AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 04:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 229

Welp, the 8RDA+ killed my gf4...thanx epox

Well guys my 7F error was caused by the board killing my gainward gf4 ti4600. I tried the card in my moms pc and it works. I tried her gf2 in my 8RDA+ and it works fine. I am also getting the C1 error with one of my pc3500 sticks. Epox has rushed this board and should have tested it alot more than they did. This is definately the last epox board that I buy...i will be going asus or abit from now on.
__________________
Athlon XP 2700@2.4GHz (209FSB)
Antec True480W
Epox 8RDA+
512MB Corsair PC3500 (2 sticks)
Radeon 9700 Pro
120GB WD SE & 80GB Maxtor
SB Audigy Plat Ex(modded to audigy 2)
Linksys 10/100
Pioneer DVD Slot Loader
Plextor 24x
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 04:09 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

Re: Welp, the 8RDA+ killed my gf4...thanx epox

Quote:
Originally posted by eliteone
Well guys my 7F error was caused by the board killing my gainward gf4 ti4600. I tried the card in my moms pc and it works. I tried her gf2 in my 8RDA+ and it works fine....
You mean your gainward gf4 card works in your mom's PC?

I am confused of what you have said in the post vs the title of your post
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 04:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 229

Nope, gainward card doesnt work in hers...the 8RDA+ fried it.
__________________
Athlon XP 2700@2.4GHz (209FSB)
Antec True480W
Epox 8RDA+
512MB Corsair PC3500 (2 sticks)
Radeon 9700 Pro
120GB WD SE & 80GB Maxtor
SB Audigy Plat Ex(modded to audigy 2)
Linksys 10/100
Pioneer DVD Slot Loader
Plextor 24x
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 04:20 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

eliteone,

Was you aware that 8rda+ might fried GF4 because there are couple threads talks about it?
And how did you put that GF4 card in?
Did you properly grounded with a grounding wrist strap?

http://www.mtechnologies.com/tools/strap.jpg
__________________

Last edited by EluSiOn; 10th December, 2002 at 04:22 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 04:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 229

Yep, built it just like i rebuilt the computer tons of times before. This mobo is hell and I advise people who are thinking about getting it to look elsewhere.
__________________
Athlon XP 2700@2.4GHz (209FSB)
Antec True480W
Epox 8RDA+
512MB Corsair PC3500 (2 sticks)
Radeon 9700 Pro
120GB WD SE & 80GB Maxtor
SB Audigy Plat Ex(modded to audigy 2)
Linksys 10/100
Pioneer DVD Slot Loader
Plextor 24x
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 05:04 AM
Nitza666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 121

Very intelligent response the board is hell and it killed mine gfx card.There are a lot of reasons that your gfx card may died.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 05:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 101

what is your evidence that it is the board that killed the card? is that really the only possible explanation? seems to me there are several explanations not just the that the board has some mysterious problem that kills gf4 cards. i have had hardware fail before and i never even dreamed of blaming the motherboard. especially in the wintertime when static is at its worst.

Daniel must not have seen this thread yet since it still exists. =)

i believe your post violates several rules inherent to this forum
__________________
2100xp 200x11.5 aiuhb 0204
swiftech mc462a rev1
epox 8rda+
512mb corsair xms3200 cl2 (2 256 sticks) 5-2-2-2
40gb 7200rpm wd 8mb cache
9700 pro 3.1 based omegas
56x cdrom
24x10x40 cdrw
winxp pro
19" trinitron
600w ps
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 05:17 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

Nitza666,

1) Was your video card working before on another mobo?
2) Do you have a 8RDA+?
3) Was your video card fried after you put into 8RDA+?
4) What video card do you have?
5) Yu properly grounded with a grounding wrist strap?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 05:26 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Sorry to hear your pain. bmexline has a point though, in the realm of electronics, there is just no way to explain it. There's no way to program a mobo to kill certain video cards. Well...perhaps there is, but believing a mobo manufacturer would do that is like believing the government is hiding the cure for cancer...The single most logical explanation is what he offers at the end. It is winter...when static is at it's worse...and we all make mistakes.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 05:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 125

I know, I know the secret answer :Epox made this board with an Nvidia chipset so it would kill Nvidia cards and run Ati cards exclusively!!!!!! LOL Yeh Right!!!! I was using another manufacturers board building a new system a few years ago, I put my almost new Voodoo5 5500 in it and was rewarded on first boot by something like shorting out to greet me! Needless to say my V5 died a horrible death was it the mobo? I still don't know what it was but taking no chances I bought a new video card then rma'd the mobo,ram,proscessor and psu and got all new stuff I didn't take any chances with it the second time! So could your board be bad maybe but why didn't the second video card you put in it die also?????? Sounds like something let go in your GF4 to me!!
__________________
Epox AD580XR
Athlon FX 62
2X=Patriot PC6400 2048LLK
Saphire X3870
X-Fi Music Extreme
ATI 650 TV Wonder
Western Digital 74 Raid 0
Western Digital 74
Plextor 716A DVD-RW
Plextor PX116A DVD
Antec P160w/side window 1 120mm Blue Led Fans.
Antec NEO HE 550w PSU
GateWay FP2485W
Vista Ultimate

Last edited by Frank_G; 10th December, 2002 at 05:44 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 05:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 229

Yes, the card worked before it was put into this board. Instead of RMA'ing the card and keeping it in this board....im getting rid of the board as well. Now it seems all nforce2 boards are having their share of problems but I havent heard of any other board killin gf4 cards. I know the board killed my card and I will not buy another epox mobo because of this.

