AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2002, 09:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 13

3dmark 2001 Hanging/sort of

I have an xp 2200@1950-195X10 at 1.8volts and a geforce 4200ti 65mb at 280/590. These are on an epox 8k5a3+ with 256 mb 3200 ram.

All of my games run fine but i get weird pauses/hangs in 3dmark2001. Seems to happen on the high detail versions of the opening demo and the dragon demo. The screen will freeze like the pc has hung. This will go on for 1 to 3 seconds but instead of crashing or throwing me back to the desktop the demo will continue through and give me a score anywhere from 12,300 which is my best when it didn't pause all the way down to 9,000 or so when it happens several times in one benchmark.

Any ideas/thoughts here. Am i pughing more than the video card can handle?

Any help is much appreciated.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2002, 10:14 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

irq conflict perhaps
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2002, 10:17 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Do you have any proggies in memory that might be kicking in at bad moments? My tvtuner sw is a royal pain that way... totally hoses all my bm's when I forget to shut it down.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2002, 10:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 13

Have vid in agp slot, sound card in slot 6 and scsi card is slot 3 and nothing else running in background. This is a new system build. I've even turned off most of the services i don't need. No antivirus software, no firewall. Only the OS on the system drive. Everything else, games only, are on another drive.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2002, 04:54 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Hondo, your problem is the video driver (very highly likely). I've seen this happen to others including me in da 3dmark arena. Yes, it's especially in 3dmark, not the games............. yet.

Most important question #1: What driver version u using on your GF4 card?

Question #2: Is your GF4 card Overclocked? if so, how much. If it's OC'ed quite a bit, lower it. If you want to keep the driver(if it's 40.41 or higher) for whatever reason, lower the overclock.

The driver version 40.41 and Up tend to give sort of problem you're having. Series of hangs approx. 2.5- 4.0 sec. each. That's common.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2002, 01:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 13

Thank you for all the replies. It seems to make sense that it is the video driver. And it does only happen in 3dmark. Everything else I run does great on this system. I'm running the 40.72 drivers right now. Haven't really tried any others on this system. The card is overclocked to 285/585. I'll bring it down and see if that helps anything. I've narrowed it down to only the high detail opening truck scene and the very end and the dragon high detail at the end as well. They always seem to make the card pause in the same place.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2002, 01:19 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

My bro's PC did similar when the vid card was clocked a little too high, back yours off a couple of mhz as you have said, and keep us posted.
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2002, 10:48 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Yep, I agree with RN, your just clocked too high.

Drop off a few mhz on everything and see if it still happens.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 22nd October, 2002, 01:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 13

k so it is either too much of an overclock or too much heat. I backed the card down to default settings and ran 3dmark2001. No problem no pauses. So I set it to 250/550, again no problems. Next 275/575, again no problems. Now I know it was pausing consistantly at 275/575 before thats why I'm thinking its heat. It was much colder in the room last night and I ran the tests first thing after the pc powered on. There are sinks on the memory chips and the stock sink/fan on the gpu. Thanks for the help now i'm off for some additional cooling.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2002, 04:52 PM
kowalski's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: london
Posts: 202

yeah, it's your ram o/c on the card. i'm right at the limit of mine - any more and i get the prob you describe. pushing the gpu a bit too far causes different errors, sou should be able to leave that as you had it
__________________
Epox 8K5A3+ | XP1700+ AROIA-Y @1851MHz (10x185) | Thermalright SLK-800 + SmartFan II | 512MB Samsung PC2700 CAS2 3-6-3 1T | PNY GeForce 4 Ti4600 @333/742 | Western Digital 120GB Special Edition | 431W Enermax PSU | CoolerMaster ATC-201 case | Iiyama 21" VisionMaster Pro | Win2k sp2

13,659 3DMarks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3dmark 2001 keeps locking up on me.. =/ Nate-X Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 24th March, 2004 05:34 PM
8RDA+ 3DMark 2001 Score Mickey Padge EPoX MotherBoards 7 4th December, 2002 04:45 AM
Mbm conflicts with 3dmark 2001 se. Ikester7579 Random Nonsense! 2 9th September, 2002 02:29 AM
3dmark 2001 team? The Spyder Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 12 28th April, 2002 06:07 PM
radeon VE and 3dmark 2001 surlyjoe Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 19th January, 2002 07:58 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0