AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > 64 Bit computing

64 Bit computing "The" Topic for emerging 64 bit hardware and software.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2006, 11:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2006
Posts: 2

64 Bit troubles

Hi,
i recently bought a 64 bit computer that I had built:

AMD 64 bit 4400
ASUS A8N32-SLI M/B
evga nvidia 7950 gx2 1 gig video card
Antec 550 W power supply
OCZ 2 gig 400 MHz ram
sound blaster xfi xtreme music sound card
150 gig 10k spin Western Digital Sata hard drive

Ok now that you have the specs....when I brought it home 9I wanted to do the xp install) it took 4 attempts at a windows install (win64 bit)...once installed it seemed a little odd, sometimes it would kinda freeze programs and a ctrl alt delete wouldn't fix it...did another install...same problem. tried install 32 bit xp and couldn't get the installer to finish (freezes at the hardware detection part of the gui installer...tried 5 times...2 different discs).
the heat is fine in the system...well ventilated, ram is good, tried different sticks...same issue.
Any thoughts?

Don
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2006, 12:59 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Your PSU is a bit on the low side for that config. The 4400+ can consume up to 110w(yours is most likely less), the card about 145w, both off of the 12v line. Add in the motherboard(60w for pci-e alone) fans and anything else plugged into a molex, and your PSU ends up a bit short.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2006, 03:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2006
Posts: 2

I figured so...

you know I said to the salesman...is 550 enough???...should have listened to my inner voice. Well I may leave it till next spring when i was planning on getting another 2 gigs of ram and new processor.

Thanx for the thought.

Don
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2006, 04:36 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

I'd try to use another, lower-powered, vidcard to install windows, and if things are fine, then you know exactly what the issue is. If you had the option, I'd be going back to that salesman and requesting an exchange for a better PSU...the OCZ 600w GamerXtreem or the 700w version would do your rig just fine.

Although my recommendation has a bare 50w more than what you currently have, the way the power is delivered is waht makes the difference. Given the option, I'd go with the stronger unit, and would have no regrets about it...I merely mentioned the lesser model as you seem to want to save some cash on this whole endevour.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2006, 04:38 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

550W may have been enough, but an Antec 550W isn't the best quality unit by any measure. A high end 550W... that would do the trick. You do get what you pay for.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2006, 02:49 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

I've only got a 450w coolermaster psu, but it has two 12v rails which between them can handle 264w. There is also another 191w available on the 3.3 and 5v rails. It has won 25 review awards according to there website. Rarely though does it go over 200w used peak i've seen is 250w
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah

Last edited by keithwalton; 17th August, 2006 at 02:50 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2006, 11:24 AM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

When I had my SLI desktop (god bless it!!!) I has only a 420W Seventeam PSU that they gave me at CeBit 2005. It was so heavy I had to pay excess on my baggage, it could kick out 36A on 12v, it did the job o/c and with 2 vid cards until I decided to leave the desktop PC world last week and bought this laptop and NAS array.
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2006, 11:29 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by wild_andy_c
When I had my SLI desktop (god bless it!!!) I has only a 420W Seventeam PSU that they gave me at CeBit 2005. It was so heavy I had to pay excess on my baggage, it could kick out 36A on 12v, it did the job o/c and with 2 vid cards until I decided to leave the desktop PC world last week and bought this laptop and NAS array.
Mind telling us a bit about your new toy???
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2006, 11:34 AM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard
Mind telling us a bit about your new toy???

Its all in the sig brother!!!! Does everything my desktop could do that I needed it for and everythng my XBox 360 can't - so between the 2 devices I have just what I need.

No more power-hungry desktop junk for me at this moment - nice small silent processing powerhouse on the move for me and a little silent NAS box with nn NTFS / FAT / EXT3 drives in for peace of mind for my data.
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2006, 11:39 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

9070 in 3DMark05? On a laptop? I'm guessing the Geforce 7400 is someone more powerfull than the name would suggest...
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2006, 11:45 AM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
9070 in 3DMark05? On a laptop? I'm guessing the Geforce 7400 is someone more powerfull than the name would suggest...
Oops - still need to edit the latter part of the siggy............
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Car troubles Gizmo Random Nonsense! 15 1st March, 2007 02:36 AM
Car Troubles :( WonderBread Betty's Rants and Rages 14 2nd January, 2007 01:50 AM
Lan Troubles RaGz EPoX MotherBoards 4 22nd December, 2002 03:44 AM
Monitor troubles Staz CRASHED! 7 20th October, 2002 04:58 AM
Troubles demonX Mobile Devices and Networking 6 19th February, 2002 04:23 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0