AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 10:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 229

204 FSB corrupted my windows profile =\

Well this gives reason to believe no PCI lock on this board. You guys experience this too?
__________________
Athlon XP 2700@2.4GHz (209FSB)
Antec True480W
Epox 8RDA+
512MB Corsair PC3500 (2 sticks)
Radeon 9700 Pro
120GB WD SE & 80GB Maxtor
SB Audigy Plat Ex(modded to audigy 2)
Linksys 10/100
Pioneer DVD Slot Loader
Plextor 24x
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 10:11 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

Lets not discuss about pci lock... it is not allow to discuss it here... dun let the administrator or ETs angry at us again.

What did you set your AGP frequency at? try to lock it at 66mhz.

Some people say it is the trigger to enable pci lock.... and Emericana in another forum said he saw proofs that 8RDA+ does have pci lock. you have a corrupted profile... it might not be HD related but RAM data was corrupted.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 10:46 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Norton Ghost is included on your CD, did you use it ?

Good point on the memory Elusion, nice to see not everybody on here is jumping to conclusions.

I will ask this to be moved to AMD topic if you all start being silly again.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 11:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

Norton Ghost is a wounderful program.

By the way, I am able running 238 fsb without getting data corruption.
Make your own conclusion by that
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 01:27 PM
JKK JKK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 13

what T(ras) setting do you use? I read somewhere that it doesn´t affect too much on performance but can corrupt data on hard drive if you set it too low. I´ve been running 200 fsb with memory on sync 2-2-2-7 for days and haven´t had any problem. 7 is obviously T(ras)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 02:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

T(ras) can corrupt harddrive if you set it too low.
It also have very small impact on memory bandwith, as far as I have tested.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 02:13 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
Originally posted by Caper
T(ras) can corrupt harddrive if you set it too low.
It also have very small impact on memory bandwith, as far as I have tested.
Thats how I messed my HDD up setting it to 1t :P
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 02:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

It´s a good thing EPoX ships Norton Ghost with their motherboards
Heavy OC can easily corrupt the data.

I always make sure I have a fresh Ghost image before I start serious overclocking.
That spared me many hours of reinstalling the OS.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 02:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 39

Quote:
204 FSB corrupted my windows profile =\
be glad it was just your windows profile......I once corrupted my entire windows install by adding a second DIMM to the Abit NV7-133 without relaxing the memory timings.......I couldn't even do repair install, had to do a completely fresh installation.......memory is a more likely culprit than lack of a PCI lock.......
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 02:47 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Please read the forum rules. eliteone you are now ban from our EPoX Topic.

Welp, the 8RDA+ killed my gf4...thanx epox

ET, why is the 8RDA+ killing gf4s?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 10th December, 2002 at 02:50 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 05:51 PM
deathstar13's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 142

well if u are banned u wont see this but others may benifit.
i recently started using w2kpro and have gotten several bsod's and corrupt file errors.i just reboot back it down a bit and it self heals.i have yet to reinstall due to hdd corruption with w2kpro.

btw win98se ive reinstalled 4 or more times in just one day.
ive also added new hdds in raid so might be helping also.but id guessed raid would corrupt easier.but is rock solid.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 06:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 229

I really dont see what rule I broke. I now see why so many people from other boards give a bad rap about this site. I thank everyone who helped me with the few problems I had especially EluSiOn for replying to almost all of my threads and helpin me out . Saying "this gives reason to believe no PCI lock" is an opinion...I did not say "the pci is not locked" in any way. Maybe it is maybe it isnt but im just saying from what I know in the past that the HD gets messed at high fsbs and shows symptoms like this. Banning someone for saying "this gives reason to believe pci is not locked" is extremely childish.
__________________
Athlon XP 2700@2.4GHz (209FSB)
Antec True480W
Epox 8RDA+
512MB Corsair PC3500 (2 sticks)
Radeon 9700 Pro
120GB WD SE & 80GB Maxtor
SB Audigy Plat Ex(modded to audigy 2)
Linksys 10/100
Pioneer DVD Slot Loader
Plextor 24x

Last edited by eliteone; 10th December, 2002 at 07:15 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 10:05 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally posted by EluSiOn
Lets not discuss about pci lock... it is not allow to discuss it here... dun let the administrator or ETs angry at us again.

What did you set your AGP frequency at? try to lock it at 66mhz.

Some people say it is the trigger to enable pci lock.... and Emericana in another forum said he saw proofs that 8RDA+ does have pci lock. you have a corrupted profile... it might not be HD related but RAM data was corrupted.
Please re-read you post and tell it it make any sense to say that this discussion is not allowed, then go ahead and discuss it.!

You have your warning, please make good use of it!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 10:09 PM
Robin B's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Norway
Posts: 115

Well for what its worth,i think your to hard Daniel you have to take it easy sometimes.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 10:54 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Stick around for more than 7 days, say a month, then post and tell me what you think. I'm not hard, I'm easy, but our rules are hard and fast and I must enforce them.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 11:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 229

I understand a forum should have its rules and guidelines, but I think this forum really takes things too far. Don't get me wrong this is a decent forum with plenty of helpful people but banning for such petty things isnt too cool. Yes I acted out in a way I shouldnt have when my GF4 broke...but the pci thing is just rediculous. Maybe if I said somethin like "EPOX IS CRAP THEY DIDNT PUT A PCI LOCK ON 8RDA+" or something along the lines of that then its something to get mad about...but definately not the comment that I made about it.
__________________
Athlon XP 2700@2.4GHz (209FSB)
Antec True480W
Epox 8RDA+
512MB Corsair PC3500 (2 sticks)
Radeon 9700 Pro
120GB WD SE & 80GB Maxtor
SB Audigy Plat Ex(modded to audigy 2)
Linksys 10/100
Pioneer DVD Slot Loader
Plextor 24x
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2002, 11:15 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I'm not going to answer you in every post you cry about this. You were in numerous threads in which the probation was made clear...to everyone but you. You were in threads that were moved for this reason. If you don't like it here leave; otherwise learn to follow the rules every one else does without complaint.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2002, 03:59 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

wow.. i just noticed something.. eliteone has been taking up almost half of the threads in front forum page!!!. hmm.... looks like a Spamming to me.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2002, 04:11 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

As far as I can tell;
He thinks rules are good but enforcing them is not, enforcing them is taking things to far...sigh...
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2002, 04:21 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally posted by Daniel ~
As far as I can tell;
He thinks rules are good but enforcing them is not, enforcing them is taking things to far...sigh...
indeed!..
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corrupted 84da3+ BIOS .. Cacker EPoX MotherBoards 4 22nd September, 2004 02:03 PM
SndStorm may be corrupted!!! RadioWonder EPoX MotherBoards 8 19th November, 2003 11:56 AM
Corrupted bios? AlternateVirus EPoX MotherBoards 5 16th February, 2003 12:16 AM
Corrupted CMOS RobertC EPoX MotherBoards 0 30th January, 2003 08:49 AM
Your FBI Profile Orbit Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 7 29th July, 2002 05:18 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0