AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 1st November, 2002, 12:38 PM

need help with o/c

my rig should be in my sig.
i'm new to overclocking and i wanted to know if temps. would stop me from upping my FSB?
atm, my FSB is at 142, multipler at default 11, running my xp1700 at 1570Mhz
my current CPU temps are 50 degrees celsius when running several applications (read from sisoft sandra)...probably not full load.....
i got two 80mm case fans one in blowhole and one at the back.

if i try running any higher FSB than 142 my monitor just turns off when the comptuer boots up...also, monitor is plugged serparate to the PSU so shouldn't be power problem....
also when monitor turns off, i gota pull out power cord, wait a while then plug it back in before computer boots up again....

is it coz my temps are too high? or is this the 'limit' of my CPU, if its my limit i'll be annoyed....coz 100mhz gain isn't wat i wanted

hope someone can explain what's wrong....
thanks heaps!

1700+ w/stock fan, 8k5a2+, 256mb corsair xms 2700, 40GB maxtor, 52x benq cdrom, 300W PSU, 2x80mm case fans, GF4 Ti4200 128mb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 1st November, 2002, 12:40 PM

also, i have a geforce4 ti4200 128mb v/c

1700+ w/stock fan, 8k5a2+, 256mb corsair xms 2700, 40GB maxtor, 52x benq cdrom, 300W PSU, 2x80mm case fans, GF4 Ti4200 128mb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 1st November, 2002, 01:10 PM
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion

Well, for overclocking, the stock fan is worthless. You will probably need a better HSF to go for good overclocks. ATM, the temp isn't too high, so I think there is something else holding you back.