AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 06:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3

Is the PCI Bus locked at 33mhz on the EP-8RDA+?

I hope someone can provide me with this info. Thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 06:12 AM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

UH OH.................... not again.A guy named Caper did some sandra benches today. The scores didn't change from 133fsb to 200 fsb ( HD scores- which tells me that it is, you get higher benches with increased fsb).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 06:36 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I've moved the post to "AMD Motherboards and CPU" Where this topic can be freely discussed.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 08:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3

Unhappy WOW!!!

Sorry new fellows,

I had no idea that people were getting banned for asking about the thing.

I won't ask anymore. I will however have to depend on someone providing a link with PC Geiger test results before I can get this board with my poor man's budget.

Thanks for the replies though. I do have another question that I will ask in a new hopefully taboo-free subject.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 09:05 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

well... I got this board... and... I wouldnt get this board without a pci lock... so.... go figure
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 09:16 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

In THIS Topic every thing is fair game. No one gets booted for simply asking a question ANYWHERE in our forums. Calling names flaming our friends and violating our rules is another matter. Those who were ban all one of them, twice, went out of his way to pick a fight, which is not the brightest thing to do if "I" have all the power...Which I do.

Act like a gentlemen, treat others kindly and don't make a disagreeable ass of yourself about rules that were here when you arrived and a new guy will have no problem getting along. He who is now absent knew this.

For whatever reason I can only surmise that he wanted to be ban.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 11:48 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Re: WOW!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by agnishvatta
I had no idea that people were getting banned for asking about the thing.
The EPoX topic is more sensitive, as the EPoX guys have to be careful about what they say. The AMD topic (Here!) doesn't have the same issues.

Someone got banned because they were trying repeatedly to force the EPoX guys to reveal information they were not in a position to reveal. That, and they were being downright rude about it, and refused to back down.

The consensus of opinion is that the board has seperate PCI bus that doesn't depend on the FSB. Big thumbs up to nVidia for doing it right!

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 01:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Posts: 81

YES there is a pci lock. How do i know? because i would not be able to boot into windows at over 195fsb without curruption after 3 hours and now i am at 200fsb and loving it. i have a WD hardrive and it is very sensative to fsb increasements and on my KT333 board the highest i could run safe was 190fsb.

another way of proving it is that on the a7n8x someone hooked up a pci geiger which phisically tests the frequency of the pci cards and at 190fsb it was locked at 33.33mhz.

also for me in sandra regardless of the fsb the harddrive benchmarks do not increase they stay almost exactly the same (the program is always accurate so they increase and decrease only a little). if the pci bus was not locked and was at 40pci at 200fsb rather than 33pci, my hardrive scores would be a lot higher than they are now.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 02:09 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

Just as I suspected, the MCP-T runs the PCI independant of the FSB and AGP.
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 09:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 3

Quote:
Originally posted by Alexandrus
Just as I suspected, the MCP-T runs the PCI independant of the FSB and AGP.

What makes you so sure about it? In fact Anandtech had asked the EPOX fellows and there was no reply yet. So far only Asus had made an affirmative reply and big names such as MSI , Chaintech and Leadtek stated that they do not have this PCI lock. So it may be either way for EPOX.

I am hoping that EPOX will make some comment on this functionality in particular sooner than later. Hopefually earlier than the news of KT400A is released.

I had a look at this board and it is so appealing. So wanting to take it home right then and there.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 09:10 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by roni123


......I am hoping that EPOX will make some comment on this functionality in particular sooner than later. ....
You never know. But if an answer does come from Epox, it will be from their corporate marketing arm.... The people running Epox will not allow their front line technicians to say anything.

Our ET guys here will not be allowed to comment AT ALL, if/when/until Epox (corporate) decides to release information.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 09:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 3

That is understood, I am hoping that the representation is from the EPOX corporation, so that they are official.

By the way, what do u think about the ASUS mb? At the momnet I narrow down to this and the EPOX. The ASUS mb simply have too many features than I need and the price is a bit steep too.

EPOX is more of a logical choice for me, but they kept so tight lip about this NDA and starting to make people wonder if they have somthing to hide.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 09:46 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally posted by roni123



What makes you so sure about it? In fact Anandtech had asked the EPOX fellows and there was no reply yet. So far only Asus had made an affirmative reply and big names such as MSI , Chaintech and Leadtek stated that they do not have this PCI lock. So it may be either way for EPOX.

