AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2002, 05:30 PM
ronin1967's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Highland Park, NJ
Posts: 261

AMD is no longer going to compete with INTEL

AMD is no longer going to compete with INTEL? What does this mean? No more new microprocessor? Will the technology slowdown? How will this effect prices?

http://www.forbes.com/newswire/2002/...rtr799607.html
__________________
EPoX EP-8K5A2+, AMD XP 1600+, Dual Corsair XMS3200 DDR

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2002, 05:35 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

AMD's NEEDS PC based processors to survive. IMHO, they are trying to promote the concept of low cost processors (for non pc markets) to market the company to investors.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2002, 05:38 PM
ronin1967's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Highland Park, NJ
Posts: 261

It is an interesting notion, INTEL prices would sky rocket(as if they were there now), you be seeing new processors come out yearly instead of monthly, technology would slowdown...

I thought it was an interesting article, I have spoken to my local AMD Field Engineer, he loves to talk about their product and he is very excited about the upcoming technology...
__________________
EPoX EP-8K5A2+, AMD XP 1600+, Dual Corsair XMS3200 DDR

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2002, 06:01 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

I too am excited about the upcoming AMD chips. But, this makes me wonder what intel may have up their sleeve.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2002, 06:05 PM
ronin1967's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Highland Park, NJ
Posts: 261

Some have speculated that this is like the old Apple/IBM situation, where Apple decided not to compete anymore and find it's own market...
__________________
EPoX EP-8K5A2+, AMD XP 1600+, Dual Corsair XMS3200 DDR

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2002, 10:18 PM
loop's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Under bed with pan of water and 2 mines.
Posts: 866

I'll continue to buy AMD purely because I cant afford to buy intel, also AMD seem a much nicer company than intel
__________________
Are you on drugs? If not should you be on drugs?
Warranties are there to invalidate.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2002, 10:22 PM
ronin1967's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Highland Park, NJ
Posts: 261

AMD is great and firendly...I will always support them.
__________________
EPoX EP-8K5A2+, AMD XP 1600+, Dual Corsair XMS3200 DDR

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2002, 10:52 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

AMD has bet the farm on Athlon 64 and Opteron. AMD is working hand in hand with chipset manufacturers. They've been reluctant to design chipsets for their processors. This cost them millions of sales of the Slot A Athlon during its first year of production. VIA has become a much more capable outfit since the "great Slot A fiasco." As capable as Serverworks and Intel? Weyell... I hope that VIA and AMD working together produce silicon that sings.

AMD is a tiny company, it can't use resources it doesn't have. All the same, if rock solid Server mainboards don't appear simultaneously with the Opteron, it could sink the company.

If the mainboards and Opterons work well from the get-go, AMD's stock will soar. I think businesses that need x86 Servers are tired paying so much for Intel solutions. AFAIK, there is at least one working flavor of x86-64 Linux for Servers. 64-bit Unixes for big iron Servers might even be ported to x86-64 architecture. This is doubtful for Unix OS's that are proprietary to IBM, Sun or SGI machines. But stranger things have happened.

64-bit OS's, whether for IA-64 or x86-64 will be written by Redmond. MS has the power to put the brakes on one side or the other. PR had it that MS was enthused about Windows for x86-64. But that was almost a year ago...

If AMD provides better, or even on-par performance with Xeon SMP machines at notably less cost AMD will be fine in 2003. If not, I don't think that the Barton will keep the company afloat.

This is a golden opportunity for VIA, SiS and ALi to enter the Server market. May they do it well!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2002, 09:30 AM
Jet Black's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 22

Quote:
Originally posted by ronin1967
Some have speculated that this is like the old Apple/IBM situation, where Apple decided not to compete anymore and find it's own market...
Speaking of Apple, I heard a rumour that Apple may decide to put AMD chips in their Macs coming up.

That'd be really great for both companies, IMHO. Though it's probably just rumour.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2002, 05:23 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

You mean enough revenues come from AMD's processor business to consider them an Intel competitor? I thought they were just a flash memory maker now

Flash memory prices are expected to rise by as much as 20% next year do to increased demand(these estimates come from analyst groups independent of flash memory makers), that and cost cutting combined should keep AMD afloat, any increase in CPU revenues should manage make the firm profitable.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2002, 11:38 PM
ronein's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 3

well at least theres Cyrix.........hahahahaha
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2002, 08:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 5

Quote:
Originally posted by Jet Black


Speaking of Apple, I heard a rumour that Apple may decide to put AMD chips in their Macs coming up.

That'd be really great for both companies, IMHO. Though it's probably just rumour.
I was under the impression that, at least early on, that AMD already OEM manufactured the processors for Apple. 'Course, that was a long time ago....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No longer able to backup dvds.. Nate-X General Hardware Discussion 12 28th February, 2005 02:41 AM
Will I live longer? mookydooky Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 0 21st September, 2002 04:01 AM
How much longer demonX AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 8th April, 2002 07:39 AM
My PC no longer shuts down Pinky OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 6 24th September, 2001 08:26 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0