AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 01:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 10

1800 Palomino or 1700 Tbred?

I may have the opportunity to trade my 1800 Palomino for a 1700 Tbred. Would this be a good trade?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 01:44 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Yes.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 02:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 10

Just yes? Is it inherently more powerful at stock speeds than the 1800? It would be a favor to a friend, but I don't wanna get screwed either...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 06:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 16

Quote:
Originally posted by BroncoBob
Just yes? Is it inherently more powerful at stock speeds than the 1800? It would be a favor to a friend, but I don't wanna get screwed either...
Obviously it will be less powerfull 1700+ < 1800+ but the good thing will be that it will heat less since it works at 1.5 V overclocking results put it max at 1900MHz or thereabouts (some people reported 2200+ ratings which i thonk is about 2GHz).
__________________
Never Argue With An Idiot. They┬┤ll Lower You To Their Level And Then Beat You With Experience.
Never Underestimate The Probability Of Stupidity.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 04:00 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by BroncoBob
Just yes? Is it inherently more powerful at stock speeds than the 1800? It would be a favor to a friend, but I don't wanna get screwed either...
What Sapient said. Most Palominos top off at around the 17050-1850 mark with around 1.85V. The 1700+ T-bred will most likely clock to around 1900Mhz with 1.8V. If you're willing to go higher, around 2.0V, you can usually get it up to 2000Mhz provided you have a good cooling setup. At 2000Mhz, that's equivalent to an XP2400+. I would make the trade in a heartbeat.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 05:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 10

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky


What Sapient said. Most Palominos top off at around the 17050-1850 mark with around 1.85V. The 1700+ T-bred will most likely clock to around 1900Mhz with 1.8V. If you're willing to go higher, around 2.0V, you can usually get it up to 2000Mhz provided you have a good cooling setup. At 2000Mhz, that's equivalent to an XP2400+. I would make the trade in a heartbeat.

Would that be with the proc. locked or un? I just tried OCing it to 142FSB with 1.55v and it refused to POST. That's the same amount of additional voltage I was running my 1800 at 142.

I didn't know that the safe volts is as high as you state, so I'm gonna go back and try it with more volts.

My cooling consists of a Volcano9, 80mm Sunon HO in the bott. front (intake), 92mm Stealth in the side (intake), 80mm Sunon HO in the top (exhaust), 60mm Delta in top/back (exhaust), and the PSU. Would that be considered good?

The replies and advice are much appreciated.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 08:30 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Ok, the T-Breds all come factory unlocked. You should be able to run any multiplier of 11 and under. I'm personally running it at 9.5 x 200. I'm also using 1.8V. To be perfectly honest, I don't know how safe it is to run at this voltage. I figure though, if it runs for a year, I can probably replace it when it dies with another $50 CPU that will run even better.

Your cooling setup sounds ok. It should be enough to run at 1900Mhz.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2002, 12:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 10

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky
Ok, the T-Breds all come factory unlocked. You should be able to run any multiplier of 11 and under. I'm personally running it at 9.5 x 200. I'm also using 1.8V. To be perfectly honest, I don't know how safe it is to run at this voltage. I figure though, if it runs for a year, I can probably replace it when it dies with another $50 CPU that will run even better.

Your cooling setup sounds ok. It should be enough to run at 1900Mhz.
So, is it better to run a higher FSB at a lower multi, than vice versa? Right now I am running 11 x 166. I have read some things about data corruption when running the PCI/AGP freqs. way out of spec...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble with 1700+ Palomino RussianMissile1 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 28th July, 2004 07:23 PM
Palomino - TBred RussianMissile1 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 16th July, 2004 09:44 PM
tbred b 1800+ HSF chris4521 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 2 24th March, 2003 05:23 PM
8RDA+ ,palomino 1700+ and max. FSB toXicbluE EPoX MotherBoards 11 24th January, 2003 12:09 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0