AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > 64 Bit computing

64 Bit computing "The" Topic for emerging 64 bit hardware and software.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2006, 06:39 PM
MrSeanKon's Avatar
OcBible Creator
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Athens in love with Anna :)
Posts: 788

3700+ San Diego @ 3GHz PI (suicide 3078 MHz)..

Click here to see the total progress of this CPU.
Some stuff of A64 o/c guide are also discussed.
Moreover I am trying to stabilize this CPU around 3GHz performing my CPU burn-in guide.
I don't want to double post of course but if you want to ask me something no problem.
Regards,
MrSeanKon.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2006, 11:24 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Very Nice stuff, keep it up!
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2006, 12:41 AM
MrSeanKon's Avatar
OcBible Creator
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Athens in love with Anna :)
Posts: 788

Thanks Pitch!
But I also asked SoF for cold bug issue...
I mean this CPU does not go further with teravolts of 3.1GHz as you saw in my thread...
So it is possible for this???
OK I don't have a subzero cooling now but you may have impressions.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2006, 02:21 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

One question though, is there any plans to have a 939 section added? I can only seem to find 754/XP/XP-M/TB. Or am I not looking hard enough?
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2006, 02:57 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

codlbug is can be overcome with drivestrength adjustments.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2006, 07:13 PM
MrSeanKon's Avatar
OcBible Creator
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Athens in love with Anna :)
Posts: 788

I agree Pitch it is a better this.
One vote from me!
cadaveca (correct me if I am wrong) coldbug appears with very low temps (lower than -20C)....

Well this CPU cannot go over than 3.1GHz...
GKR I opened the window (here the nights are very cold) but nothing....
Bumping Vcore to 1.72 CPU could not pass 1M SuperPi:

http://img374.imageshack.us/img374/6307/crash7uq.png

I don't think that PSU (Enermax 465) is the problem cos all rails are 12.13, 5.17 and 3.45 at full load (measured with multimeter of course).
For this reason I set 10*300 for 24/7 usage (no sence for more volts just to see 3050 MHz) and I put the new Mushkin PC4400 2.5-4-4-8 (2*512 MB).

Announcement for all OcBible users
I encountered a very strange problem and until now I don't know what is going on.
Although CPU passed 32M SuperPi yesterday CPU Stretcher (Below Normal, 1 Thread and ZZZ=10) crashed my system many times after some seconds....
On the other hand for ZZZ=0 the system ran CPU Stretcher for 8 hours at 3010 MHz.
Therefore if someone has a similar problem then he/she should inform me posting here.
If you are a guest and you have an alternative account at ABXzone, Ocforums, OCAU, PcPer or XtremeSystems then post in OcBible's supported threads there.
The links are Main categories --> Additional --> Support.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2006, 04:14 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSeanKon
cadaveca (correct me if I am wrong) coldbug appears with very low temps (lower than -20C)....
Yes, you are correct, however some cpu;s will not be able to maintain teh HTT they did while warm when cold. the coldbug is actually a motherboard issue, more than cpu, but the cpu does play a role as well.

You've given you cpu too much voltage. If no gains are seen over 1.575v, then your cpu most likely will run subzero, but only under low voltages(problem is that the low voltage may not generate enough heat to keep the cpu from "stalling"). Of course you will have heard about the acpi tweak that will get the cpu to generate more heat...or up the voltage.

The problem forms when running highvolts, without proper cooling(+10c or lower), the differences between cpuvoltage and vmem can have a dastardly effect on your cpu's clocks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2006, 12:29 AM
MrSeanKon's Avatar
OcBible Creator
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Athens in love with Anna :)
Posts: 788

No doubt the volts were too much for this processor but previous Venice could run with 1.65-1.75 without significant problems (OK I was Hitler sometimes)...

Here is a ClawHammer 4000+ (1MB L2 0.13)

http://briefcase.pathfinder.gr/downl...4/photo_13.jpg

Thanasis gave me for testing and after 2880 MHz could not go higher....
RAM is not the problem; 12X was the multiplier (new Mushkin run 300+ FSB 1:1 error free)...
Other one friend told me that 1MB L2 AMD CPUs after one point cannot go higher regardless Vcore.....
I don't know if this a general rule...
Anyway I set 1.498-1.499 Volts (this is the actual Vcore at full load) and system passed 3 hours OCCT and Prime95.
Now it is compressing videos (lot of work)....
So I stopped here 3GHz are OK.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3700+ San Diego - Please confirm these settings Luke2 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 18 2nd January, 2007 04:57 PM
3700+ San Diego £94!!! Lazgoat Online Deals, and Steals 6 30th June, 2006 09:34 PM
San Diego 3700+ OCing problems... ikuto EPoX MotherBoards 4 30th June, 2005 11:32 PM
9NDA3 + San Diego 3700+ buzz_lips EPoX MotherBoards 21 17th May, 2005 05:53 AM
San Diego 3700+ & 9NDA3 buzz_lips EPoX MotherBoards 3 29th April, 2005 04:13 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0