AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #81 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 05:19 PM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

Pilsy I wasn't checking your grammar lol , I was just making sure some folks don't start looking at the wrong dimm is all. I don't think it should really be an issue, but ya know how it goes bro.

I don't remember giving crap about anyones grammar..... I've done it once I believe, and that was because someone on a forum was calling folks idiots, yet he couldn't even spell. so I made a reference to it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #82 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 05:29 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

"I've done it once I believe, and that was because someone on a forum was calling folks idiots, yet he couldn't even spell."

What a Maroon! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 09:44 PM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

Quote:
Originally posted by PiLsY


Regarding clipping a bit off the dimm clip - yes it will fix it but will it void your mobo warranty? That is why I didnt suggest it. My advice would be to not use dimm 1 and to remove the clip altogether. You can do this by opening the clip out to its full extent and pushing towards the mobo a bit while pulling it away from the dimm slot. It will just pop out. You can then clip it back in at any point should you have to return the mobo.

Until Epox gives permission to modify the dimm clips I wouldnt do any permanent mods to the board.

PiLsY.
Good point, i didnt think of that. Of course i void most of my warranties anyway, so i generally dont give it a second thought.

However, i don't THINK that they would refuse you warranty service because you clipped 2mm of plastic off of the dimm clip, although i could be wrong. Would this be a question to ask ET?
__________________

Watercooled Barton 2500+ AGOIA-Y @ 2300 (11.5x200) 1.85v
Epox 8RDA
1gb OCZ PC3200, 2-2-2-6
eVGA Geforce 4 TI4400
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 10:15 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Not ETs area either. I'm sure he would tell you to contact your nearest EPoX office (though "Office" is not the word I'm looking for, perhaps regional office?)
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 12:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 288

if it is the dimm clip, its still avoidable by making sure the dimm clip is closed before card insertion....

TBH its not rocket science....

Yeah dumb luck as a result of me finding the dimm clip jammed open on my 4g4a, but a learning experience none the less...
__________________
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion, it is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed,
the hands acquire shaking, the shaking becomes a warning, it is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #86 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 04:01 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

I wouldnt recomend that anybody modifies there board voiding there warranty.

Is this only a problem if the DIMM clip is open as Galifrey says ?

I would, as ever recomend that you are extremely carefull when installing any new hardware, especially large graphics cards and motherboards.

If you do find that your graphics card does interfear with DIMM clips (when there closed) please do contact your branch office to report the problem and ask for advice. Do NOT force the card into the socket or bend it.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 08:11 AM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

well, i see now that the FAQ on the epox site now addresses this issue. Basically says be careful. From the picture there it doesnt look like it will be in constant contact though, so that is good.
__________________

Watercooled Barton 2500+ AGOIA-Y @ 2300 (11.5x200) 1.85v
Epox 8RDA
1gb OCZ PC3200, 2-2-2-6
eVGA Geforce 4 TI4400
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 11:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 42

Well im looking at the mobo here with a creative GF4 in and there is CONSTANT contact.

I actually took the card out and checked the tolerances with the card perfectly straight. The top 1/4of a mm of the transistor rests on top of the dimm clip.

When the card is in and a straight edge is laid across the top of it the bend at the very rearmost point of the card is 2.5mms.

Maybe the clips arent manufactured to as tight tolerances as other pc components, and different people have (slightly) different sized clips.

PiLsY.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #89 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 11:24 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

I've got a creative 4400. There is no contact with the clip on mine, nor did the card need to be bent to install. Strange.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #90 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 06:33 PM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

hmm, that could explain why just a few people have had a problem with it. Heres the pic from the FAQ on the epox site.
http://www.epox.com/motherboard/supp...emory-clip.jpg
__________________

Watercooled Barton 2500+ AGOIA-Y @ 2300 (11.5x200) 1.85v
Epox 8RDA
1gb OCZ PC3200, 2-2-2-6
eVGA Geforce 4 TI4400
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #91 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 07:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 42

Right ill get a camera sorted and take a piccy. The clips on the board I noticed this on were at least 3mms closer to the AGP slot (v1.1 board).

PiLsY.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #92 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 10:59 PM
Sempei's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6

It's a learning thing

I've been lurking here for a few weeks now trying to decide on which NF2 board to buy. Needless to say this is one thing which caught my attention. First off, I'd like to say I feel for each of you who has lost a GF4 to this situation. Now, on to my views. Epox didn't design this board to murder GF4 cards. I think it far more likely that during testing the ram clips were probably closed thus it was never seen as a problem. I'm sure had they killed a GF4 it would have been identified as a potential problem and corrected. Now that it has been identified, I'm sure Epox will look into it and make adjustments for future boards. The way I look at it is everything is a learning process. Sometimes, lessons are expensive. From day one when I built my 1st 386-33 computer until now I have been learning. Now, with this board, both we and Epox may have learned. I'm sure those who lost a GF4 feel differently and I'm hoping all the cards can be RMA'd with no loss other than time. Placing blame will not rectify the situation but learning from it will prevent it from happening again. I will be joining the Epox ranks as soon as I can find a US retailer who actually has the 8RDA+ in stock. Hmm, must be a popular board!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #93 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2002, 12:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 288

Quote:
Originally posted by WyrmMaster
hmm, that could explain why just a few people have had a problem with it. Heres the pic from the FAQ on the epox site.
http://www.epox.com/motherboard/supp...emory-clip.jpg
yeah but notice how they show the instalation without any memory installed...

Just how are they going to fit it now?

__________________
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion, it is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed,
the hands acquire shaking, the shaking becomes a warning, it is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #94 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2002, 12:06 AM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

true, they dont have memory instaled, but the clips will be in the same position with or without memory installed. They will have to remove the card to add the ram however.
__________________

Watercooled Barton 2500+ AGOIA-Y @ 2300 (11.5x200) 1.85v
Epox 8RDA
1gb OCZ PC3200, 2-2-2-6
eVGA Geforce 4 TI4400
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #95 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2002, 07:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 68

Both times my cards died had all dimm clips closed an the ram was installed in the dimm 3 even with them closed it bent the card.
__________________
2100+ T-bred @2.4ghz at 1.8 vcore
Abit NF7-S Rev2.0
2x256mb of twinmos Pc3200
9700 pro @440/380 *dead*
9700 pro @410/375 *dead*
3DMark03 (never took the time to really bench. Score with ole 9500np)
3DMark01se
My heatware
XHardware.net
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #96 (permalink)  
Old 29th December, 2002, 12:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Northampton
Posts: 288

hmmm

interesting youthemandan.... my 4g4a and 4g4a+ had different dimm clips, perhaps some of them are wider than the ones pictured...

for them to bend the card when closed is a total **** up....

(I starred that myself, but you get the drift)
__________________
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion, it is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed,
the hands acquire shaking, the shaking becomes a warning, it is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU dying? subseb AMD Motherboards & CPUs 22 13th March, 2005 05:09 AM
Is Something Dying?? RussianMissile1 CRASHED! 9 27th July, 2004 03:22 AM
Epox 8RDA+ is dying? Please one tip! slackdm EPoX MotherBoards 4 2nd February, 2004 02:38 AM
Is my 8RDA+ dying? Robin B EPoX MotherBoards 2 11th January, 2004 01:43 PM
Dying PC... nab572 General Hardware Discussion 6 20th January, 2003 08:40 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0