AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2002, 08:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Denver
Posts: 20

AMD 2400+ Overclocking and EPox 8K3A+ Issues?

Gentlemen,
Few questions here:
-1) How do you get the 12.5 multiplier on EPoX 8K3A+ Mobo? I only see 13 and 12 etc..w/ L3 set 5 shorted out..but no 12.5?!
-2) I have tried several different multipliers and frequencies but here is my issue.
***IF I change any of them in the BIOS and choose Save and Exit it will NOT post...UNTIL I reset the BIOS manually via MoBo jumper then it will post w/ my settings...UNTIL I reboot...where it return to the Stock OEM settings.

How can I prevent this? Is this a function of the latest BIOS from EPoX?

Advice?

Thanks
__________________
EPoX 8K3A+ w/ AMD XP 2400+ (OC'ed 2.2GHz)
ThermalRight SLK-800 80mm Fan
Corsair PC3000 512MB
WD 80GB HD 8MB Cache
ATI AIW 8500 128MB
SoundBlaster Audigy
Plextor 40x CD-RW
Windows XP Professional
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2002, 11:20 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

It's Probably a bios issue on the recognized mulitpliers. Look for an updated bios.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2002, 11:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Denver
Posts: 20

Quote:
Originally posted by akaBruno
It's Probably a bios issue on the recognized mulitpliers. Look for an updated bios.
I am using the latest 8/15 Bios from EPoX so not sure that is the issue...hmmm
__________________
EPoX 8K3A+ w/ AMD XP 2400+ (OC'ed 2.2GHz)
ThermalRight SLK-800 80mm Fan
Corsair PC3000 512MB
WD 80GB HD 8MB Cache
ATI AIW 8500 128MB
SoundBlaster Audigy
Plextor 40x CD-RW
Windows XP Professional
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2002, 11:44 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

It's looking for a 15x multiplier. You may have to unlock it and go for one less than.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2002, 11:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Denver
Posts: 20

Quote:
Originally posted by akaBruno
It's looking for a 15x multiplier. You may have to unlock it and go for one less than.
Perhaps my unlock was unsuccessful thus the issue. I will try again tonight. Does anyone know if I should "SEE" 12.5 in the list of multipliers if I am successful?
__________________
EPoX 8K3A+ w/ AMD XP 2400+ (OC'ed 2.2GHz)
ThermalRight SLK-800 80mm Fan
Corsair PC3000 512MB
WD 80GB HD 8MB Cache
ATI AIW 8500 128MB
SoundBlaster Audigy
Plextor 40x CD-RW
Windows XP Professional
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th October, 2002, 02:15 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

You may want to repost this in the Epox MoBo topic.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2002, 07:28 PM
baller02's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: swiss
Posts: 113

i have also an xp2400+ and 8k3a+

first i let it how it was shipped to me and had full multiplier control from 15 and up.
i must choose the following multipliers to get them:
7=15
7,5=15,5
8=16
8,5=16,5
9=17
9,5=18

i hoped to get multiplier from 13 and up as it is the case on the new abit kt400 boards, but no go only 15 and up.
so i closed the 5th L3 bridge and get full acess to multiplier from 5-12,5.
in epox bios the multiplier 13, 14, 15 stand for 12.5, 5 and 5,5
you must choose for example 13 to get 12,5 multiplier.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2002, 03:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: in Shakuras of Course!
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to Zeratul Send a message via Yahoo to Zeratul

when i unlocked my 2400+ by using the wire in the pins like the P4 for overvolt, i had the 12.5 as 13 in bios
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2002, 09:54 AM
LORD's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 144

If you have the multi's up to 12.5. In the bios it will show 13 while in reality it will be 12.5.
__________________
LATER!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2002, 02:05 AM
jmichna's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Skokie IL
Posts: 145

Quote:
Originally posted by audimaniac


I am using the latest 8/15 Bios from EPoX so not sure that is the issue...hmmm
Latest 8K3A/8K3A+ BIOS that also offers "official" 333fsb (XP2600, XP2700, XP2800) cpu support came out at beginning of Nov, file name: 8k3a2a25.bin
jmichna
__________________
Watch your thoughts, for they become words. Choose your words, for they become actions.
Understand actions, for they become habits. Study your habits, for they become character.
Develop your character, for it becomes your destiny.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2400+ cpu overclocking ? Macross1974 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 21st October, 2003 02:49 PM
Help with overclocking - 2400+ 8rda+ frog EPoX MotherBoards 7 16th January, 2003 04:57 PM
Volcano 9 "Cool mod"/EPoX 8K3A+/AthlonXP 2400+ KaoS EPoX MotherBoards 8 2nd November, 2002 06:09 PM
AMD 2400+ Overclocking and EPox 8K3A+ Issues? audimaniac EPoX MotherBoards 3 25th October, 2002 05:18 PM
Epox 8K3A+ overclocking problems Oletros EPoX MotherBoards 3 20th August, 2002 04:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0