AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 03:28 PM
water_cooler20's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 154

psu

Is this psu good for my pchttp://www.dealsonic.com/pow50pen4atx.html
Its a
AMD XP 2400
1 hd
1 cd
lots of fans
8rda MB
XMS PC3200 ram
1 floppy
ati radden 9000
sb live 5.1
and i will be ocing
__________________

Last edited by water_cooler20; 1st December, 2002 at 03:30 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 06:32 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

Check this out PSU of choice

Or you can use Search to find more threads where PSUs were discussed.

The Powmax seems kinda cheap for a 500W PSU, this raises questions about the quality, so be carefull.
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 06:07 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

I just got a Sparkle 400w from newegg... it works great and it has adjustable pots It is quiet and it is inexpensive. I think all other PSU is over rated and charging those insane prices. This PSU also passed tom's hardware stress test and was recommanded by Tom's hardware as well. Sparkle = FSP = Forton Source Power (not sure the exact spelling)

here is the review for that psu
http://www.amd3d.com/review/fsp400/index.htm

I am also running AMD XP 2400+ 8RDA+. Sparkle 400w statisfy the both 5v and 12 rail line perfect.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 06:14 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

I havent had the greatest luck with the "powmax" ones, I think they may be the same as the "foxtron", but I hane never seen the 500w so...
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 09:21 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

*Note Edited*
I realize that no harm was meant, but your simile brings an unnecessary unhappiness into the conversation. I've taken the liberty of substituting one of my own.
Daniel ~


Elusion, mentioning THG on this forums is like being a minture dog at a cat show
As for the PSUs, if you ask me, the Antec True Power PSUs are worth every penny you pay for it. They are quiet, provide plenty of juice, and are trustworthy.
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !

Last edited by Daniel ~; 3rd December, 2002 at 11:41 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2002, 07:07 PM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

Just picked up a TP 480. Rails are a little low, but if it'll run everything stable at those V's then I'll be happy.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2002, 01:57 AM
tweaky's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 165

Quote:
Originally posted by muzz
Just picked up a TP 480. Rails are a little low, but if it'll run everything stable at those V's then I'll be happy.
Do not worry about those low rails, they are normal, for the most part anyway. I was at first a little surprised at seeing low rails too but after throwing everything at it and thensome the rails stay strong and hence i've had no problems that were PSU related whatsoever
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2002, 05:14 AM
RandyB's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Sedro Woolley Wa
Posts: 344

I have a true power 430 that I just got last weekend and I was concerned as well with the low 5 v and 12v readings that VIA hwm was showing. I checked at the
molex with my multimeter under full load and the 5V was rock stable @ 5.05 and the 12V was rock steady @ 12.00
It seems to be a good solid PSU.
__________________
Xp2400+@ 215 X 11 P95 stable Epox 8RDA+, 512 (2x256) megs Corsair XMS 3200 mem sync DC, ASUS Geforce 4 Ti 4200 300 core 575 mem. Maxtor Diamond max plus ATA133, Innovatek H2O system,
Modded generic case.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 02:12 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

The rails or how low/high they are reported also depends on the motherboard.
For instance, I have rahter high rails on an old mobo(KT7A) and low on 4G4A+, with the same TP 430W.
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 02:29 PM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

I should have edited that post anyway. I've built 2500 volt power supplies b4( for grounded grid linear amps ), and I should know better. I will have to check it at the mobo b4 I believe anything I read. Not really an issue yet, I'm sure I'll get around to it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 09:22 PM
woz_mann's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 114

Well I just got my CWT 420 (well actually they shipped me a 500W version, not that I'm complaining)

I only paid 45 bones for it. huge amperage on the 3.3 and 5 volt lines 30A(3.3v) and 38A(5v)

 

not sure what the rails are on the mobo (yet to install PSU)

However the cablea are all 21inches long (to the first plug!)
__________________
T-bred 2400 @ (200x10)
Abit NF7-S v2
512MB OCZ PC3500
Gainward GF4 Ti4600
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0