AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2002, 01:39 PM
nelamvr6's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 54

Quote:
Originally posted by Random Nonsense


Voltage is essentiall "electrical pressure" correct?

Get a cylinder of gas. with a pressure guage, open up the valve a little. pressure slowly drops, whack it right the way open and it will drop off FAST add a compressor (or for electrics a PSU) now the valve only a bit open the pressure stays the same, a lot, it drops off. So, by keeping the stock settings you are opening the valve only a little. Heavy overclocking opens it a lot, your almost certain to get a small drop off if the PSU cant really cope. Also measure teh VCore with a multimeter. It may well be that it is being misreported as i stated before!
I'll try it this evening to see if that helps.
__________________
My System:
AMD Athlon XP 2400+ T-Bred. Overclocked to 2,236 MHz (So Far!)
Thermalright SLK-800
EpoX 8K9A2+ Motherboard
VisionTek Xtasy Nvidia GeForce4 Ti 4600 Overclocked: 320 Core Freq 740 Mem Freq
512 MB Corsair XMS PC3200 Cas 2.0 DDR Ram
2 Western Digital 120GB "JB" HDD's
Lian Li PC-70 Case
Enermax EG465P-VE Power Supply
Logitech Z-560 Speakers
ViewSonic P95f+ Monitor

Spare Cycles Wanted:
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2002, 12:45 AM
nelamvr6's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 54

Update: I tried running the chip at both the native 2000 MHz and 1700 MHz but no difference. When set to 1.95V the vcore tops off at 1.92V and when set to 2.0V the vcore tops off at 1.92V
__________________
My System:
AMD Athlon XP 2400+ T-Bred. Overclocked to 2,236 MHz (So Far!)
Thermalright SLK-800
EpoX 8K9A2+ Motherboard
VisionTek Xtasy Nvidia GeForce4 Ti 4600 Overclocked: 320 Core Freq 740 Mem Freq
512 MB Corsair XMS PC3200 Cas 2.0 DDR Ram
2 Western Digital 120GB "JB" HDD's
Lian Li PC-70 Case
Enermax EG465P-VE Power Supply
Logitech Z-560 Speakers
ViewSonic P95f+ Monitor

Spare Cycles Wanted:
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2002, 11:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 17
Send a message via ICQ to Fewture

I see all kinds of nice theories here.. Is this forum really that Epox minded that absolutely nothing can be wrong with these boards??

I mean..in the first reply Holst sais it's a PSU problem. Why? Because the board is an Epox and it's holy? Every board has issues.. Lets stay a bit realistic shall we?

It is DEFINITELY the board. And someone else said: "As long as it's working"...Yeah..right. 0.08V is a lot if you need it. It could mean a higher clock or a stable sys at a certain clock. 0.025 could make that differnce. So think before you reply..please..

Now, I have the same problem and decided to risc the board and vmod it because this 1,95V was irritating me (the board is great except for this vcore problem).
Locate the chip called "IRU3055". You wil find it between the PS/2 ports and the socket. Get a pot of 250K and solder it to pin 3 and pin 17 and you got a vmod.
I can get 2,22V or more (haven't tried higher). Now I'm running on 2,09 and this pushes my Tbed A some 90Mhz more. So a little voltage does make a difference.

All you Tbred A owners..watch out with 2,2V. They die of those voltages (seen 2 already).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2002, 03:27 PM
Jeff F.'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Posts: 140

@Fewture: :beer:

I was supposed to stop at the store yesterday for the 250k pot. but the kids started acting up before we could get there.

Have you measured what resistance the pot. is at when you obtain 2.2v? I think that's about all I need and if I can get away with a 100k pot. then I'll just go down that road(less chance of me whacking my chip is always a good thing).

I'm pretty sure I'll be able to push my XP2400+ past 2550MHz once I can get above 1.95v stable. Yes, 2550 is nice, but those who overclock are never satisfied.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2002, 05:30 PM
bldegle2's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 222

Cool pots

250k pot, be carefull, you could really juice the CPU to immediate fryage with the wrong intitial setting.

100k pot is the way to go, you will get maybe 2.2+ as a max and even if you start her up at the wrong setting, it will survive the twenty seconds or so it will take to get in the bios and make the adjustments to your liking.

doublecheck the pinouts, the 8kha+ i modded awhile ago was volt modded with #2 and #17 pinouts.

just be sure, get some real small Pamona clips to test her, then do the solder job if you so desire, the clips work fine as long as they stay undisturbed in da box.

baldy
__________________
Opty's 939 single and dual, DFI, AsRock, Gskill & Team, clocked of course...

