AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #81 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2002, 03:43 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Oh yeah, UB, how come you and I have the same case temp, but my CPU temp is about 5C cooler with a cheaper heatsink?
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #82 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2002, 03:43 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

What setup are you using....details, I want details! LOL
I'm outta here for the night till late (PST). I'll check back later.

Way to go, Mook!
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2002, 03:46 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

WCPUID screenshot.
Attached Thumbnails
Unlocking an XP 2400+....help!-untitled2.jpg  
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2002, 03:50 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Setup is as follows:

EPoX 8K9A2+
AXP2400
Thermalright SK-7 w/ 80mm Sunon 2.1 mA fan
Darth Vader Chieftec Case
Maxtor 60GB ATA133 X 4 in RAID 10 config
Lite-On DVD-ROM
4 Sunon 80mm case fans.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2002, 04:57 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

What are you running for memory?
V core voltages?
Vdimm voltage?
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #86 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2002, 05:02 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky
Oh yeah, UB, how come you and I have the same case temp, but my CPU temp is about 5C cooler with a cheaper heatsink?
My PC sits in a cabinet in my office. Maybe someday Mary Jo will let me put it out and that would drop the temps a few degrees,.
I went back to the Thermaltake fan for cooling and it runs much quieter (less cfm as well) then the Delta. Raised CPU temp about 4 degrees.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2002, 05:22 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Bob
What are you running for memory?
V core voltages?
Vdimm voltage?
Vcore = 2.0V
Vdimm = 3.1V

Oh yeah, the memory is Corsair XMS3000CAS2. I'm thinking of dropping the Vdimm a bit to around 2.9 or so. I have all the memory timings maxed out right now and I didn't want any stability problems while setting it up. I don't know how accurate MBM is, but even though I have the Vcore set at 2.0V, it reads 1.94V.

EDIT: I think I'm going to lower the multipier tonight and try for 200FSB. I'll post tonight if I get there. At 200 though, I'm running my HDs at ATA160 and I'm not sure if the RAID setup can take it.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......

Last edited by mookydooky; 6th November, 2002 at 05:25 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2002, 05:23 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Bob

My PC sits in a cabinet in my office. Maybe someday Mary Jo will let me put it out and that would drop the temps a few degrees,.
I went back to the Thermaltake fan for cooling and it runs much quieter (less cfm as well) then the Delta. Raised CPU temp about 4 degrees.
Hmm, I have a cheapie fan on heatsink too. A Sunon 2.1mA rated for around 2900RPM. I don't think I believe the hype when it says it give 39CFM.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #89 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2002, 05:55 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Well, your voltages are in line with mine.. core 2.05, dimm 2.9.
The fan stuff has me seriously looking at water cooling. The cost has me seriously looking at my sanity! I wonder which vision will win???
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #90 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2002, 12:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 27

Hi,

I know the some/all/most/? KT400 boards automatically enable the use of the bios multipliers, but I had the latest Epox EP-8k5a3+ KT333.

As I didn't want to purchase a newer m/b, I researched the net and found an exceptionally easy way to UNLOCK the 2400+, this has probably been reported on this forum before.

All you do is get a thin piece of copper-wire, bend it to a U shape, then insert each leg into the ziff socket 462 hole as indicated. (I took the wire out of a ATA66/100 IDE cable that was a problem).

The faint red-line indicates the 2 pin holes in question.

The wire needs to be thin enough to enable you to insert the 2400+, but just thick enough that you need to apply the slightest of pressure to bed the CPU down.

Tried, tested and it works great, and if your CPU decides to do go to heaven, you pull out the CPU and there is no signs of any alterations.

P.S. Even though this method is simple, there is always some risk associated with doing any modification, and you carry that risk, NOT ME.

Cheerz
Attached Thumbnails
Unlocking an XP 2400+....help!-unlock_2400-.gif  
__________________
Epox EP-4PCA3+ Revision 1.2 (using O/B LAN)
2x 256Mbs Intel Certified "Legend" DDram 400
Enermax 431w PSU
GeForce FX 5200
Western Digital ATA100 H/D's (8Mb Cache)

Last edited by daMANwithANSWER; 10th November, 2002 at 12:22 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #91 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2002, 12:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 27

Hi,

Try to update image, but forum doesn't allow.

This maybe clearer to some with bad eyes.

