AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > 64 Bit computing

64 Bit computing "The" Topic for emerging 64 bit hardware and software.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2006, 07:11 AM
Refusenik's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 18

Question Help I'm Drowning

Hi fellow Overclockers. Tomorrow I assemble my first computer. It is going to be a Gigabyte 81915pl-g socket 775 with an Intel 64 Bit 641 3.2 gig CPU. I was hoping to find out when MS will have XP 64 on the market (bug free) in retail stores.
It looks like I'm in over my head, especialy this being my first computer. I am going to load XP Pro on it when it is assembled. Will I see any performance over a 32 bit chip, using XP Pro 32bit OS with this 641 64 bit chip?
I also noticed on the CPU packaging from Intel that this 3.2 gig 641 is called a "Cedar Mill". What is the difference between Cedar Mill,and Prescott, and what other names does Intel use? This is all new and covert to me. I would really appreciate any input I can get on this project of mine. I've spent a fortune on the parts, and have already had to send back the CPU for a new one, and if that doesn't cure it, I will have to exchange motherboards. I'm getting off to a good start, huh?

thanks,

refusenik: confused:
__________________
refusenik hacking babylon
Intel 531/3.0GHz/Asus P5GPL-X Mobo
1GHz Kingston DDR DIMM
WD Caviar SATA-150/120GB
Plextor PX-716SA DVD
XFX 6600 256MB
Thermaltake Swing Case
CoolerMaster Hyper 48
Thermaltake TR2-550W PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2006, 07:02 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

A belated welcome to AOA, Refusenik!

64-Bit Athlon 64's have no problem running a 32-Bit OS. Sorry, I don't know if Intel's 64-Bit processors have no problem with a 32-Bit operating system. They shouldn't, but Intel gets weird about things like this sometimes.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2006, 07:17 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Intel's 64bit P4 chips will all run XP Pro 32bit totally fine, no need to worry! There won't be any prformance difference between your chip and another that does not have 64bit capabilites, however, as the computer will be running in 32bit mode
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2006, 07:34 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

A 64-bit chip is want you want regardless of the lack of any real benefit today.

64-bit Windows is called Vista. It is now delayed and it will be early 2007 before we see the consumer version. It is likely to be crap anyhow, so no great loss.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2006, 07:16 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

"It is likely to be crap anyhow, so no great loss."

You might be able to sell that to MS as promotional advertizing, But it's just so much better than the actuall product is likely to deserve! ":O}!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2006, 08:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=207512

There isn't a retail package yet, I don't think, but if you buy something like a cheap CD Drive for £10 this is perfectly legal.
I know someone who's been using Vista, they say it's actually rather good. I'm going to wait until I've used it before I decide.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2006, 09:11 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I think you'll find your mate has the beta version of Vista. The full blown version will be fully fattened up with stuff we definately don't want like DRM.

DRM probably sucks more than anything previously encountered in this universe.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2006, 10:05 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Drm?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2006, 10:08 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Digital Rights Management.

In other words, you are only allowed a certain number of copies of any file and can only play it back in certain ways, that our benefact- ... the record companies have allowed, in their wisdom....
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2006, 08:32 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

In other words screw use over more and still they expect the same if not more money.....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2006, 11:59 AM
Refusenik's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 18

Hey Guys,

I stepped back and built a 3.0GHz Intel on an Asus P5GPL-X mobo w/ an XFX 6600LE video card. The CPU fan ( Hyper 48) and case (Swing) were Thermaltake. I can't say enough good stuff about Thermaltake. They make high quality equipment.
My machine is purring right along now, but in Jan. I'm going back up to a 631 64 bit Intel, or higher, and use a 64 bit O/S. If Vista has DRM in it, I will run something else. I am a semi-pro musician, and still hate DRM and restrictive laws about listening to music. I hope to put my CD on the net for free!
__________________
refusenik hacking babylon
Intel 531/3.0GHz/Asus P5GPL-X Mobo
1GHz Kingston DDR DIMM
WD Caviar SATA-150/120GB
Plextor PX-716SA DVD
XFX 6600 256MB
Thermaltake Swing Case
CoolerMaster Hyper 48
Thermaltake TR2-550W PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2006, 07:22 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Makes me wish I was more into political violence! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2006, 07:31 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

So far, DRM has allowed a back-door for your computer to become compromised. If you remember the recent Sony/DRM saga.

That's my main concern.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2006, 07:38 PM
kellamne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 624

The only thing Im wondering is - what support will remain for current XP - i.e. I dont care about Halo 2, I am perfectly happy to remain using 32bit Win XP - but if it limits my future software use I may be forced to: I guess dual boot - or run two independent system (ouch the expense). (????)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2006, 07:45 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I suspect it will be a long time before XP is no longer useable.

Small businesses often take the "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" approach. So, many businesses will just stick with what they have until they see a very good reason to upgrade. Why spend money on something you don't need?

We can live in hope that MS is taking extra time to ensure that this DRM doesn't screw things up. In any case, I won't be rushing out to upgrade unless it is something mind blowing.

If they make a mess of it, I will avoid upgrading ever again. Perhaps, get a PS3 for games instead and keep the PC for work realted stuff. It does everything I need it to do already, as far as work goes.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 8th April, 2006, 07:06 AM
45 Auto's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: land of Gov. Terminator
Posts: 98

Wouldn't worry about trying to use XP Pro X64. At this point in time, there just aren't enough apps available that run as 64bit to justify the cost. And 32bit apps do run under 64bit windows, however x64 uses an emulator to run them.

Had use of x64RC2 for a year, and found it to be a stable OS even though it was the final beta. About the only problems I ran in to, were finding a driver for my printer and dropped connections with my wireless router.
__________________
9nda3+/0520 3200 venice E3 @300x9/2x256 or 4x256 GSkill LE/X800XL/XP90/Enermax Liberty 500watt/dual Maxtor S-ata/3 optical drives

asrock939dualie/3000winnie@230x9/2x512 Patriot ddr400ELK/Enermax Coolergiant 480/9600pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2006, 07:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok
I think you'll find your mate has the beta version of Vista. The full blown version will be fully fattened up with stuff we definately don't want like DRM.

DRM probably sucks more than anything previously encountered in this universe.
Yeah - Beta.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cybercops drowning in data danrok Data Security 1 28th February, 2007 06:51 PM
Computer alert for drowning girl danrok General Hardware Discussion 5 16th September, 2005 09:39 PM
Drowning your sorrows. mookydooky Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 0 19th July, 2002 03:47 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0