AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2002, 02:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 22

2400XP Results

Well, it wasn't looking good initially... not unlocked it was only doing ~2060mhz with my Thermalright SK-6 and a 80mm, 30cfm fan.

I did however get a SLK-800 the next day. I didn't think it would make much of a difference but, WOW! I unlocked it (last L3 bridge) and I'm running rock solid at 2300mhz (12.5x184). So, I got about 240mhz just by changing heatsinks.

I think I'm running @ 1.85v and 115 degees or so under 100% load.

It runs fine with even more voltage as well... so I'm sure I could probably get it close to 2400mhz if I could get it to use a 13 or 14 multipler as my HDD's start getting flaky over 185fsb and 12.5 is the highest multipler I can get aside from the 15 that it comes locked at. I'm thinking maybe I'll re-lock it and see how far I can get the fsb past 133 unless someone knows how to get it to run at 13 or 14 on a Epox 8k5h2a.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2002, 07:48 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

You should be able to select default for the multiplier. I think this would give you back 15, without messing with your unlock.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2002, 01:48 AM
Jeff F.'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Posts: 140

Nope, when the last L3 bridge is connected, default turns into 7x(or 8x) multiplier.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2002, 11:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 13

Jeff F is correct. Just unlocked mine..
__________________
COOLER MASTER ATC-201 / ABIT NF7-S V2.0 / BARTON 2500 @ 2475 (225 x 11) / 2-256MB TWINMOS PC3700 / ANTEC TRUE550 / SLK-800 / 2-WD 80GB HD'S / ATI 9700 PRO 398/344 / 19" KDS-9 FLAT PANEL / WINDOWS XP PRO / NEC 1300A DVD BURNER / LITE-ON 52x32x52 BURNER / SB LIVE 5.1 / LOGITECH Z-560 SPEAKERS / WIRELESS MX DUO
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2002, 12:49 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

oops, I stand corrected.. I can't remember where I read that. Oh well, I'll remember myself when I get me a 2400+.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2002, 06:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 22

Update

Running @ 154x15 now for 2310mhz ... got it @ 1.9v and it's idling @ 95F and goes up to ~100-4F under 100% load.

I really need a 13, 14 multipler to run it at 166 sych. It boots about half way into windows at 166x15 before rebooting even with 2.1v.

Hrmm. 2.31ghz isn't too bad though.

I think I might be able to push it even more with a little more juice with the default multi.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2002, 06:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 22

2400XP @ 2.4ghz on Air

I got it running at 2.4ghz @ 2.0v now... idling at 104F. That's 160x15. Ram is run asynch, but at 400mhz (3200) @ Fast timings... this is a 512mb stick of 2700 Samsung.

2.0v seems like the sweet spot, but it crashes about 1/2 through 3dmark2002se.

I think with a 40-50cfm fan on this slk-800 it would be solid.

I can't imagine what this thing would do on water.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2002, 08:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 22

I just stablized it... had to lower the fsb 2mhz. so, it's at 2370mhz now. LOL I need a 40cfm fan for 2.4ghz, me thinks.

3dmark2001se: 13545

http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=4765858
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2002, 09:08 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

I been thinking 2400MHz is a pretty safe bet for water-cooling folks such as myself. Would you agree Nherc?
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2002, 09:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 22

Well at just about 2.4 on air... with water I'd guess you'd be good for 2.5-2.6 with the same stepping.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2002, 10:19 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

No, 2.5-2.6 seems doubtful, from what I've been seeing it takes supercooling to get these CPUs in to that range.

Watercooling just isn't as beneficial as some people like to believe. It's real advantage is that it can keep the CPU quite cool with very little noise.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2002, 04:05 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

agreed with Mr. Evans.

nherc, 2.00V with that chip running at such of mhz will de-color your SLK800 in a week! you could be cooking with it. First can u tell me what temp is it at that Vcore and mhz in Celsius? Plus if you want full load, run Prime95. That will get you the super-high temp. By then it could cook your SLK-800.. especially with that 40cfm 80mm fan.. not enough air coolin' me thinkx...

Put a Tornado 80x80x38 84.1CFM, model: TD8038H from Vantec. That should be the best cooling in air.. that is if you want to go air. That should cool it good at 2.0V@ 2.3- 2.4Ghz.
Sounds like your chip@ 2.0V got too hot during the 3dmark'ing. Or, you might need 2.05V. In either cases, you need to cool more.

http://www.hardocp.com/images/articl...GfgF_2_2_l.jpg
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 13th October, 2002 at 04:08 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2002, 02:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 22

It idles at 104F (41) and goes up to about 114 under full load. It's not running super hot.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2002, 03:12 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

ok then.. I'd try 2.05- 2.10V that should get the 3dmark run smoothly.

Oh I forgot to tell you, very nice OC.. nice to see such high mhz out of AMD chip.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2002, 06:17 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

I wouldn't try 2.05 or 2.10V until I waited for some other idiots to try it for long periods of time first, that way I wouldn't toast my own chip
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2002, 07:28 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

hehe... I bet ya if he can run 2.0V on his Tbred@ 2.4@ 114F like he said and freezes in half way through 3Dmark, 2.05V is more than reasonable and acceptable to try it and see. If what he said about his temp is true, there is no way in hell the chip will cook at this point. I wouldn't call anybody idiots doing this.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 13th October, 2002 at 07:30 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2002, 07:41 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Another thing, the reason why I told him to try 2.05- 2.10V was because it's reasonable to try it. I wanted to see if his chip needs a slight more voltage or more cooling in order to run 3dmark well. It it's the temperature that his cpu can't handle, he can always get a better cooling.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2002, 09:49 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Personally, I'd be very hesitant to increase the voltage by more than 20%. Not all people who are putting high voltages to these chips are idiots, but anyone doing it that isn't prepared to buy another chip is. Increased voltages cause damage by more than just increasing temperatures. The reality is that these small transistors aren't intended to be exposed to such high voltages, and while they may live with very high voltages for days or even weeks eventually that extra voltage takes its toll on them.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2002, 09:54 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI
oops, I stand corrected.. I can't remember where I read that. Oh well, I'll remember myself when I get me a 2400+.
Please do! Then you can help me when I come begging for guidance!!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2002, 02:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 22

I guess it burned in a bit.

I lowered the fsb 2mhz (2370mhz) and dropped the voltage to 1.95. It's running stable, idling @ 91F and 95-6F under 100% load. I'm pretty happy with that temp. range.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Better results warp1 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 4 25th January, 2004 12:44 AM
8k7a rev 1.1 2400xp cpu......cold boot problems need some help omega man EPoX MotherBoards 3 26th June, 2003 08:51 PM
8RDA+, XP2400+, OC results...with similar system, whats your results? Powerhouse EPoX MotherBoards 7 6th February, 2003 01:37 AM
Help epox 8rda+ and 2400xp not posting silversurfer512 EPoX MotherBoards 14 24th December, 2002 01:27 AM
2400XP chip Ridley EPoX MotherBoards 6 18th December, 2002 04:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0