Last edited by bldegle2; 29th November, 2002 at 05:36 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2002, 05:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 17
Send a message via ICQ to Fewture

Re: pots

Quote:
Originally posted by bldegle2
250k pot, be carefull, you could really juice the CPU to immediate fryage with the wrong intitial setting.

100k pot is the way to go, you will get maybe 2.2+ as a max and even if you start her up at the wrong setting, it will survive the twenty seconds or so it will take to get in the bios and make the adjustments to your liking.

doublecheck the pinouts, the 8kha+ i modded awhile ago was volt modded with #2 and #17 pinouts.

just be sure, get some real small Pamona clips to test her, then do the solder job if you so desire, the clips work fine as long as they stay undisturbed in da box.

baldy
Sorry m8, but a 100K pot has the same effect. 10K would be more safe. The mod starts working around 1K. A 1K resistor wil give you 2,2V max.
Ik took my pot off and measured it. Only 1K.. lol.. I couldn't see how far it was turned. 10K wil do fine. Without a pot 1K is the way to go.
A guy on Xtreme did the 1K mod. No problems, works fine.

See here: [8K9A] Vcore mod is here!!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 02:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Portugal (Europe)
Posts: 104

Quote:
Originally posted by nelamvr6


Thanks, but I'm not rudzer.
But I am :-D

Regarding the voltage prob, seem to be getting 1.85-1.87 (when setting at 1.9v in bios)! The diference isn't equivalent I mean, it doesn't undervolt the same (hope you understand what I mean)!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 03:14 AM
nelamvr6's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 54

Quote:
Originally posted by Rudzer


But I am :-D

Regarding the voltage prob, seem to be getting 1.85-1.87 (when setting at 1.9v in bios)! The diference isn't equivalent I mean, it doesn't undervolt the same (hope you understand what I mean)!
I understand what you mean, but unfortunately I can't offer any help.
__________________
My System:
AMD Athlon XP 2400+ T-Bred. Overclocked to 2,236 MHz (So Far!)
Thermalright SLK-800
EpoX 8K9A2+ Motherboard
VisionTek Xtasy Nvidia GeForce4 Ti 4600 Overclocked: 320 Core Freq 740 Mem Freq
512 MB Corsair XMS PC3200 Cas 2.0 DDR Ram
2 Western Digital 120GB "JB" HDD's
Lian Li PC-70 Case
Enermax EG465P-VE Power Supply
Logitech Z-560 Speakers
ViewSonic P95f+ Monitor

Spare Cycles Wanted:
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 11:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Portugal (Europe)
Posts: 104

Ahh well hopefully 1.95v on bios will give always or close to 1.9v as my future cpu and WC setup will sure appreciatte it

peace
__________________
without cpu|| moboless || 1x256MB Samsung PC2700 Cas2 ||80GB Seagate 7.2k rpm || Liteon 16x DVD-ROM || Liteon 48x/10x/40x CDRW ||Intel i740 8MB AGP || Guess what i'm doing
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 06:50 PM
nelamvr6's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 54

You could always try the voltage mod that fewture came up with.

I won't do that because I've got plans to replace this board soon anyway, but it may work for you.
__________________
My System:
AMD Athlon XP 2400+ T-Bred. Overclocked to 2,236 MHz (So Far!)
Thermalright SLK-800
EpoX 8K9A2+ Motherboard
VisionTek Xtasy Nvidia GeForce4 Ti 4600 Overclocked: 320 Core Freq 740 Mem Freq
512 MB Corsair XMS PC3200 Cas 2.0 DDR Ram
2 Western Digital 120GB "JB" HDD's
Lian Li PC-70 Case
Enermax EG465P-VE Power Supply
Logitech Z-560 Speakers
ViewSonic P95f+ Monitor

Spare Cycles Wanted:
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 11:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Portugal (Europe)
Posts: 104

Don't know trying to sort my slow hdd problems attm, if I can't fix it the mobo is history

Why are you getting rid of yours (the voltage thing?)
__________________
without cpu|| moboless || 1x256MB Samsung PC2700 Cas2 ||80GB Seagate 7.2k rpm || Liteon 16x DVD-ROM || Liteon 48x/10x/40x CDRW ||Intel i740 8MB AGP || Guess what i'm doing
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 06:37 PM
nelamvr6's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 54

Quote:
Originally posted by Rudzer
Don't know trying to sort my slow hdd problems attm, if I can't fix it the mobo is history

Why are you getting rid of yours (the voltage thing?)
The voltage thing, and I can't get my FSB above 180 without HDD corruption. Overall its been dissapointing overclocking wise.

