AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th December, 2002, 01:31 AM
Jet Black's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 22

Question Anyone actually seen a 266FSB 2600+

My 2600+ arrived the other day; and like another person who has posted in the forum, it was a 333FSB chip. Unfortunately, my KT266A based MB won't support the 333Mhz FSB the above chip calls for.

Suffice it to say, I shipped it back, and have been talking with the reseller. He said his distributor mislabled a bunch of 2600+'s. This makes me wonder:

Has anyone actually SEEN a real 266Mhz FSB 2600+, or is it a pipe dream? Should I just get a 2400+ and be done with it?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 04:08 AM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

Ummmmm....you should have kept the chip. On a board that is set to 133 (266) the chip defaults to a higher multiplier to make up for the clock speeds, when set to 166 (333), it defaults the multiplier down. It's a tricky chip.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 05:06 PM
Jet Black's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 22

I'll keep that in mind

When I returned the old one they gave me my money back, and I sort of had a change of heart. The difference in $$ between the 2400+ and the 2600+ didn't seem worth it ATM.

Also, my chip is still doing well - I'll probably wait until the prices drop, and spend this money on some other neat things instead. It all worked out in the end
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xp 2600 dark6436 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 22nd October, 2004 05:17 AM
Please help me tweak a 2600 XP M O/C hafaphoto AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 8th October, 2004 01:16 AM
AMD 2600 Mobile CPU Maximus Desimus AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 13th September, 2004 07:34 PM
8KHA+, XP2600+ (266fsb), latest bios, & Disk corruption tlemaste EPoX MotherBoards 15 19th May, 2004 06:15 PM
Help XP 2600+ Matrix EPoX MotherBoards 2 5th July, 2003 08:41 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0