AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 10:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 188

8rda+ and pci raid card?

anyone see any problems with these 2? I'm looking for good gaming and overclocking performance. thx and happy holidays
__________________
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6277232
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm=1125956

XP2100+/Epox 8rda+/2 OCZ 256 3500EL Duel Channel/MSI Ge4 4400/Maxtor ata133 40gb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 02:21 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

I have a PCI RAID card installed on my 8RDA+. It is a Promise card. I don't use the RAID function since I only have one HD on that machine. I use it for the additional IDE ports. Anyway, it runs fine. Initially, I had my HD on the RAID card to make moving from the 8KHA+ a little easier (don't have to reinstall WinXP). When I had it there, I did a couple of tests to check the PCI lock thing. At 200FSB, there was nothing I could do to make it get disk corruption. That was while moving some very large files, and groups of files. The largest block I tried moving was 40GB and it worked flawlessly.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 10:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 188

will it give me any performance gains in gaming going raid? that is really the only thing i use this computer for, besides some benchmarking but it all is done for gaming performance, or am i just wasting my money getting another HD? Will i get any corruption using the regular ide connects?
__________________
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6277232
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm=1125956

XP2100+/Epox 8rda+/2 OCZ 256 3500EL Duel Channel/MSI Ge4 4400/Maxtor ata133 40gb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th December, 2002, 08:16 PM
Jay T's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 331

My Silicon image RAID card was the source of nearly all my problems with scrambled hard drives. Mooky has had better luck than me, but I'd wait for a version with onboard RAID. I know that Mooky only uses his RAID as a source of extra IDE channels, but I couln't use my RAID for either purpose. The RAID card has been confirmed as good on another machine.

I have never noticed the difference with RAID in games, only for moving huge video files around.
__________________
Epox 9NPA+ SLI
Venice 3200 @ 9 x 300
2 x 1024MB Mushkin blueline 5,2,3,2.0 (2t )
Raptor raid
2 x SATA 300GB Maxtor HDD's
Enermax 600W Noisetaker PSU
Geforce 6800GT
Audigy 2.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2003, 02:23 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Running a raid set doesnt have a real impact on games but does improve loading times on some games .. especially games that have bloated maps and sounds to cache before it starts etc.

other than that its best use is with video stuff.. i do alot of video editing off my DV handycam so it helps when you have to toss around large files alot. made things like pixella work bout twice as fast.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2003, 02:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 39

I have no issues at all running my setup -- 8RDA+ with Promise 100-TX2 Raid with 2 IBM 60Gig drives in RAID-0.
__________________
--|BRiT|
"That which does not kill you, makes you wish it did."
"Where are we going? And what's with the handbasket?!"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2003, 05:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 42

8rda here with HPT Rocket raid 404 card smooth as silk.

BF.
__________________
NF7-S 1.2, 8RDA, 8RDA+, A7N8X-D, IT7, Iwill MPX2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2003, 09:40 AM
n00b's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 24

My Adaptec 2100S, PM2554U2 and PM1564U3 all work fine in the 8RDA+.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
raid pci card barneygumble742 General Hardware Discussion 22 8th June, 2005 11:06 PM
Moving from onboard raid to a raid pci card Jamey1010 EPoX MotherBoards 6 5th March, 2004 07:07 AM
Can you have 2 RAID 1 arrays in a 4 channel RAID card??? JayJay General Hardware Discussion 1 6th April, 2003 08:23 PM
8RDA+ and PCI Raid Card... erik21d EPoX MotherBoards 2 5th December, 2002 02:27 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0