AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2002, 01:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Denver
Posts: 20

AMD 2600+ What are the Default Core/Muliplier/V settings?

On the new 2600+ w/ 333FSB what VCore, Muliplier and clock speeds are they running from the factory?

How are they "physically" different then the .13 Core of the T-Bred 2400?
__________________
EPoX 8K3A+ w/ AMD XP 2400+ (OC'ed 2.2GHz)
ThermalRight SLK-800 80mm Fan
Corsair PC3000 512MB
WD 80GB HD 8MB Cache
ATI AIW 8500 128MB
SoundBlaster Audigy
Plextor 40x CD-RW
Windows XP Professional
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2002, 01:37 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

The 2600+ is running at 2.13GHz.
It should overclock to 2.4 or more GHz.
Vcore is 1.65 v

As for the difference, I've found this:
"AMD has successfully implemented a process change for the "Thoroughbred" processor core that involved adding an additional layer of metal to reduce resistance and capacitance. AMD has also engineered additional decoupling capacitors to reduce electro magnetic interference."

and:
"The new Thoroughbred has 7 metal layers, instead of 6, which enables the wires connecting different parts of the CPU to be packed more densely."

Both from Ace's hardware.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2002, 10:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 12

Quote:
Originally posted by Allan
The 2600+ is running at 2.13GHz.
It should overclock to 2.4 or more GHz.
Vcore is 1.65 v
There is two types 2600+.
2130MHz 16x133 and 2083MHz 12,5x166.
Both with 1,65 vcore.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2002, 04:29 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

There are no physical differences between an XP2400 and an XP2600 they just have different mulipliers and a different default FSB
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2002, 01:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1

Exclamation Correction for the 2 version of the 2600+

Actually, the 2600+ 266 FSB and the 2600+ 333 FSB both operate at 2133 MHz. I have the 333 FSB version in a GigaByte 7VAXP motherboard, and even with the BIOS set to operate at 166 MHz, once in Windows, WCPUID says that the FSB is set to 170.5 by default. This translates into 12.5 * 170.5 = ~2133 MHz. Either way, you're getting the same speed! Here's a WCPUID pic of the 2600+ 333 FSB!

http://www.storples.com/images/cpuspd.jpg
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2002, 08:45 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Mine'z a excluzive XP2700+/333DDR. Running silky smooth@ 2.417ghz@ 1.75V.

As mentioned by previouz members, yea, both XP2600+ & XP2700+ have 1.65V default. I don't know about all boards, but with these chips, some of the boards like the KT266A mobo I'm using only allows max selectable voltages upto 1.775V in the BIOZ... That's the max.

These monster chips seem to run high speeds very well with low Vcores.. i don't even have to cool it any good. Extremely quiet air cooling.

Retrieving that sweetie 1.85V vcore can be remedied by simple vcore mod on the chip.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 28th November, 2002 at 08:49 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
setting BIOS settings for a XP 2600 AMDPete EPoX MotherBoards 5 17th July, 2003 10:26 PM
AMD XP 1700+ TBred-B Core DLT3C JIUHB 1.5V Core any good? Cali3350 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 1st June, 2003 06:44 PM
What are default VCORE settings for AMD CPUs? Flymo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 21st April, 2003 12:22 PM
need higher muliplier for 8k7a Wazer EPoX MotherBoards 2 18th August, 2002 03:01 PM
8k7a default vcore @ 1.85 , I want less @ default how? jbslow EPoX MotherBoards 6 12th November, 2001 08:36 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:07 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0