But the nf2 boards are looking more attractive than they were a few days ago.

But I'm still curious about the KT400A boards.
__________________
My System:
AMD Athlon XP 2400+ T-Bred. Overclocked to 2,236 MHz (So Far!)
Thermalright SLK-800
EpoX 8K9A2+ Motherboard
VisionTek Xtasy Nvidia GeForce4 Ti 4600 Overclocked: 320 Core Freq 740 Mem Freq
512 MB Corsair XMS PC3200 Cas 2.0 DDR Ram
2 Western Digital 120GB "JB" HDD's
Lian Li PC-70 Case
Enermax EG465P-VE Power Supply
Logitech Z-560 Speakers
ViewSonic P95f+ Monitor

Spare Cycles Wanted:
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 06:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Portugal (Europe)
Posts: 104

Indeed!

Just putted my Epox 8k9a in the box...remember my spanky brand nw 80GB 7200rpm? Its practicly dead :/ (can't access it thing is I DON'T want the store people to be able to watch its content - passwords, work stuff,etc.. don't know what to do )
__________________
without cpu|| moboless || 1x256MB Samsung PC2700 Cas2 ||80GB Seagate 7.2k rpm || Liteon 16x DVD-ROM || Liteon 48x/10x/40x CDRW ||Intel i740 8MB AGP || Guess what i'm doing
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 07:42 PM
nelamvr6's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 54

Quote:
Originally posted by Rudzer
Indeed!

Just putted my Epox 8k9a in the box...remember my spanky brand nw 80GB 7200rpm? Its practicly dead :/ (can't access it thing is I DON'T want the store people to be able to watch its content - passwords, work stuff,etc.. don't know what to do )
I understand your concern. But what are your options?

are you sure you can't do anything with it at all? Have you tried booting with a dos start-up disk and then blowing out the partition with fdisk?

That will provide a little more security. Then people will have to go a lot farther than most are willing to get at your sensitive data.

I know how you feel, I hate it when things don't go accoring to plan. The good news is things have to get better, they can't get much worse!
__________________
My System:
AMD Athlon XP 2400+ T-Bred. Overclocked to 2,236 MHz (So Far!)
Thermalright SLK-800
EpoX 8K9A2+ Motherboard
VisionTek Xtasy Nvidia GeForce4 Ti 4600 Overclocked: 320 Core Freq 740 Mem Freq
512 MB Corsair XMS PC3200 Cas 2.0 DDR Ram
2 Western Digital 120GB "JB" HDD's
Lian Li PC-70 Case
Enermax EG465P-VE Power Supply
Logitech Z-560 Speakers
ViewSonic P95f+ Monitor

Spare Cycles Wanted:
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 08:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Portugal (Europe)
Posts: 104

Don't know how could this upgrade gone worse (maybe my pc blow up )

Not sure if dos bot disk will work will do the job as its in ntfs!

Doesn't boot with other disks connected (like in secundary), doesn't let load win xp / win 2k installer via cd or pm8.0 :/
__________________
without cpu|| moboless || 1x256MB Samsung PC2700 Cas2 ||80GB Seagate 7.2k rpm || Liteon 16x DVD-ROM || Liteon 48x/10x/40x CDRW ||Intel i740 8MB AGP || Guess what i'm doing
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 08:29 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

DAMN! I screwed up!! I apologize! I just deleted two posts...Thought I was in the EPoX topic. My Bad.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 08:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Portugal (Europe)
Posts: 104

For a sec thought you had an way to help me destroy the contents the hd is they are still there :/
__________________
without cpu|| moboless || 1x256MB Samsung PC2700 Cas2 ||80GB Seagate 7.2k rpm || Liteon 16x DVD-ROM || Liteon 48x/10x/40x CDRW ||Intel i740 8MB AGP || Guess what i'm doing
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
epoxx 8k9a problem tdamocles EPoX MotherBoards 0 21st January, 2004 11:42 AM
ep-8k9a usb 2.0 problem. need help! AID EPoX MotherBoards 1 27th November, 2003 05:31 PM
Need .bin for 8K9A Andyddr EPoX MotherBoards 0 14th December, 2002 09:47 PM
For anybody who has already got EP-8K9A[x] Igor EPoX MotherBoards 0 16th October, 2002 08:29 PM
Undervoltage + Epox 4BDA+ funky_81 EPoX MotherBoards 5 10th May, 2002 08:19 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0