Cheerz
Attached Thumbnails
Unlocking an XP 2400+....help!-unlock_2400-.gif  
__________________
Epox EP-4PCA3+ Revision 1.2 (using O/B LAN)
2x 256Mbs Intel Certified "Legend" DDram 400
Enermax 431w PSU
GeForce FX 5200
Western Digital ATA100 H/D's (8Mb Cache)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #92 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2002, 08:40 PM
popcicle's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Miles From Civilization
Posts: 113

I like that wire mod.



Pops.
__________________
....it ain't over 'till the Fat Lady sings....

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #93 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2002, 06:36 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

I've never seen that one before. Is it just for KT333's?

I know, let's let Mikey try it...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #94 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2002, 07:37 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

I have seen good and bad results from the wire method I have used grease because it is real cheap and totally removeable. [knocking wooden object...my head]Never had a problem with it yet.[/knocking wooden object...my head]
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #95 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2002, 07:44 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Wouldn't the wire thing work just as well if you connected the two pins on the CPU with something, like solder, or another wire, some other conductive material (conductive pen or rear window repair thingamabob)...??? I would think that would be easier to accomplish than trying to stick in a wire just right into the holes of the CPU mount.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #96 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2002, 10:23 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

Does this method just open the 12.5 and under multipliers? Or all available bios multipliers?

I'm also wondering if it works on palomino XP's.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #97 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2002, 11:01 PM
LBJGH's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: North of Toronto
Posts: 459

daMANwithANSWER, that is an awesome trick I hadn't seen before very cool!
__________________
AMD & ATI Powered!

DFI Lanparty S939 NF3 Ultra-D | AMD X2 4200 @ 2.6GHz | 1gb OCZ pc3200 rev2 TCC5 | ATI X800XT Platinum Edition| 2x120G WD | Plextor 712a | Antec SLK3700AMB| 520w OCZ PowerStream | Zalman 7000Cu

My Heatware 100% Positive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #98 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2002, 12:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 27

Quote:
Originally posted by akaBruno
Does this method just open the 12.5 and under multipliers? Or all available bios multipliers?

I'm also wondering if it works on palomino XP's.
Hi,

All multipliers from I think 5x -> 15x are OPENED and available , but unfortunately 13x reverts to 12.5x.

Problem with the wire wrapped around the pins is that it is a little bulky and the CPU tends to ride high on that side, not a good thing.

Also with this method, you have a warranty claim because of a genuine CPU flaw, there is absolutely no substance or whatever that can be detected, because none is used.

It works, I've tested it and believe it would also work on other KT chipsets as long as the board supports 2400+ and higher for obvious reasons.
__________________
Epox EP-4PCA3+ Revision 1.2 (using O/B LAN)
2x 256Mbs Intel Certified "Legend" DDram 400
Enermax 431w PSU
GeForce FX 5200
Western Digital ATA100 H/D's (8Mb Cache)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #99 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2002, 12:23 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Quote:
Originally posted by daMANwithANSWER



.

Also with this method, you have a warranty claim because of a genuine CPU flaw, there is absolutely no substance or whatever that can be detected, because none is used.

I hate to to a nag or to preach. But I am a firm believer in "You break it, you bought it." If you screw something up because you were using it in a way other than the manufacturer intended.

I just don't feel that the overclockers creed should be "I uh don't uh know. It just broke."

It gives overclockers a bad taste in retailers mouths.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #100 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2002, 04:46 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by Staz


I hate to to a nag or to preach. But I am a firm believer in "You break it, you bought it." If you screw something up because you were using it in a way other than the manufacturer intended.

I just don't feel that the overclockers creed should be "I uh don't uh know. It just broke."

It gives overclockers a bad taste in retailers mouths.
I agree completely with that statement. I've broken stuff but I've never returned anything that was damaged through either my carelessness or zeal. I chalk it up as another learning experience.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pci e unlocking MONKEYMAN Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 7 1st July, 2005 02:27 PM
unlocking 754 benighted Hardware Hacking 7 25th February, 2005 10:47 PM
Unlocking the a64... arin EPoX MotherBoards 6 26th May, 2004 02:29 PM
$115 Xp 2400 runs at 2400 good deal? The Spyder AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 25th February, 2003 03:31 PM
2400+ Unlocking semi-failure GeneralS AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 30th October, 2002 04:00 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0