I am hoping that EPOX will make some comment on this functionality in particular sooner than later. Hopefually earlier than the news of KT400A is released.

I had a look at this board and it is so appealing. So wanting to take it home right then and there.
Personally (and as you guys know I'm a BIG EPoX fan) I would take my que on this from YOUR experences way before I went with a review site or a corp announcement. (SteveI is right about where it must come from.)

I'm very happy EPoX took the gold home. But I would no more buy a board on the bases a review than I would bet on a 3 legged horse in a horse race. I just like to see my friends receive the recognition I feel they deserve":O}

So far from the overclocks I've seen (I can run my 8K5a2+ at 214, 210 stable) I don't know weather it does or not. But is that all that important if 211 is being hit by some already?

I haven't seen Asus make statement one way or the other, anyone got a link to where they do?

My best guess, and it is a guess is that EPoX has implemented the PCI lock. But Sooner or later someone here, who I know and trust, will test this, then several others will confirm his findings, then I'll say "yes, it is implemented" when asked. Just so long as it's here and NOT in the EPoX topic.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 5th December, 2002 at 09:48 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2002, 02:01 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

First of all, I am now 99.9% sure that the 8RDA+ has PCI lock always.
There are no dividers at all on this board, the SPP seems to generate independant clocks for the AGP and FSB, and the MCP, that controlls the PCI, seems to keep the PCI locked at 33.33MHz all the time.
Just today I got my hands on a PCI card that shows the clock of the PCI slot and it showed 33MHz no matter if the FSB was 133MHz, 150MHz or 211MHz.
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2002, 02:11 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

For those who might be interested in doing this for themselves, can you tell us a bit about this PCI card Alexandrus?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2002, 05:14 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I suspect that Alexandrus is talking about the RD2 PC Geiger card. More info on the card is available over at http://www.ioss.com.tw/web/English/RD2PCGeiger.html

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2002, 07:42 PM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

I took 2 screenshots of wpcredit. 1 @ 166fsb, and 1 @200 fsb. 1 of the registers changed( E0 )was 96 @166 and was 86 @200 ( and also 185fsb ). I'm wondering if that is relaxed timings, or something to do with the infamous "LOCK" ( of course it may be neither) .
Any ideas here guys?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2002, 02:11 AM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

Áedán, I didn't use the PC Geiger(kinda expensive for me), a friend of mine that is an electronics engineer designed and built the card at his work place. It has a PCI interface(of course) and four digital LEDs on it just like the ones used for EPoX's P80P POST diagnosting used on most EPoX boards.
The card only shows the input frequency, that's all, and it work well too, I tested on my 4G4A+ and set the FSB to 150 and AGP/PCI to 75/37.5 respectively and the CPI card showed the correct frequency for the PCI.
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 06:21 PM
doctoromeo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 132

Quote:
Originally posted by emericana
YES there is a pci lock. How do i know? because i would not be able to boot into windows at over 195fsb without curruption after 3 hours and now i am at 200fsb and loving it. i have a WD hardrive and it is very sensative to fsb increasements and on my KT333 board the highest i could run safe was 190fsb.

another way of proving it is that on the a7n8x someone hooked up a pci geiger which phisically tests the frequency of the pci cards and at 190fsb it was locked at 33.33mhz.

also for me in sandra regardless of the fsb the harddrive benchmarks do not increase they stay almost exactly the same (the program is always accurate so they increase and decrease only a little). if the pci bus was not locked and was at 40pci at 200fsb rather than 33pci, my hardrive scores would be a lot higher than they are now.
I am viewing this forum @ 215fsbx8 on epox8k3a+ with wd60mb? am I just lucky?
__________________
gigabyte p35-ds4
q6600@400x9 3.6ghz
8800gtx@ 620-2000
2xhitachi 250gb -raid 0
win vista business
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 06:29 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I think you are, but just a bit lucky, also skillful, well done! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
locked out captaincurran Random Nonsense! 15 15th October, 2006 11:49 PM
locked cpu????? ajopz EPoX MotherBoards 12 15th March, 2005 12:12 PM
locked up? robbie ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 5 10th May, 2002 04:36 AM
fixed 33mhz, by extra pll (sort of like turbo pll) Brad General Hardware Discussion 9 1st January, 2002 12:46 PM
stuff dividers, lets fix the pci speed at 33mhz Brad EPoX MotherBoards 4 15th December, 2001 08:37 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0