AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2002, 10:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 68

What nforce board to get??

Well I was ready to be the new 8rda but now that it seems that it doesn't have a lockable pci i prob will not get it. What is the best nforce board out there or coming out soon????
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2002, 12:20 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Get the EPoX one when it comes out with serial ATA RAID.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2002, 01:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 68

I'd like to but they really let me down by leaving out key overclocking features. It was very dissappointing.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2002, 01:18 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

This board from Asus seems to have a lot of features, incl. S.ATA.
http://www.asus.com.tw/mb/socketa/a7n8x/overview.htm

I can't really recommend it though, as I don't know how it performs. You may want to wait a little while before buying a nForce2 board - just to see how they do in tests...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2002, 04:51 AM
deathstar13's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 142

the asus might be ok. im kinda waiting to see what abit does.
epox dissapionted me also by leaving the agp/pci locks off.BOO!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2002, 05:16 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by youthemandan
I'd like to but they really let me down by leaving out key overclocking features. It was very dissappointing.
And what feature might that be? EPoX is renouned among enthusiasts as always having the most OCing options.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2002, 05:17 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by deathstar13
the asus might be ok. im kinda waiting to see what abit does.
epox dissapionted me also by leaving the agp/pci locks off.BOO!
There is an AGP lock. It appears though, that there is no PCI lock. This is probably native to the nForce2 chipset and if such is the case, no other nForce2 mobos will have it.

EDIT: This issue if probably gonna play out like the 1/5 divider on the 8KHA+. No Via KT266A chipset boards had it either.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......

Last edited by mookydooky; 19th November, 2002 at 05:20 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2002, 01:18 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

One other thing. ET and Holst say the thing runs fine at 200FSB. They wouldn't just say that just to show off. They can do 200FSB on just about anything you throw at them. Perhaps it's significant that they actually went to the trouble to mention this. Perhaps there's something to the PCI lock thing or something or other... and they just can't comment... Don't mind me, I'm just blithering away.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2002, 01:56 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Just get the 8RDA. You won't regret it.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2002, 02:30 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I would wait to see all the new boards tested before deciding on what to get... but maybe thats just me?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2002, 11:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 68

I can do 200+ easily with my 8k3a+ so whats the point in upgrading???? I would defenitely upgrade if it had pci locks or at least a 1/6 divider.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2002, 11:35 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

As I said, it has been reported that the board has no problems running at 200FSB. Perhaps that is all we need to know and just take the rest on faith.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2002, 11:55 PM
deathstar13's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 142

well ty for clearing the locks issue up.just didnt seem correct epox would do that intentinally.

my asus is running 204fsb at the moment.sig says diff just depends on if it folding or not.
204X9.5-1938 folding
200X10=when im not.

anyhow still looks nice mobo to play with.loaded too.yeh if i get a nforce2 itll be epox.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2002, 01:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 68

Right but at least i can chose fsb's over 200 with my 8k3a. It appears that epox slipped a bit here. I hope abit picks up the slack and releases a great board.
__________________
2100+ T-bred @2.4ghz at 1.8 vcore
Abit NF7-S Rev2.0
2x256mb of twinmos Pc3200
9700 pro @440/380 *dead*
9700 pro @410/375 *dead*
3DMark03 (never took the time to really bench. Score with ole 9500np)
3DMark01se
My heatware
XHardware.net
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2002, 01:29 AM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

I don't think there's going to be any "perfect" nForce2 board, ABIT has no holes for BIG heatsinks, ASUS is ASUS so no joy there, EPoX does not seem to have 1/6 PCI divider or PCI lock(so this makes me wonder if any NF2 board will have these features), so I'd rather wait for KT400A. At least VIA never dissapointed me(except with the KT400, but I was wise enough not to buy it )
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2002, 07:32 AM
Anomaly's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lost Angeles
Posts: 64

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky
As I said, it has been reported that the board has no problems running at 200FSB. Perhaps that is all we need to know and just take the rest on faith.
I'm with Mooky on this.
__________________
8KHA+, XP1800, SK6 on top,
Leadtek Geforce 4 4200 128mb,
1x256mb Kingmax PC2700 & 1x256mb Corsair xms2400,
Win 98se/2k dual boot,
Antec SX840 with 400 watt PSU
Sony 16x DVD, Maxtor 40gb ultra 133 HD
----------------------------------
Iwill KK266
900 Tbird @ 143x7, Thermoengine on top,
Geforce 2 GTS
2x128mb Mushkin rev 2
Win 98se
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2002, 02:04 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by Anomaly


I'm with Mooky on this.
Faith is good.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Socket 754 Nforce 4 Board from Epox corsairmicro EPoX MotherBoards 4 7th January, 2005 11:35 AM
P-9NPA+ nForce 4 board danrok EPoX MotherBoards 4 16th October, 2004 03:38 PM
Guess which board received the Editors Choice Award in the 9 board Nforce 2 shootout? Mr T EPoX MotherBoards 1 16th April, 2003 01:04 AM
NForce 615D board from Epox??? K6-III EPoX MotherBoards 0 14th March, 2002 10:02 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0