AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 5th November, 2002, 06:54 AM

Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

how would i go about unlocking a duron?

I sugguested that to my friend that I could probably overclock his cpu higher, his computer i bought him for his bday has a 1ghz duron that runs @ 1.33ghz with default voltage. Since he has crappy generic pc133 (probably wont go over 140mhz) i was going to up the multi. What bridges do i need to pencil in to unlock it?
Old 5th November, 2002, 07:15 AM

Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

Also note this is my first time unlocking an amd.
Me = n00b
Old 5th November, 2002, 08:49 AM

You bring it to Uncle Bob so you don't blow it up! LOL

But seriously, you just use a number 2 pencil and short out the L1 bridges.

Paint trick (this is pretty permanent, Red!)

Pencil trick If it don't work (some Durons are better overclockers than others) you can just erase it and, voilla, it's stock again!

If you crap it out, I got a 1.1 Ghz Duron I'll sell you cheap to get your hiney outta the fire!

Oh, BTW, Mary Jo thought you were a very nice chap....was she seeing the same dood I was? LOL
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 5th November, 2002, 09:03 AM

LOL
Most girls see me differently for some reason