AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average.
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 12:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

8RDA+ GF4 problems??

As some of you might have seen I smoked my GF4 when installing it in my brand new 8RDA+.
Now, that can happend.
I have built rigs for several years now and this is the first time it happend to me.

Soldier2000 reported the same thing a couple of day´s ago, smoked GF4.
ramirez reported the same thing later, smoked GF4.
Stanley Jobson smoked his GF4.


This can of course be a coincidence but it made me wounder.

Today when browsing a Swedish hardware forum, (sweclockers) I saw a thread that catched my eyes.
One guy had problems to boot up with his 8RDA+ anf GF4, installed a PCI gfx and it booted up.
I asked him to try the GF4 in another board.
Lets see if his card are still alive, I really really hope so.

I hope that my feeling about this is wrong...but 8RDA+ seems to have a problem with some GF4´s.
I will not go so far that I say they kill GF4 gfx but something seems to be wrong.

EPoX, please take a look at this.

Edit: Due to more reported dead GF4.

The list of smoked on 8RDA+is now:
Stanley Jobson
Soldier2000
Caper
ramirez
eliteone
Corn
kuzma
Marvin
rocky500 reported 2 smoked GF4 on 8RDA+ (that had to hurt)
xgman
bradmax57(built 2 rigs based on 8RDA+/GF4. One rig fine, the other...GF4 smoked)
coolman888
RacerX1
youthemandan reported 2 smoked GF4 on 8RDA+(ousch..)


Count: 16
Note: This list is only based on AOA users.
It would be interesting to know how many users at AOA have 8RDA+.
All those who had problems, please report it to your EPoX support!
__________________

Last edited by Caper; 19th December, 2002 at 02:58 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 12:14 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Given the popularity of the GF4's and the prior testing of this board with the GF4's it seems highly unlikely this is more than coincidence. If it were more then we would be seeing hundreds if not thousands of complaints, not 3 or 4.IMHO
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 12:19 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

well... someone fried his XP 2700+ too...

It is good to keep track these number... how many successful vs failure reports.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 12:28 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Given that the level of competence varies so much I feel it will tell us little. If it was killing CPU it would be doing so in the hundreds and thousands not in isolated and lets face it UNKNOWN circumstances.

WE are for the most part armatures and hobbyists, sprinkled lightly with true professionals. That's not a put down, it just means that few of us follow any sort of exact procedures in building boxes or that those procedures are correct enough to determine cause in every case.

I think it safe to say this board is not killing CPus or GF4's, some have died, the VAST majority have not. IMHO
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 12:32 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

I know it didn't kill my cpu and my video card... infact, my 8RDA+ was running a SiS AGP card at first... then I installed my GF4 Ti4200. So when I heard this 8RDA+ frying GF4 stories which makes me thinks, huh? No way....

so far only 3 fried... and many didn't
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 12:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

A friend of mine that tough me about computers in -91 will be building a new rig based on 8RDA+/GF4.
I recommended him to boot up with a PCI gfx, flash to newer Bios before he throw in his GF4.
Just to be extra careful.

It would be interesting to NOT do that though
I guess time will tell on this one, 8RDA+ came to Sweden just a couple of day´s ago.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 12:43 AM
justshawnf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 29
Send a message via Yahoo to justshawnf

I didn't have any problems with my GF4 4200 when I installed my 8rda+.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 12:47 AM
tweaky's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 165

Well this board must be the ultimate killing machine, no literally :nervous:

Maybe a coincidence I don't know but my IBM hard disk developed bad sectors and is now making strange sounds that can only mean one thing and one thing only, the hard disk is dying:nervous:
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 12:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

You can´t hold that against EPoX.
Stopped using IBM drives since I built 10-15 rigs with GXP75.
75% of them came back to me within 6 months with broken drives.

Many of the received exchange drives died shortly after that again.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 12:58 AM
tweaky's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 165

Yeah I think i'm going with some other brand, maybe the Seagate Barracuda IV, what dya think?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 01:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

I am currently using Maxtor D740X wich works ok.
Since I started using them I only had one broken.

Fast drives are great but It is good to know they don´t crap out on you...that is why I currently use D740X.

