AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 08:46 PM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

8RDA+ PCI lock and divider answer at last !!

This is according to www.overclockers.com

Epox 8RDA+ I have a couple copies of emails sent to me from Epox technical support saying that the board 1) doesn't have a PCI lock and 2) has a maximum PCI divisor of /5. So that's the big secret.

__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 08:55 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Doubt it... See Anyone else read this?? / 8RDA+ only has 1/5 Divider!!! Bummer... for much more information.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 11:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 81
Send a message via AIM to Stang_Man

hmmm.... according to the tech at amdforums.com, it's confirmed a PCI Lock... link
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 11:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 288

they only tested to 166mhz.....

still need a 200mhz + test..
__________________
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion, it is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed,
the hands acquire shaking, the shaking becomes a warning, it is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 11:22 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

When a MB company States publicly and emphatically one way or another...Then it should be tested and the results of that test verified by other testers, then if not disputed I will believe, either way.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 11:28 PM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

This is his Profile info on the other forum

It looks a bit fishy... only unless that forum will grant a member's Status to be EPoX USA Representative easily. This creates more confusion

__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 11:45 PM
Anomaly's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lost Angeles
Posts: 64

Here's quoting the Epox Tech USA person in that thread over there...........
"The PCI is locked at 33MHz. I tested using an oscilloscope to measure the bus at CPU clocks 100, 133, 140, 150, and 166Mhz. The scope measured 33MHz at each setting.

Used 12/10/2002 BIOS.
"

That doesn't prove a PCI lock above 166Mhz, and more importantly at 200Mhz.

I remember him introducing himself back in the spring. I'm sure he/she is the Epox Tech USA person. That one is nowhere near as active as the Epox Tech here. This forum's got it made, relatively speaking.
__________________
8KHA+, XP1800, SK6 on top,
Leadtek Geforce 4 4200 128mb,
1x256mb Kingmax PC2700 & 1x256mb Corsair xms2400,
Win 98se/2k dual boot,
Antec SX840 with 400 watt PSU
Sony 16x DVD, Maxtor 40gb ultra 133 HD
----------------------------------
Iwill KK266
900 Tbird @ 143x7, Thermoengine on top,
Geforce 2 GTS
2x128mb Mushkin rev 2
Win 98se
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 11:47 PM
popcicle's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Miles From Civilization
Posts: 113

The nForce2 uses Hypertransport system

so a devider isn't needed.


Pops.
__________________
....it ain't over 'till the Fat Lady sings....

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2002, 11:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 64

I couldn't bot over 192 mhz with my previous Epox kt400... now 8RDA+ allows me to boot over 210 mhz... my problems were pci related and now they disappeared (scsi controller now works, video capture card works flawlessly over 190 mhz...) what's the ONLY possibile explanation?
P C I I S L O C K E D
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 12:04 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

Lone^Star,

The way you used to prove is by logic. However, logic can be wrong. People are asking for evidences.

Like Newton's 2nd Law, Force = Mass x Acceleration. For centuries it is true and everyone believe it is true. Until Einstein came and proved it is false. E = MC^2

Official statement for Epox will be nice. Picture of a PCI Gieger measuring will be nice too.

We have too many contradict infos here. Lots rumors and speculations.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 12:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 288

I am gonna whack a gieger counter pci checker on it soon... will let you know about 100+ mhz fsb
__________________
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion, it is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed,
the hands acquire shaking, the shaking becomes a warning, it is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 12:06 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

only 100+mhz? LoL... I guess you meant 200+ sorry to pick on ya....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 12:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

I am able to run 236 fsb perfectly stable without data corruption.
Massive file transfers, no problems.
Writing to a floppy and read, no problem.
Reading from a floppy to harddrive and read, no problem.
Sandra diskbench, no problem.

Draw your own conclusions by that.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 12:21 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

236 mhz FSB syn or Async?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 12:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

Async.
That puzzles me though.
When running async the board handles way over 230 fsb and the mem ~230 depending on timings.
No matter howw I do, I can´t go past 210 sync, go figure...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 12:56 AM
EluSiOn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 549

236mhz is only to memory frequency.

But PCI bus Frequency is base on System bus.

If 8RDA+ has /6 divisior, at 210 mhz sync, PCI frequency is 35 mhz. If 8RDA+ only has /5 divisior, then PCI frequency is 42 mhz.
The killing rate of PCI frequency is 42.5 mhz. Any above gets crazy for any PCI components.

I can't get over 203mhz sync. My onboard sound card will crap out. I am not sure it is a memory related issue or anything else.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 02:21 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Please read our Announcement at the top of the EPoX page.

I've moved this thread to our "AMD Motherboards and CPUs" Topic where this CAN be discussed.

To post again on those issues mentioned in our announcement will result in your being ban from the EPoX topic. Please enjoy our forums and show your appreciation by respecting our Rules.

Thank you!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 02:24 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Áedán , how in the hell did we both miss which topic this was posted in!!?? ":O}
As to the rest of you guys...(Most of you) You've been here long enough to take up some of the responsibility for running our forums. Please notify me of posts which violate our forum rules. The longer a post remains in the wrong topic, the more it misleads new people as to what is permissible.

This is me saying I hope you think of AOA as home, please help cut the grass.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 13th December, 2002 at 02:29 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 02:31 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Guys,

I just learned it myself after refreshing myself with it all over again, by the nForce2 does NOT have a PCI bus. Traditionally, the PCI bus was the communication channel between the southbridge and the northbridge. In the nForce2, that has been replaced by hypertransport. Minimum speed for hypertransport is 200Mhz, so that cannot be the source of our problems. What we need to figure out, if it can be done at all, is what speed the MCP-T runs at. We may as well at least pretend to know what we're talking about...
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......

Last edited by mookydooky; 13th December, 2002 at 02:33 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 10:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 64

Quote:
Originally posted by EluSiOn
Lone^Star,

The way you used to prove is by logic. However, logic can be wrong. People are asking for evidences.

A scsi controller with 3 optical units and a pinnacle card for digital acquiring.
I had the same hw in all the last 3 epox products : 8k5a2, 8k9a2+ and now 8rda+.
Coincidence, able to hit a gorgeous 207 mhz only with the nforce2 chipset, without any glitch, while with via kt333 and kt400 things went bad just @ 192 mhz.

I switched *3* mobos in one month to find the best solution, so I find funny that someone doesn't believe that epox solution don't support a feature of nforce2 chipset.
It's like saying that Leadtek produces Geforce4 without antialiasing... it's something in hardware, not a plus or an addon
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unsure that 8RDA+ has PCI lock? bradmax57 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 13th February, 2003 09:32 PM
No PCI lock on 8RDA+ ivanmoe AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 12th December, 2002 11:13 PM
Dont understand why ET cant answer PCI lock q. I doubt they are under nda emericana AMD Motherboards & CPUs 13 8th December, 2002 06:46 PM
Dont understand why ET cant answer PCI lock q. I doubt they are under nda emericana EPoX MotherBoards 11 8th December, 2002 05:31 PM
Have reason to believe no PCI Lock on 8RDA+ nikhsub1 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 37 7th December, 2002 02:04 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0