AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2002, 10:26 PM
ronin1967's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Highland Park, NJ
Posts: 261

Xp 1600+ Agoia 0226 Z

I have this processor running in my rig, during a bad BIOS flash I lost my original motherboard. A quick phone call and a new one was on it's way. I have re-installed everything just like the original, and the board is the same(same model/version), the only difference is the heatsink on the KT333, my old one was square the new one is round.

Settings:

FSB 166Mhz
DRAMM Turbo
VCORE default(1.75 V)
VDIMM default (2.50 V)

On the old board the temps would be 30C case and 32-33C CPU never higher than 37C under load. Prime95 would run for days.

On the new board the temps are 33C case and 35-37C CPU and 42C under load. The only way I can even get Prime95 to run is by up'ing the voltages(currently have them on VCORE 1.80V and VDIMM 2.80V, but I plan to lower these and find the highest stable point)


What gives, is the motherboard faulty?

I know some of you have the same processor, what are you getting?
__________________
EPoX EP-8K5A2+, AMD XP 1600+, Dual Corsair XMS3200 DDR

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2002, 10:36 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

If the heat isn't crashing you... I wouldn't worry about the vcore.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2002, 10:45 PM
ronin1967's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Highland Park, NJ
Posts: 261

I don't mind the heat, 35C is still pretty low for air, and I do have a 350+MHz OC, just wondering why the old board would run the same at default settings and cooler and the new board is such a piece of junk.
__________________
EPoX EP-8K5A2+, AMD XP 1600+, Dual Corsair XMS3200 DDR

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2002, 06:13 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

I would imagine that it's a voltage regulator thing. And I don't put that much credence in what monitoring software says. They all differ.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2002, 06:19 PM
ronin1967's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Highland Park, NJ
Posts: 261

there must be something else going on as well because the thing was 100% stable at 166FSB default settings, now on the new motherboard I have to up the Vcore and Vdimm to get the same stability I had before
__________________
EPoX EP-8K5A2+, AMD XP 1600+, Dual Corsair XMS3200 DDR

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2002, 07:28 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

If you truly think that it's a bad board...RMA it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2002, 07:31 PM
ronin1967's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Highland Park, NJ
Posts: 261

sad part is, it a replacement for a bad board, it arrived Friday, this will be my 2nd RMA this week...my computer has been down more than it is up...
__________________
EPoX EP-8K5A2+, AMD XP 1600+, Dual Corsair XMS3200 DDR

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XP Agoia 9 overclock senior citizen AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 17th February, 2003 12:53 AM
Xp 1600+ Agoia 0204 K ronin1967 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 25 11th November, 2002 03:29 PM
Agoia 0226 udg21 EPoX MotherBoards 3 8th November, 2002 10:29 PM
Heard of the AGOIA 1600+? jbslow AMD Motherboards & CPUs 303 21st September, 2002 04:46 AM
Please help.....How do I tell whether or not a 1600+ is an agoia or not? Alphawolf829 EPoX MotherBoards 7 3rd September, 2002 05:26 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0