AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average.
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 03:01 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

Welcome to the internet.

Mercedes owners are not going to talk about their defected automobile in an online forum. They are going to take to their mechanics and the dealership.

Many mercedes owner did complained about C230's fuel injet system. Well, that is totally off topic and I am not interested to discuss it farther.

There are many 8RDA+ shipped out and it is not like on every box has a link to this forum. If today we have 100 8rda+ owners in this forum and 4 or 5 has reported that they fried their GF4 card, that is serious issue. More than 1 % of defected product shipped out will kill the manufacture. That is what happened to IOMEGA. Their 100mb Zip drive has the click of death syndrom and it is only 1% of Zip Drive out there. However, that 1% of zip drive kills all the zip disk that ever put into that drive. IOMEGA lost huge $$$ during that period. We have total of 2,600 members according to the front page of this forum.

Out of this 2600 members, who has a 8RDA+?

If today everyone in this forum has 8RDA+, the % of defected mobo will be 0.1% and I would say, Epox, great Job, you guys are extremely excellent. However, if today only 500 people in this forum has that board, then the defected rate raised to 1%. That is high and Epox maybe want to slow down and beef up their Quality Check.

If there is a problem today, let's point it out at the early stage. It will not hurt Epox but help Epox. Singing all praise to Epox does not do them any good. I am not trying to bash Epox board so is Caper. We just want to find out how many cases of this kind of incident has happened.
__________________

Last edited by EluSiOn; 10th December, 2002 at 03:10 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 03:33 AM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

Quote:
Welcome to the internet
You talk as though this is my first time on the net and that you assume I don't know what I am talking about or am attacking you. There is no need to become a smart@$$, that will get us no where. Like I said in my earlier post, no attacks here, just very good possibilities. I am only pointing out that there may not be a problem at all and that the problem may not be with the board as it seems many people are trying to assume. I won't say anymore, I made my point.

BTW.....
Quote:
Yeah I think i'm going with some other brand, maybe the Seagate Barracuda IV, what dya think?
Yikes, go with Maxtor or even WD, but the IBM's are know crappers and the Seagates aren't much better.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit

Last edited by SPQQKY; 10th December, 2002 at 04:06 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 04:12 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

now... 5th GF4 card fried has reported ....

GF4 Crippled List

Stanley Jobson
Soldier2000
Caper
ramire
eliteone

AMD CPU Fried List
stinger 2700+
__________________

Last edited by EluSiOn; 10th December, 2002 at 04:14 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 06:33 AM
Swifty2002's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 269

Let's not forget to also make this list:

GF4 running like a dream List

1000+

AMD CPU working like a dream List

1000+

What does that tell me... it's a far greater possiblity for those few failed components to have failed because of error from the user upon installation, excessive overclocking and overstressing in previous system, etc....
__________________
AMD64 Venice 3200+@2500 (250x10) || Epox 9NDA3J v2.1 || 1.5GB PC3200 RAM || Inwin Q800 case || Enermax 431w PSU || ATI Radeon X800 XL AIW || Acer 226BW 22" LCD monitor || NEC 2500A 8x DVD-R/RW || WD 120gb & 80gb 7200rpm 8mb cache || 26,462 3DMark 2001 || 12,619 3DMark 2003 || 6,016 3DMark 2005 || Folding@Home 24/7...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 06:38 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

see the first post
__________________

Last edited by EluSiOn; 14th December, 2002 at 07:50 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 08:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Somewhere in Europe
Posts: 66

I'm in the computer business for years and no it isn't an ESD prob in my case! I always use professionell equipment and I never smoked components before, not yet like this!!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 07:07 PM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

see the first post
__________________

Last edited by EluSiOn; 14th December, 2002 at 07:50 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 08:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 288

leadtek A250 Ultra TD here no problems so far...

