AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 22nd December, 2002, 04:57 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by Yemble
@UncleBob....

Yes that's all well and good, but what speed is your PCI bus running at ?

Which IDE interface is your disk plugged into ?

What other PCI cards have you got in your system ?

(Oh and why can't I get 200MHz FSB on my 8K9A2+ without trashing my O/S ??? )
Hi Yemble:

PCI Bus 42

IDE Primary for main disk and 80 G spare

No PCI cards period.

THis is for an ASUS board, Yemble. What are you using on your 8K9A2+? (BIOS, memory, chip, cooler, fan, etc.)?
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2002, 06:20 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I've never had a problem with the PCI Bus OC'd to 42 Mhz. Yeah, right. Can my nose get any longer?

What about IDE HDD's? Hmm, maybe you're running one backed down to ATA 66?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2002, 07:35 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Thanks for catching that! OOPS!!

It should say 40MHz! My mistake.
It is a 66 ATA drive, BTW and it seems to run just fine. I've backed off to a solid 200 FSB and 400 system bus and it's humming right along.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2002, 09:04 PM
Yemble's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 27

Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Bob
.THis is for an ASUS board, Yemble. What are you using on your 8K9A2+? (BIOS, memory, chip, cooler, fan, etc.)?
OK, my rig consists of the following :-

XP2400+ / ThermalRight SLK800 / YS-Tech 3000RPM
512Mb Corsair PC3200 C2 RAM - single chip
B29 BIOS
IBM 80Gb ATA100 / Maxtor 40Gb ATA100 both as primaries on HighPoint controller
Pioneer 16x DVD / Plextor 24x CRDW both as primaries on VIA controller
SoundBlaster Live! Value
IBM EtherJet PCI 10/100 (my onboard LAN is dead!)
ATI TV Wonder VE
ATI Radeon 7500
USR 56K Modem (backup)

Note that I've tried running at 200MHz FSB with ALL PCI cards removed, but the HD's still get trashed!
__________________
EPox 8K9A2+
XP2400+/SLK-800
1*512Mb Corsair PC3200 CAS-2 (2-3-3-6-T1)
FSB 183*12= 2206MHz
Vcore 1.86V, Vdimm 2.8V
ATi Radeon 7500
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2002, 08:13 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Have you tried a higher Vcore and Vdimm?
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 08:52 PM
Yemble's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 27

Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Bob
Have you tried a higher Vcore and Vdimm?
Why would I want to do that ?

I'm already running the CPU at 1.86V and the RAM at 2.8V, which should be more than adequate. Besides, how would this help with components on the PCI bus ?
__________________
EPox 8K9A2+
XP2400+/SLK-800
1*512Mb Corsair PC3200 CAS-2 (2-3-3-6-T1)
FSB 183*12= 2206MHz
Vcore 1.86V, Vdimm 2.8V
ATi Radeon 7500
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 03:33 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by Yemble


Why would I want to do that ?

I'm already running the CPU at 1.86V and the RAM at 2.8V, which should be more than adequate. Besides, how would this help with components on the PCI bus ?
I'm no expert by any means, but I've found that by bumping the voltage the CPU and memory don't write crap to the hard drive and it facilitates what you are looking to do is all. My advice is to give it a try and see if it works, you can always put the settings back.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad mobo? djXternal CRASHED! 4 30th January, 2006 09:07 PM
mobo?...Mobo!...MOOOBOOOO!? Logan Intel Motherboards & CPUs 8 16th December, 2005 01:37 AM
Is it the mobo thewomble CRASHED! 1 3rd July, 2005 01:26 AM
I need a new mobo Howard Intel Motherboards & CPUs 3 26th February, 2003 01:35 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0