AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2002, 02:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: MS
Posts: 22

Question t-bred question

I know that this is a very easily answered question, so I'm sorry for wasting your time but...

I'm pretty sure that a t-bred B can not be purchased under the speed of 2400+(please correct me if I am wrong). Since the new pimpy Epox MB that I have will unlock(if so desired) a t-bred A or B and I want to go the economical route and get a t-bred A, will there be any reason to get a 1800+ or 1900+ over a 1700+?
Thanks in advance.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2002, 04:31 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

I thought AMD is already selling T-Bred rev B from AMD 1800 ~ AMD 2700. New 1800 ~ 2200 that is rev b
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2002, 04:47 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Most Tbreds under 2400+ are A's. I haven't heard definitively of anyone getting a low end B.... but anything's possible.

In theory, the higher speed might overclock a bit more, but I doubt it. It comes down to a bit of luck. In terms of bang for the buck, the crown belongs to the Tbred A 1700+. If you're in the USA, newegg has them for $58. Every day, I fight with the demons to NOT order it. (For months now, I've been waiting to get a DVD burner... but haven't pulled the trigger... Instead I've been spending 50 here 60 there, for a bunch of stuff.)
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2002, 05:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 35

I have the new Nforce2 Epox board coming if I get a 1700 tbred will it unlock it??
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2002, 05:22 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by franlofter
I have the new Nforce2 Epox board coming if I get a 1700 tbred will it unlock it??
It will unlock 12.5 and under.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2002, 04:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: MS
Posts: 22

thx

Thanks for the information guys. I have read of people pushing a 1800+ to around 2.1~2.2 but not sure if I believe all of the hype. Is the 1700+ any different than the 1800+ other than the clock multiplier? Does amd test the chips before they decide what to set the clock at? Thanks again.

ed
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2002, 06:12 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Re: thx

Quote:
Originally posted by ebritt66
Thanks for the information guys. I have read of people pushing a 1800+ to around 2.1~2.2 but not sure if I believe all of the hype. Is the 1700+ any different than the 1800+ other than the clock multiplier? Does amd test the chips before they decide what to set the clock at? Thanks again.

ed
Most likely, there's nothing different between the 1800+ and the 1700+ except the default multiplier. I think if you want to get to the 2.1-2.2Ghz, you will need water cooling at the very least. Maybe even a Prommy.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 9th December, 2002, 06:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 37

All Athlon XP Thoroughbreds are now "B"s.

Quote:
As you may remember from our Athlon XP 2600 Review, there are two versions of AMD Athlon XP processors manufactured using 0.13 micron technology: revision A0 and B0. The latter can work at higher core-clock speeds as well as FSB frequencies, while the former is not so great in terms of speed. Originally AMD wanted all its microprocessors with 2000+ and higher performance ratings to be based on the B0 stepping, while the lower-speed CPUs would have gone from the market. But after all the company revised its strategy and decided that they still need to sell the CPUs below 2000+ mark. In order to improve manufacturability and increase the speed bin distribution, AMD decided to start manufacturing Athlon XP 1800+ and 1700+ CPUs using B0 stepping cores.

The first samples of the newcomers appeared yesterday and the production shipment date is currently set at 11th of December. Here is the table that will help you to distinguish between the Athlon XP 1700+ and 1800+ with older core and with newer one.




AMD Athlon XP 1700+, 1800+ Product Transition to Advanced B0 Core Stepping
Processor Brand Name Old Part Marking New Part Marking
Athlon XP 1700+ AMD AXDA1700DLT3C AMD AXDA1700DUT3C

Athlon XP 1800+ AMD AXDA1800DLT3C AMD AXDA1800DUT3C


AMD also issued the official list of changes:

1. CPU ID change from 680 to 681;
2. Die size increase from 80sq. mm to 84sq.mm;
3. Added new clock multipliers 23.0X and 24.0X;
4. Removed clock multiplier 22.5X;
5. Implemented speed path improvements;
6. Processor core voltage changed from 1.50V to 1.60V (seems to be an effort to improve the yield);
7. Added FSB_Sense pins to the processor package;
Even though the above date projections are based on the most current product development status information at the time this ACN was issued, they may change due to unforeseen circumstances. For the latest schedule and any other information, please contact your local AMD sales office or your local distributor. Please consult your motherboard vendor for latest BIOS version and to verify inclusion of new CPU ID.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/story.html?id=1039198840
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 05:18 AM
popcicle's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Miles From Civilization
Posts: 113

Well I'll be dipped.


Pops.
__________________
....it ain't over 'till the Fat Lady sings....

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 05:32 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by BTank
[B]All Athlon XP Thoroughbreds are now "B"s.
....
I have to disagree. There are at least primarily A's already in the channels... I am hopeful we will start seeing low end B's soon. But For the next month or so at the very least, there will be a lot of A's left.... Also, I haven't seen an indication that A's will no longer be produced, only that B's WILL.

My advice for the next few months at least is check carefully... there are no guarantees you will get a B.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8k7a+ + t-bred? Phr3aK EPoX MotherBoards 5 18th August, 2003 06:48 AM
What is the voltage for a T-Bred? Evc AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 1st August, 2003 05:13 PM
Simple Question - 8K5A2+ & 1700+ T-Bred B - Compatible? UnknownI EPoX MotherBoards 5 27th June, 2003 11:04 PM
ANYone with a t-bred drunken_master AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 23rd July, 2002 05:24 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0