But I havent upped any AGP voltages....
__________________
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion, it is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed,
the hands acquire shaking, the shaking becomes a warning, it is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 08:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Europe
Posts: 110

Just plugged in a GF2 400MX and that one worked...
Guess if I was nevouse at the time to power up :P
Anyway I still think there is something fishy with the GF4 burning up. I took every precoution when I installed it and I have never
had this problem with videocards before
Maby it is some thing with the BIOS in combination with RAM installed or what ever...
I have 2C03 now... before I had the old one when I installed the GF4 card.
__________________
Epox 9npa+ Ultra, San Diego 3700+ @ 2720MHz (1.40V) stock cooler.
Corsair value select 2x512Meg DDR400 @ 227Mhz (2.7V) 2.5-3-3-10 1T
XFX 7800GT (481/1150), 340W PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 10:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

Now seven fully working GF4 has died when mounting them in 8RDA+.
I don´t like this at all.
I hope EPoX take a look at this.
How many users in this forum uses 8RDA+, 10-15 or 20??
7 reported dead GF4.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 10:41 PM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

Yes.... and many of them have seen those first few fried GF4 posts and they are super cautious when they tried to put their GF4 into 8RDA+.

Corn, eliteone and kuzma are fully aware of this issue because they have read the posts on this forum about this issue. They took extra precaution and still their GF4 card got fried. I am using GF4 too with 8RDA+.... it makes me believe I am the lucky one.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 10:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

Yeah, during the years I built computers I have never ever smoked a gfx.
I think it´s time for EPoX to investigate this.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 11:02 PM
RandyB's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Sedro Woolley Wa
Posts: 344

Well I can Say I have done everything possible to kill my Asus GF 4 Ti4200 in my 8RDA+ and it's still going strong. I cranked up the voltage in BIOS and cranked up the core and mem in the tweak utility untill the screen went all fuzzy and I had to boot up in safe mode to undo the vid oc can't push er any more than that and it still works so I can safely say that my 8RDA+ doesn' kill cards but I have been known to :-D
__________________
Xp2400+@ 215 X 11 P95 stable Epox 8RDA+, 512 (2x256) megs Corsair XMS 3200 mem sync DC, ASUS Geforce 4 Ti 4200 300 core 575 mem. Maxtor Diamond max plus ATA133, Innovatek H2O system,
Modded generic case.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 11:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

Who knows why this has happend 7 users?
Specific mobo batch, combination of hard ware,first Bios release or even pure clumsyness by the users.
No matter what, I would like to see some action from EPoX.
__________________

Last edited by Caper; 12th December, 2002 at 11:49 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 11:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Somewhere in Europe
Posts: 66

I'll have nightmares tonight, tomorrow will be the day!

TNT announced the supply of the replacement card from Leadtek to 10 a.m ...

What is if this new card will be smoked too? I'll surely run amok ... So guys, if you see in the news something of a massacre at Elito-Epox (my Epox support), maybe it's my turn!

It goes like it will go ...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 11:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

It would be interesting if you flashed back to the Bios that came with the board, if you dare ?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 11:34 PM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

Randy,

Those 7 users reported when they first put their GF4 card and it got fried. They don't have video signal at the moment they put it in. Before they put their GF4 card in, it works. After they put it in, it was fried. Did they take precaution when they assemble their hardware? Yes they did. Of course there are other one million reason/factor to fried their GF4 card. We only think it is an issue that Epox might want to take a look but not accusing them are at fault. If today my GF4 card or my 2400+ got fried, I will be pissed too.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 11:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Somewhere in Europe
Posts: 66

@Caper:

First release BIOS? No way! ;D
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 11:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

A friend of mine will build a rig tomorrow based on 8RDA+/GF4.
I informed him about this thread.
It seems he will NOT flash the Bios before putting in the gfx.
I wish for his and EPoX sake it goes without hassels.
The last thing I want is my Nr.1 mobo manufacturer have a "killer " board...he..that sounded pretty stupid but ya get my point
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 08:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Somewhere in Europe
Posts: 66

Still waitin' ...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some problems with 8RDA+ Rev. 2.1 adslegend EPoX MotherBoards 2 7th October, 2003 11:04 AM
8RDA+ Problems Problems Pogue EPoX MotherBoards 3 8th February, 2003 01:26 AM
problems with 8RDA pcworks EPoX MotherBoards 0 2nd February, 2003 04:26 PM
Some 8RDA+ problems nanopit EPoX MotherBoards 9 13th January, 2003 04:23 AM
8rda+ usb problems Madcoto EPoX MotherBoards 0 30th December, 2002 06:26 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0