AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2002, 12:42 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

I think you should unlock it and try a lower multiplier w/ 166fsb. That should kick in the 1/5 divider. Then raise it, if you can. YOu may be hitting the overclocking limit of your drives and cards.

I think you may get it as 182fsb w/ the right multi setting.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2002, 08:11 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Thanks, Bruno, I'm gonna run some tests here using Set FSB and see exactly where it craters! Ok, here is the latest. Danno, what times did you get with Super Pi?
Attached Thumbnails
Unlocking an XP 2400+....help!-repair1.jpg  
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2002, 08:38 PM
LORD's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 144

These chips certainly need volts don't they........

Uncle Bob, unlock that sucker!
Up the fsb past 200 (You've got Corsair XMS3200 c2) with an 11x multi and then do Super PI on 1m. You should hopefully get some good times.


__________________
LATER!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 04:32 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by LORD
Uncle Bob, unlock that sucker!
OK, I had my go at it about an hour before I had to leave to work. I always start projects at inopportune times! Man, what a strange reaction I got!
I tried first painting all L1 and the last L3 bridges. The multipliers are definitely different as baller02 explained earlier. What did you paint on your chip to get those, baller02? Well, it wouldn't boot into windows except at low FSB (133) and nothing even near stock. When it would't boot it would shutdown, sometimes right after setting BIOS even before restart and would emit the strangest sounds from the onboard speaker! I assume it's the shutdown alarm being somehow enabled, but that would not shutoff till I reset the CMOS.
I tried removing the paint (actually I use conductive grease so it's easy to put on and remove) so I just had the L3 bridge shorted, but it acted no differently. In fact it wouldn't even boot with 'stock' settings (133.7 x 15 = 2005.5). It beeped as it shutdown as soon as I pushed F1 to continue boot. I finally removed all paint and got it to boot back at what I had been running prior (148.7 x 15 = 2230.5).

It wouldn't take 166 FSB even at 8 multi. Any ideas? I'm rather miffed! I will have time to try again tomorrow after I sleep (working 12 hr night tonight and, I love overclocking but I gotta sleep sometime! LOL),
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 05:14 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Bob
Thanks, Bruno, I'm gonna run some tests here using Set FSB and see exactly where it craters! Ok, here is the latest. Danno, what times did you get with Super Pi?
My 2200+ @ 2 gigs runs the 1 meg test in 55sec. (12 X 166)

My 1600@ 1750 runs 1meg test in 1min 02 sec. (12.5 X 139)
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 29th October, 2002 at 05:19 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 05:25 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by Daniel ~


My 2200+ @ 2 gigs runs the 1 meg test in 55sec. (12 X 166)

My 1600@ 1750 runs 1meg test in 1min 02 sec. (12.5 X 139)
OK, I'll run 1meg when I get home!
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 01:40 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

You don't have to connect the L1's, but you can't get anything conductive in the pits. Did you fill the pit (laser cut)???
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 02:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 22

I unlocked my 2400xp with a 2B lead pencil across the last L5.

I'd certainly like to know how to get a 14 multi as someone stated.

I'm running it (locked again) @ 15 x 158 = 2.37ghz

My drives were getting flaky in the 180's fsb running unlocked at 12.5.

I should be able to run at a synched 166 x 14 though, if I can get my 8k5a2 to run at that multipler. 14.5 would be optimal I think though so I can get 2400mhz out of her with a synched bus.

Running at 2volts btw. Yes, the 2400's need a lot of voltage to overclock well.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 02:35 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by akaBruno
You don't have to connect the L1's, but you can't get anything conductive in the pits. Did you fill the pit (laser cut)???
Yes, but it is non conductive. I've used it successfully onthree Xp 1600s.

You did the L-5 last bridge? Were the multi's still the same (ie: 12.5 = 12.5)?
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 02:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 22

Connecting the last L3! err, sorry. No need to touch the L1's though.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 03:27 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by nherc
Connecting the last L3! err, sorry. No need to touch the L1's though.
OK, L3 it is!. I'm off to see the sandman and Winkin, Blinkin & Nod, then I'll try again!
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2002, 05:28 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

I do Super PI 1M at 57 secs. 154x15
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2002, 06:20 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Seems really slow U.B. What are your RAM settings?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2002, 06:23 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by Daniel ~
Seems really slow U.B. What are your RAM settings?
It is, I set it to the slowest right now. I had to go to work before I could run it some more.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2002, 11:01 AM
baller02's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: swiss
Posts: 113

they work how i described it when you let the xp factory default.
over multiplier 8=16 you have to raise the voltage, if not the chip can't handle it and wouldn't boot.
i tried all multiplier up to 9,5=18 which gave me 2400mhz @133fsb. but it wasn't stable, the fact is that the described multiplier work for me with epox8k3a+.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2002, 09:36 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

What I would like to get is the lower multipliers! I'd like to get 166, 170 x 13.5 or 13. How do I do that? Is it accessable?
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2002, 02:52 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Have u tried 2B'ing the 5th L3 bridge for a quicky test? 2B method is good for quickies.. except my case.. all my durons and AXPs are unlocked by 2B w/ taped for rock stability. I think I heard someone said connect the 5th L3 on the XP2400 T-bred. Connecting that bridge with 2B takes 10 sec.. since you be U'ing. (not counting uninstall/install HSF & applying goop on da CPU).
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2002, 03:25 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

I tried to close the L1 bridges alone, and got nothing. I then cleared all that and painted the L3 bridge #5. I now have the multipkier settings that baller02 stated. in his last response. I can't seem to get the chip over the 2300 mark no matter what I do. I ran two memory tests and the memory scores fine. I'm not sure what besides the chip is holding me back, any ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
Unlocking an XP 2400+....help!-untitled.jpg  
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2002, 05:08 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

You beat my Super PI by a second! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2002, 05:23 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

UB, am I seeing this correct? You have PC3200 CAS2 memory, but you're running it at DDR266? A bit of a waste there big guy. Drop the multiplier and raise the FSB. You should at least run it at around 166 and a 13.5 multiplier and try to go up from there.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pci e unlocking MONKEYMAN Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 7 1st July, 2005 02:27 PM
unlocking 754 benighted Hardware Hacking 7 25th February, 2005 10:47 PM
Unlocking the a64... arin EPoX MotherBoards 6 26th May, 2004 02:29 PM
$115 Xp 2400 runs at 2400 good deal? The Spyder AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 25th February, 2003 03:31 PM
2400+ Unlocking semi-failure GeneralS AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 30th October, 2002 04:00 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0