AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2002, 03:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 17

right now, CPU FAN: 5273 RPM, CPU Temp 66C/150F

What I don't understand, is if I use the cpu sensor thing for the V9 *coolmod* it never makes the fan go faster than like 3500rpm.. But if I plug the dial in, I can turn it all the way up to 5200rpm.. That is why I thought maybe there was soemthing wrong with the mobo reading it wrong? I dunno.. .. I turned the FAN all the way down to 1875RPM, (I can hear again!!!) now cpu temp is 70C/158F
__________________

Last edited by KaoS; 2nd November, 2002 at 04:03 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2002, 04:23 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

That's disappointing. I haven't installed my smartfan2 yet, so I can't claim any kind success. I can tell you, for my main machine, I messed with the cpu last week. When I reinstalled my glaciator, my temps dropped about 3c.. I never had a problem before, but I can only assume I didn't have very good contact before.

66c is scary, but I ran 55-59c all summer long with a mobo that read the sensor under the socket. It's safe to assume that it would have translated to the mid 60's with an 8K3a. Anyway, piece of mind is important too, good luck.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2002, 04:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 17

well I went ahead and order an SLK-800 and an Smart Fan II (no coolmod, since I am getting 5 blue led casefans).. It does have better CFM

Going to send this V9 back... I gona put my 6Cu+ On there.. See what temp I get now.. I let you guys know..

Thanks for the help again!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2002, 05:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 17

well put the 6Cu+ (it is quiter than the V9 turned all the way up) and cpu temp is 61/62C.... That will have todo untill I get my new heatsink/fan next week...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2002, 06:05 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Hey KaoS, welcome to the forum!!! One quick thing, are you SURE that you have it mounted correctly? One thing you may want to double check is that it's on right.

Have you had any lock ups or blue screens? With temps like that I'm sure you probably would, if your not chances might be good that it's just not displaying the temp properly
I hope that helps ya out.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2002, 06:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 17

Nope, no crashes, no lock ups... Even played UT2K3 for an hour.. heh
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8kha and 2400 ddr panhead49 EPoX MotherBoards 2 6th October, 2003 03:37 AM
2400+ and 8KTA3L? Disorder EPoX MotherBoards 4 24th March, 2003 06:09 PM
$115 Xp 2400 runs at 2400 good deal? The Spyder AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 25th February, 2003 03:31 PM
What is your 2400+ bradmax57 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 20 2nd January, 2003 08:58 PM
2400+ bldegle2 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 4th December, 2002 06:28 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0