AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > 64 Bit computing

64 Bit computing "The" Topic for emerging 64 bit hardware and software.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2008, 04:00 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

New System for my nephew

My sis sent me some money to replace the system that was damaged in post that belongs to my nephew.

Not a huge budget but enough to build a nice system.

The question is for 650-700 would i be better off going C2D or AMD?

I can get a EVGA 680i board for about 95.00 and a 6550 for 175.00
or I can get a Asus nforce 560ultra for 100.00 and a 5600+ for 140.00

The AMD system is cheaper and will allow more to go to PSu or video but, will the performance be a big difference between them?

Is it worth the 30 bucks more to go Intel..?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2008, 04:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I faced the same decision when building my 15 year old nephew a rig. I ended up going AM2 4600+ and paired it up with an 8800GT. Doing most tasks that my nephew does I am never able to tell the difference between his 4600+ and my Q6600. Honestly the only differences I see between my AM2 and my Intel setups is folding and benchmarks. I don't run FRAPS or anything like that when I game so as long as it looks good and doesn't drop frames I'm pretty happy..

My recommendation, if he plays games is to choose the vid card and PSU first, then pick the rest of the parts..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2008, 04:28 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I think I have a deal on a 8800GTS. Will the AMD bottleneck this?

And the 5600+ shoud do even better than the 4600 plus I will push the clock a little.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}

Last edited by Samuknow; 4th February, 2008 at 04:33 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2008, 04:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

It won't bottleneck it, my nephew plays at the same detail levels I do with the same games on a mildly oc'd 4600. A 5600+ will offload enough to an 8800GTS to keep it mighty happy. If I can barely tell the difference from my sig rig to a 939 X2 with a 7900GT without running benchmarks I think he will be OK with AM2.

Don't be too hard on AMD, Am2 is still a good unit with plenty of power.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2008, 05:10 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Believe me, I am an AMD fan...I just worry about getting the best bang for the buck..

I don't think he knows anything about benchmarks. Does a C2D really blow the doors off like everyone says?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2008, 05:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I run some automotive programs on AM2 setup at the shop, I have one for predicting how a given cylinder head design will work, It takes roughly 12 minutes on a 2.5Ghz AM2, 8 mintues on a 3.2Ghz Q6600, if all things were equal I would estimate the performance at a 10% increase in a real world app using only the CPU.. (Single threaded app BTW.)
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP

Last edited by ccperf721p; 4th February, 2008 at 05:39 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2008, 06:33 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

But you are also talking about 150.00 difference in price.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2008, 06:36 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I think AMD it is. The C2Ds are all good and stuff....just not sure I am ready to build a computer from the dark side yet...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2008, 07:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Most of the younger people I build for are into games, torrents, and social networking. Outside of that they may use MS Office for school. Am2 does those things just as well as any C2D..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2008, 07:18 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

The Core 2's really come into their own when it comes to Video and Audio conversion.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2008, 08:03 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I think I just scored an EVGA 680i NF68-A1 and a E6400 Core2Duo for 300 shipped.

this and a 8800GTS for 180...This should be a nasty machine...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2008, 01:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Did you end up with the C2D stuff or go another route? I've been so busy lately I haven't been able to post. (That and the 13 year old engine in my Mom's race car let go while I was running it Saturday so I have been trying to get something togtether for her to run it in two weeks.)
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP

Last edited by ccperf721p; 7th February, 2008 at 01:16 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2008, 03:10 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I ended up with the stuff in my last post. Should be quite a nasty rig. I think I spent too much though...Oh well.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2008, 04:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

My sister gave me $400 to build my nephew a box, I spent 350 on the Vid card and PSU alone so I had to come out of pocket for quite a bit.

I always go over budget when it comes to my nephews.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2008, 05:05 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccperf721p View Post
Did you end up with the C2D stuff or go another route? I've been so busy lately I haven't been able to post. (That and the 13 year old engine in my Mom's race car let go while I was running it Saturday so I have been trying to get something togtether for her to run it in two weeks.)
Your mother has a race car?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2008, 05:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio View Post
Your mother has a race car?
She has a 79 chevy malibu. I'll throw a pic up in a little while. My father and I figured if we wanted to spend countless hours in the garage working on our toys we would be ahead of the game if we built her one too.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2008, 03:30 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccperf721p View Post
She has a 79 chevy malibu. I'll throw a pic up in a little while. My father and I figured if we wanted to spend countless hours in the garage working on our toys we would be ahead of the game if we built her one too.
Tres cool, not every mom can casually drop "my race car" into the conversation!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2008, 11:10 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccperf721p View Post
She has a 79 chevy malibu. I'll throw a pic up in a little while. My father and I figured if we wanted to spend countless hours in the garage working on our toys we would be ahead of the game if we built her one too.
What's its carbon footprint like?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2008, 04:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio View Post
What's its carbon footprint like?
Not quite where I would like it to be. For the HP it makes I would like to see another 10% reduction in fuel consumption, but the engine was built around a set of heads I did awhile back. Now technology has advanced and my porting skills have advanced.

I rationalize by looking at the kilowatt hours while folding. Pretty sure my computers will leave a bigger print.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2008, 09:35 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

"I don't know anyone who can get through the day without at lest one good rationlization."

(Forget where I got it...":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what ram would u get if u had my system _MID_Viking AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 7th May, 2004 07:09 AM
my new system Postaldave AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 8th March, 2004 07:34 AM
What's the best RAM for this system? Staz General Hardware Discussion 4 9th April, 2003 10:51 PM
new system gryphyn EPoX MotherBoards 14 17th September, 2002 03:38 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0