09 PM
Overclocking Mb Zephr AMD Motherboards & CPUs 20 20th June, 2003 01:42 PM
Overclocking help Ads EPoX MotherBoards 6 20th November, 2002 08:10 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0