About WD´s and Seagates newest drives I can´t tell, check out the forums if they have many RMA´s.

Good luck!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 01:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Somewhere in Europe
Posts: 66

I had the same experience! Leadtek A250TD with first release BIOS - the Leadtek is on RMA now! I stay focused!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 01:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

Now that was interesting.
Keep focused!

And please, keep the thread clean from speculations.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 01:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 1

Well I don't think I've smoked my GeForce4..yet. I'm running an Albatron GF4ti4600 and I've been having problems with misc. crashes in games. I can't even run 3dmark2001se...it crashes out in the first clip of the benchmark. I'm not sure where to go from here.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 01:41 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

Crimsonx,

I have similiar problem, I couldnt run Sandra Multimedia Benchmark but I can run 3dmark 2001

Problem #4: Asus GF Ti 4200 AGP 8x only score 7200 pts for 3dmarks 2001.

Solution #4: Although it didn't show in the Window Device manager, I do have a conflict. My GF4 card, onboard IDE1 controller and also my SBLive 5.1 card all were using IRQ 10. I disabled onboard IDE1 controller since I am using the ATA 100 card and also I switch to onboard sound and I have to say bye bye to my LIVE Drive for the time being. Make sure you dun use PCI slot 1 or PCI slot 2.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 01:52 AM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

Funny how when a new board comes out and there are people feverishly swapping out their gear, something goes wrong and they blame the board. Always use extreme caution when handling your hardware. This reminds me of when the EP-8KHA+ came out and there were people going nuts blaming the board for problems and everyone said it was a garbage product, when I handled probably a half a dozen of them and never had one iota of an incident. When Billy Bobs Burger Hut serves a burger with a roach in it, nobody knows about it, but if it happens to McDonalds, the whole world knows. That's because there are "billions served" and unfortunately, not all the customers have their wits about them. I am not attacking anyone here, but I think you understand my point, if you sell a lot of product, there are bound to be those who have problems, whether it is the end user or the products creator, you will hear more complaints.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 02:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

Now I wrote earlier, please keep the thread clean from speculations.
I am not blaming EPoX here but I have never ever smoked a gfx by putting it in another motherboard.
And I have built lots of rigs last years not to mention how many time I rebuilt my own.
I do know about ESD also.
This happend other users as well.
It might be something for EPoX to know about.

End of speculations from me.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 02:10 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

now... 4th GF4 card has been reported fried....

see the first post for the lsit
__________________

Last edited by EluSiOn; 14th December, 2002 at 07:51 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 02:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 86
Send a message via AIM to dr5op3rdud3

...another one bits the dust...
__________________
1700+@1900mhz SK-7 with YS TECH 512mb Corsair 4-2-2-2 ATI 9500pro WD SE 80gig Lite-On 52x24x52 Lite-On 48x12x48
Logitech MX700 Logitech Elite Logitech z640 Samsung 955DF and 4 fans that aren't quite enough

RIP SF2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 02:31 AM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

Okay, so 4 or 5 gfx card reported dead after handling hardware, who knows how they were handled? Let's see, 4 or 5 out of probably thousands of boards that have been sold in the last few weeks.....I rest my case.
Also, I made no speculation, only a quite reasonable possibility. Like I said, when you have a whole lotta product being distributed, there are going to be issues and some of the problem could be with the end user and some with the manfacturer. We all know that Mercedes may make a great automobile, but I have never heard of them always being perfect off the line, nor is it never possible to crash one into a wall.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit

Last edited by SPQQKY; 10th December, 2002 at 02:35 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some problems with 8RDA+ Rev. 2.1 adslegend EPoX MotherBoards 2 7th October, 2003 11:04 AM
8RDA+ Problems Problems Pogue EPoX MotherBoards 3 8th February, 2003 01:26 AM
problems with 8RDA pcworks EPoX MotherBoards 0 2nd February, 2003 04:26 PM
Some 8RDA+ problems nanopit EPoX MotherBoards 9 13th January, 2003 04:23 AM
8rda+ usb problems Madcoto EPoX MotherBoards 0 30th December, 2002 06:26 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0