AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 8th November, 2001, 08:36 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
Assuming your PSU is up to snuff, 150 is in the bag, your probably good for at least 156 . . . .

Edit: Just noticed you have two sticks of memory, so maybe you won't do too much over 150 . . .
Please note that I always use 2 sticks of memory due to the addressing performance increase. Always buy 2 sticks at the same time from exactly the same batch. Difficult for some to accomplish, but aa good idea.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 8th November, 2001, 08:50 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech


Please note that I always use 2 sticks of memory due to the addressing performance increase. Always buy 2 sticks at the same time from exactly the same batch. Difficult for some to accomplish, but aa good idea.
And you have no problems with two identicle sticks? Ok fine by me, I'll just shut the **** up now . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 8th November, 2001, 11:44 AM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

Still stuck at 1247FSB.... might try increasing the memory voltage.... but i doubt thats the problem. i think more core voltage will help. once unlocked i can see if its the chip wanting more juice, or something not liking hte FSB.

the PSU is a Sparkle 400 watt, so thats not the problem, i think the northbridge may be getting hot, i checked under it and it has thermal paste so it shoudlnt be that! CPU temp is still a possibility as i not sure of the in socket temp at the moment.

anyway this weekend im gonna unlock the CPU, and get a senfu temp probe that should answer all the questions.
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."

Last edited by Random Nonsense; 8th November, 2001 at 11:48 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 8th November, 2001, 03:32 PM
Walter:-)'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark :)
Posts: 190

Quote:
Originally posted by Random Nonsense
Still stuck at 1247FSB.... might try increasing the memory voltage.....
1247MHz FSB!!! I think you need to increase you voltage pretty much to get it higher LOL
__________________
Epox 8K7A
1200MHz AXIA "9" T-Bird@1490MHz 1.95V
256Mb DDR RAM
Asus GeForce2 MX 191/221MHz (Mem/Core)
45 Gig IBM HD

Avatar by reddeathdrinker
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 8th November, 2001, 08:29 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

hehehe i wish! typo :P
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 12:10 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

What memory voltage are you running Random? I've got to set mine to 3.0v to make it through 3Dmark at the speeds I'm pushing. I've heard of peps running the memory with as much as 3.2v with extra cooling . . . . I have to run mine at 2.8 to get to 150 with stability . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 03:08 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

As far as northbridge cooling, I replaced the rattly sounding Evercool HSF that came on my board(newer boards come with a CoolerMaster HSF) with a Tennmax Lasania HSF and got the back of the board a degree cooler while I was at it. However much stability was not gained from this single degree. I'm seriously considering putting a 25mmx25mm 16V TEC under the Tennmax, as I want this system to run 170 stable . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 05:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: RSA
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to proze

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
What memory voltage are you running Random? I've got to set mine to 3.0v to make it through 3Dmark at the speeds I'm pushing. I've heard of peps running the memory with as much as 3.2v with extra cooling . . . . I have to run mine at 2.8 to get to 150 with stability . . . .
i dunno jeff, my ram seems to get pretty hot at the 2.8v i'm running it at. i'm glad i have the heatspreaders now, but i'm going to get a fan on them asap as well.
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@1540 (140*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256 Samsung PC2700 at 173Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 275/275, Delta 300W PSU.

Duron 600@1102 (105*10.5), Asus A7V, 256MB generic RAM at 140mhz 2-2-2, MTS Glaciator II, Creative GF Pro, Awesome no-name 300W PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 06:36 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by proze


i dunno jeff, my ram seems to get pretty hot at the 2.8v i'm running it at. i'm glad i have the heatspreaders now, but i'm going to get a fan on them asap as well.
It ain't hot till you get burned . . . .

Lot's of people seem to be under the impression that heat can quite easily kill parts, this is not the case. There are voltage regulators that are designed to operate at up to 125C, with thermal overload protection that doesn't kick in till 135C! The problem with heat is not so much that it kills parts, its that it reduces transistor switching speed.

The moral? Don't worry about heat until it appears to be causing system instability.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dimmreaper; 9th November, 2001 at 06:45 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 10:43 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

I have to agree strongly with Jeff here.

When you feel that the memory is too hot with your fingers, does not mean that the memory itself feels too hot.

Remember that when I go for anything in the region of 170MHz plus I wrangle with 2.90v minimum and the fact that I'm running heat spreaders doesn't really matter - they cool things down, but the memory would be happy to run anyway at that voltage and without the spreaders.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 02:02 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

i will try more voltage on the RAM when i get home from college today.... i managed 148 FSB for about an hour yesturday...... hopefully it will be stable with the extra voltage

EPoX tech in your experiance does teh 8KHA+ report reletively accurate temps with palomino's?
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 09:08 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

nope no luck! guess its the CPU limit or needs more VCORE. Im yet to accurately measure temps tho! so i will leave it as is till i get the sensor
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 10:06 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Try moving your PCI cards from PCI5 and PCI6 to PCI1 and PCI2, I've found that the slot the cards are in make a bit of difference. Also, increasing the PCI latency can help too.

More than likely it's just the CPU holding you back, either up the Vcore, or unlock that baby . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 10:30 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

order of business:

1: Unlock CPU and see if i can up FSB with a lower multiplier
2: Get senfu probe and take accurate temps
3: Perform Vhack and push it to 1800Mhz if i can!

NB: 3 only if 1 and 2 are acceptable
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's ALIVE!!! Strongwolf Random Nonsense! 19 14th December, 2006 02:52 PM
Alive chrisbard Random Nonsense! 9 29th September, 2005 03:05 AM
it's alive, well i think it is. little_alien EPoX MotherBoards 0 7th May, 2003 02:36 AM
My Old board seems like it is still alive.... muzz EPoX MotherBoards 26 9th February, 2003 03:47 PM
So like, are you alive out there?? Allan ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 8 12th January, 2002 06:14 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0