AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 12:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 6

8RDA+ 2400+.. argh, too many pluses

Hiya people, just registered ;p

As per topic, I plan on buying a 8rda and a 2400. My question is what memory speed and brand should I aim for? I'm on a rather tight budget, and not too sure if I will be overclocking right off, though I probably will in the future if I need the extra speed.

After looking at some of the high end memory prices, I almost died, price for two sticks of 256mb ddr was more than twice as much as the 8rda price @_@

Lehp? Thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 03:24 AM
RandyB's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Sedro Woolley Wa
Posts: 344

Welcome to the forums! I am in a similar situation. I have an 8RDA+ and a XP 2400+ on the way from Mwave.com I wanted good memory and the Corsair XMS PC 3200 or 3500 DDR seems to be a popular choice. But the hefty price was holding me back.
I had to settle for one 256 meg. stick of the XMS PC3200 for now.
When my wallet recovers I'll order 1 more 256 meg stick.
__________________
Xp2400+@ 215 X 11 P95 stable Epox 8RDA+, 512 (2x256) megs Corsair XMS 3200 mem sync DC, ASUS Geforce 4 Ti 4200 300 core 575 mem. Maxtor Diamond max plus ATA133, Innovatek H2O system,
Modded generic case.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 06:01 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

I have AMD XP 2400+ and my 8RDA+ is on its way where from mwave....

Interesting that long of people is doing this cpu+mobo combo.

I just can't spend more $ on upgrading. I have 2 stick of pc2100 256mb from Crucial with Heat spread Plate on them. I guess I will just play with the memory divisiors and oc my system to 200x12

watercooled MAZE3
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 05:22 PM
deathstar13's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 142

i have a suggestion.sorta like elusions.
i purchased my a7v333 ,and a 2200 2 months ago.i found myself in same exact situation.

i dont suggest getting 2x256 sticks if u want extream high fsb speed.plus a few fsb will out perform the dual channel options. so imo 1x512mb is the best option for me anyhow.

but i couldnt afford $200+ more.
so i bought a 128mb stick of corsair 2100,relaxed my timings and am able to boot 206fsb@2.5-3-3

202 is stable tho.above that is shakey but still runs.
$42 invested in the stick.
and now 2 months later i have the money for my 512xms3200.

plus a nice backup stick too have around or sell.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 06:13 PM
RandyB's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Sedro Woolley Wa
Posts: 344

Forgive my ignorance on the subject but as I understand it you need 2 sticks to utilize the dual channel architecture, am I mistaken?
__________________
Xp2400+@ 215 X 11 P95 stable Epox 8RDA+, 512 (2x256) megs Corsair XMS 3200 mem sync DC, ASUS Geforce 4 Ti 4200 300 core 575 mem. Maxtor Diamond max plus ATA133, Innovatek H2O system,
Modded generic case.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 06:59 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by RandyB
Forgive my ignorance on the subject but as I understand it you need 2 sticks to utilize the dual channel architecture, am I mistaken?
You're correct. You need a stick in either DIMM slot 1 or 2 and another in DIMM slot 3. It seems though, that running dual doesn't offer a big performance increase over just using one. If you're going for the 3DMark title though, you'll want every advantage you can get.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 08:39 PM
RandyB's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Sedro Woolley Wa
Posts: 344

Thanks Mooky, I am still fairly new to this game
__________________
Xp2400+@ 215 X 11 P95 stable Epox 8RDA+, 512 (2x256) megs Corsair XMS 3200 mem sync DC, ASUS Geforce 4 Ti 4200 300 core 575 mem. Maxtor Diamond max plus ATA133, Innovatek H2O system,
Modded generic case.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! 8RDA+ no post w/ XP 2400 sickpuppy1 EPoX MotherBoards 4 31st March, 2003 12:59 PM
2400+ on 8RDA SpleeNMaN EPoX MotherBoards 7 24th March, 2003 02:38 PM
Help with overclocking - 2400+ 8rda+ frog EPoX MotherBoards 7 16th January, 2003 04:57 PM
8rda+ 2400 200fsb? Ridley EPoX MotherBoards 12 30th December, 2002 07:32 PM
ARGH! 8RDA has too many clocks! Áedán AMD Motherboards & CPUs 25 17th December, 2002 05:06 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0