AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2002, 06:48 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

I just got a Sparkle 400w from newegg... it works great... perfect 5v and 12v rail.... well... I adjust the pots

here is the review for that psu
http://www.amd3d.com/review/fsp400/index.htm
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2002, 07:03 PM
woz_mann's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 114

Quote:
Originally posted by EluSiOn
I just got a Sparkle 400w from newegg... it works great... perfect 5v and 12v rail.... well... I adjust the pots   
Yea I looked at buying that one :-D

if that one has the pot adjustment maybe the CWT one will aswell
__________________
T-bred 2400 @ (200x10)
Abit NF7-S v2
512MB OCZ PC3500
Gainward GF4 Ti4600
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 12:33 AM
deathstar13's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 142

pcpower+cooling
fsp
antec

in that order.i had to adjust my pots on this paralell dually setup.now is 5.21v on the 5v line which would read low.no fluctuations tho.

even got em both brand new off ebay for $5 each ,shipping included!what a steal

mabey i should write up a nice article on that mod? mabey.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 01:15 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Anyone know where I can find the specific 5 volt pots in the VANTEC VAN-520A ?
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

Last edited by Uncle Bob; 1st December, 2002 at 01:17 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 03:13 AM
Jeff F.'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Posts: 140

Quote:
Originally posted by EluSiOn
I just got a Sparkle 400w from newegg... it works great... perfect 5v and 12v rail.... well... I adjust the pots

here is the review for that psu
http://www.amd3d.com/review/fsp400/index.htm
Yep, Sparkle power supplies are great for the money. I have three 350W supplies and they are all "tuned" to 5.10v under load. Like I said, it's a great supply for $48 delivered...
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...tby=14&order=1
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 06:29 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

Antec TruePower PSUs are not made by CWT, they are made by Antec and they rock. The price may be a bit high, but it's wel worth it, trust me.
I have the 430W version and I have never seen a quieter PSU. The voltages are very good too, no problems so far.

But if you want the best, look at the Enhance ENS-0246 PSU, it s made for dual CPU servers and it is the best PSU I have ever played with. Not very quiet though, in fact it is kinda loud.
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 11:52 PM
woz_mann's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 114

have a look on your pcb and tell us what u find
__________________
T-bred 2400 @ (200x10)
Abit NF7-S v2
512MB OCZ PC3500
Gainward GF4 Ti4600
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 09:10 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

Hmm, I might just do that .
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 09:23 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

Nope, haven't found CWT anywhere yet(yes, I have two Antec TP PSUs).
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 09:13 PM
woz_mann's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 114

well I just got my CTW. But however they didn't send me the 420 W psu, they sent me the 500 w!!!!!!!!!!!

WOOOHOOOOO

  :-D :-D :-D

 

the specs are as follows

3.3v line - 30A

5v line 38A

+12v line 22A

I think that they are going to be surfice!!!!

I had a look and unfortunatly no pot, or atleast I couldn't find it (if it is somewhere hidden please tell me!!!

I am going to install the mofo tonight, I'll give an update on outputs!

BTW: the cords are LONG, the molex cords are as long as the ATX cord (plug to mobo), and so is the AUX and the P4 12v. (they all measure: 21 inches to the FIRST plug!)
__________________
T-bred 2400 @ (200x10)
Abit NF7-S v2
512MB OCZ PC3500
Gainward GF4 Ti4600
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


« nforce 2 | psu »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU choice kellamne AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 9th January, 2005 04:59 PM
The OS of choice DimViesel OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 6th December, 2004 08:22 PM
HDD Choice??? Staz General Hardware Discussion 5 29th March, 2004 03:06 AM
TFT choice help stigweed Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 13 31st January, 2003 07:23 PM
Your Choice Louis EPoX MotherBoards 7 26th January, 2003 12:23 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0