AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 10:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: RSA
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to proze

Got me a new overclock!! Have a look-see...

i got a new delta 300w psu for free (yay!) so i reconnected my voltage mod on my 8kha and have been playing around some more. these are a few results up from 1406mhz, by previous best:

1. 1480mhz (148*10): Vcore 2.01v, VDimm 2.75v. Rock solid.
2. 1500mhz (150*10): Vcore 2.06v, VDimm 2.85v. Rock solid.
3. 1520mhz (160*9.5): Vcore 2.10v, VDimm 3.05v. Rock solid.

now i have to decide which one to run at. the speeds are easy enough.. take the highest one. but have a look at the voltages needed.

what do y'all reckon? the voltages needed for the 160mhz fsb are high, but will they kill anything? i don't mind high if high doesn't equal dead.

oh, and how's this for a sandra mem score (with the 160mhz fsb):

http://www.icon.co.za/~prozesky/sandra_mem_160x9.jpg
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@1540 (140*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256 Samsung PC2700 at 173Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 275/275, Delta 300W PSU.

Duron 600@1102 (105*10.5), Asus A7V, 256MB generic RAM at 140mhz 2-2-2, MTS Glaciator II, Creative GF Pro, Awesome no-name 300W PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 11:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: RSA
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to proze

forgot to add:

i have three pci devices: NIC, SBlive and harddrive. will the 40mhz pci bus (160/4=40) damage anything?

i've had it easy when it comes to gear dying so far, so i'm not sure what kills gear and what doesn't...
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@1540 (140*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256 Samsung PC2700 at 173Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 275/275, Delta 300W PSU.

Duron 600@1102 (105*10.5), Asus A7V, 256MB generic RAM at 140mhz 2-2-2, MTS Glaciator II, Creative GF Pro, Awesome no-name 300W PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 11:21 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

In short Proze, voltage kills parts. I've been running my memory at 3.0V for weeks now, and have run it at 3.2V for hours on end, with no extra cooling! 2.1V is the Vcore limit for AMD .18 parts if you buy in to hearsay, I myself think 2.2V to be the real-world limit, and I have run my Morgan at this for a few hours with "special" CPU cooling(though don't blame me if you burn a CPU with them kind of volts).

Don't worry about frequency killing you HDA or PCI cards. Usually if the frequency is too high, things will just flake out because the transistors cann't switch fast enough if your too high. But be advised that a ghost image of your HDA is a great Idea, saved my butt a few times . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dimmreaper; 10th November, 2001 at 11:23 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2001, 08:19 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
But be advised that a ghost image of your HDA is a great Idea, saved my butt a few times . . .
A ghost image made at just 133MHz memory clock too.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2001, 08:46 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
A ghost image made at just 133MHz memory clock too.
Thanks! Who knows what trouble might have resulted from my negligence.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You know you overclock too much when... cadaveca The Chop Shop 6 15th April, 2006 05:27 AM
AMD 64 overclock leekirlew AMD Motherboards & CPUs 48 24th November, 2004 05:23 AM
Overclock Help! marcusrivera AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 13th November, 2004 04:01 PM
K6-2 Overclock Mad old tory AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 28th June, 2003 07:17 PM
Help me to overclock seanbee EPoX MotherBoards 2 27th May, 2003 09:14 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0