Oh and yes Nitza666 the board is hell from personal experience and from reading MANY other posts as well. All my hardware worked fine and now with another videocard I cant install windows without a lockup. I put the things back in my 8k3a+ and what do you know...it works (cept for the videocard of course). So yes in my experience this is the most POS board I have ever used.
__________________
Athlon XP 2700@2.4GHz (209FSB)
Antec True480W
Epox 8RDA+
512MB Corsair PC3500 (2 sticks)
Radeon 9700 Pro
120GB WD SE & 80GB Maxtor
SB Audigy Plat Ex(modded to audigy 2)
Linksys 10/100
Pioneer DVD Slot Loader
Plextor 24x

Last edited by eliteone; 10th December, 2002 at 05:43 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 05:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 125

Don't you overclock????? Do you not think overclocking stresses your components ? Did you not have that board running in another O/C computer where you didn't have the luxury you have now and be able to lock the AGP bus so it doesn't stress the crap out of your AGP card that is in good shape (not ever o/c'ed)?
__________________
Epox AD580XR
Athlon FX 62
2X=Patriot PC6400 2048LLK
Saphire X3870
X-Fi Music Extreme
ATI 650 TV Wonder
Western Digital 74 Raid 0
Western Digital 74
Plextor 716A DVD-RW
Plextor PX116A DVD
Antec P160w/side window 1 120mm Blue Led Fans.
Antec NEO HE 550w PSU
GateWay FP2485W
Vista Ultimate
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 05:50 AM
Toasted Comp's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 75

It didn't kill my PNY G4 4400


The only real problems that I have had sofar with this board are,

1.) My Corsair PC3500 dosn't work with this board
2.)The mounting holes are a little off center but it really dosn't mess with my waterblock(Swiftech MCW462-UH)
http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/l.../mcw462uh2.jpg
3.)The northbridge gets pretty hot when pushing 190+FSB, but replacing the chipset cooler with a Thermaltake CRYSTAL ORB and some Artic Silver3 fixes that http://images2.newegg.com/productima...116-003-06.JPG
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 05:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 125

Great photos man!!
__________________
Epox AD580XR
Athlon FX 62
2X=Patriot PC6400 2048LLK
Saphire X3870
X-Fi Music Extreme
ATI 650 TV Wonder
Western Digital 74 Raid 0
Western Digital 74
Plextor 716A DVD-RW
Plextor PX116A DVD
Antec P160w/side window 1 120mm Blue Led Fans.
Antec NEO HE 550w PSU
GateWay FP2485W
Vista Ultimate
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 05:57 AM
Toasted Comp's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 75

Thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 06:27 AM
Swifty2002's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 269

Yeah my PNY Geforce4 ti4400 is still non-burned...
__________________
AMD64 Venice 3200+@2500 (250x10) || Epox 9NDA3J v2.1 || 1.5GB PC3200 RAM || Inwin Q800 case || Enermax 431w PSU || ATI Radeon X800 XL AIW || Acer 226BW 22" LCD monitor || NEC 2500A 8x DVD-R/RW || WD 120gb & 80gb 7200rpm 8mb cache || 26,462 3DMark 2001 || 12,619 3DMark 2003 || 6,016 3DMark 2005 || Folding@Home 24/7...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 06:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 35

Toasted Comp your 3500 does not work with the board ? I ordered some 3200 to put in this board seems like that is a big problem considering the Ram cost more $ than the mobo.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 06:50 AM
Toasted Comp's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 75

Quote:
Originally posted by franlofter
Toasted Comp your 3500 does not work with the board ? I ordered some 3200 to put in this board seems like that is a big problem considering the Ram cost more $ than the mobo.
Ya the PC3500 didn't work ....I had to take it back and exchanged it for PC3200(which works) so I don't think you will have any problems.

What ever you do don't buy from Fry's, they give you a big hassle when you try to exchange stuff
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 06:50 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

toasted comp... coolbywater also has the same problem like you about the mounting holes
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 06:53 AM
Toasted Comp's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 75

Quote:
Originally posted by EluSiOn
toasted comp... coolbywater also has the same problem like you about the mounting holes
They all come with the off center Mounting holes don't they???
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to get killed in Alabama. WonderBread Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 23 24th February, 2007 07:34 PM
What have I just killed?! Lazgoat CRASHED! 10 8th November, 2005 12:02 AM
Double Killed! SiGmA_X CRASHED! 6 23rd June, 2003 09:51 PM
My Epox 8RDA+ killed 2 video cards.. KILLER EPoX MotherBoards 2 9th January, 2003 09:20 PM
I think my 8rda+ killed my R9000 water_cooler20 EPoX MotherBoards 0 5th January, 2003 05:41 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0