AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2002, 09:00 PM
Tawcan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 12

Arrrrr unlocking problem

Tried unlocking my CPU tonight. Well first went to my friend's and unlock his. It worked but for some reason some of the multipliers wouldn't work. Or some multi would work sometimes but not all the time.

Anyway came back to my place and tried unlocking my cpu. It was pretty late (~11) so we were pretty tired. Kept messing up the bridges, etc. It took a while. When we thought we successfully unlock this bad boy we put the cpu in and tried to boot up.

Nothing. O_o LED on my 8k5a2+ didn't light up.

This happened before. Fixed it but unplugging everything. Tried that...didn't work. We then erase the conductive paint on the bridges using rubbing alcohol, put the cpu in. Still nothing.

Now it's like 2 in the morning and I was pretty damn tired. First I took the ram off, LED is blank. I then took out the video card, still nothing. Finally I took off the cpu and tried booting it up

Still nothing. So I figure it must be the CPU itself. Cleaned the cpu for a while, put it in, and finally got the LED back.

For some reason though, it was stuck on C1. Damn! So I played around a bit, changing ram, clear cmos. Didn't work. The LED would come on and off....

Finally I had enough, ready to pack up and go to sleep. On the last try I hit the reset button and everything worked.

I have no clue why this happened. What do you guys think? Could it be the cpu? Or motherboard? It's very wierd.

Should I try unlocking again? Or don't bother?

One more thing, the multi was set at auto, could this be a problem?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2002, 10:59 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

oh...

Tawcan do u remember me? lol.. me thought u were at amdmb forum...

sorry about the problems you're having..
but I'd say keep trying.. take some break and try later or some other day.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2002, 11:06 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

An unlock can look good, but not be contacting the points of the bridges, happens a lot. Best bet is to lightly sand the area around the L1 bridges lightly with fine sandpaper, clean and then try connecting again. Mask each contact before doing one, make sure you use a needle or something to apply ink and poke at the contacts to make sure they are contacted, wait for the ink/defogger goop to go into like a gel state, and remove your masking. Wait for it to totally dry and move onto the next.

that usually works for me.
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2002, 05:57 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

Join the club.

PITA

Pain in the ass
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unlocking pipes problem z3speed4me Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 16 4th September, 2005 07:29 AM
unlocking 754 benighted Hardware Hacking 7 25th February, 2005 10:47 PM
Unlocking problem with XP1800+ on 8k5a2+ Tawcan EPoX MotherBoards 0 17th November, 2002 09:07 PM
unlocking Dragons Gate AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 12th April, 2002 08:45 PM
XP unlocking problem solved...... CHECK IT OUT! samsonx AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 12th March, 2002 04:48 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0