AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 05:13 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

DX9. Worth upgrading to?

Subject says it all. I've downloaded it, but not installed it yet. I'm also planning on getting the latest nVidia Dets with DX9 support.
Anyone done it yet?
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 05:48 PM
loop's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Under bed with pan of water and 2 mines.
Posts: 866

I didnt know there were any nvidia cards that had DX9 support? or does the geforce 4 have some limited support?
__________________
Are you on drugs? If not should you be on drugs?
Warranties are there to invalidate.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 09:49 PM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

I think the new Radeon is the only card out with hardware DX9 support.
__________________

Watercooled Barton 2500+ AGOIA-Y @ 2300 (11.5x200) 1.85v
Epox 8RDA
1gb OCZ PC3200, 2-2-2-6
eVGA Geforce 4 TI4400
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 06:08 AM
K6-III's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 661

The Parhelia is partially DX9 compliant with Vertex Shader 2.0 and Hardware Displacement Mapping.

NVidia's Geforce FX is not fully DX9 compliant due to Displacement Mapping being missing...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 01:56 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

from what i heard there is some form of DX9 support on the 4400 and 4600 that requires a bios update ... i saw some DX9 beta 3d demos running on an asus V8460 ti4600 that had been updated...

the DX9b demo was unimpressive to say the least.
im not gonna use anything more than 8.1 unless it is required anyway.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 09:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Pacific NW, USA
Posts: 9

I'm using DX 9 and it Just Works, no problems at all. Played a little Earth & Beyond with it which should be a decent test, as it's a demanding DX game. Can't say if it's any better though, never tested this new computer with the earlier versions. That's with a GF4 Ti4200 on an A7N8X btw, XP Pro, 41.09 drivers.
__________________

Last edited by Izdaari; 27th December, 2002 at 09:39 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2002, 01:47 AM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

Dunno why but DX9redist will not install on my WinXP. Say it is not a Windows Logo certified program ????????
Anyway, works just fine in 98SE but no difference from DX 8.2.

BTW,K6-III GeForceFX has Displacement Mapping. Or so say nVIDIA.
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2002, 01:58 AM
loop's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Under bed with pan of water and 2 mines.
Posts: 866

I wouldnt have though DX9 would improve the performance of games that dont use any DX9 functions, unless some of the DX8 functions have been improved in DX9.
__________________
Are you on drugs? If not should you be on drugs?
Warranties are there to invalidate.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2003, 09:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 11

urm, Alexandrus you did get the right version for XP didn't you, 98 and XP almost always need diferent downloads. only speaking from personal experience mind you. i have built up a directory of all the latest drivers, then when i passed my bits onto my dad i put all the 98 stuff on his hard drive, 98 wouldn't install so we put 2K on instead, then i wondered why all my drivers didn't work, D'oh!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2003, 03:40 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

I tried the redist version, it is for all MS OSes, so it should work.
Guess disabling most services was not very smart afterall, but I wonder why the stupid error : "the software you are trying to install is not Windows Logo Certified" ?!?!
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2003, 07:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 85

I am running.....

the latest Dets (4201's) and DX9 on my WinXP and it works fine....no better no worse than DX8.1 as far as 3dMark 2001SE knows, but I did see an "apparent" increase in framerate and it is ready for nexgen games and video cards (GFFX in my future) Presently trudging along with my GF4 4600TI Golden Sample.
__________________
Abit NF7-S with 2100+ T-Bred "B" @2406MHz (200X12) Vcore 1.775V, VDIMM 2.9V, VDD 1.82V 2X256M Twinmos/Winbond PC3200 6,2,2,2.0 DDR,SLK800 with 84CFM Tornado,ATI Radeon 9700 Pro, Antec Truepower 430W ps.
80G WD HDD w/8M cache Windows XP Pro

Last edited by ronnuke; 4th January, 2003 at 07:30 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2003, 02:15 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

bleh =p trudging along..
i still love my asus ti4600 very much and prolly wont be updating it until GFFX is superceded.. i know its not a top card anymore and doesnt support the new DX9 and everything but look at your box and then spare a thought for the people that paid good money for intel 3.06GHZ machines and still have "intel extreme" graphics.

from what ive seen DX9 isnt anything revolutionary and just gives game developers another set of 3d fuctions they can decide not to use. appologies for the pesimistic attitude. =\
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2003, 06:10 PM
bldegle2's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 222

Cool install it anyway

it is just not certified yet.

jeez.

b
__________________
Opty's 939 single and dual, DFI, AsRock, Gskill & Team, clocked of course...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Worth upgrading? Lazgoat General Hardware Discussion 9 8th January, 2006 12:25 AM
is it worth upgrading to x64? twohats 64 Bit computing 47 15th May, 2005 09:40 AM
Is it worth upgrading to 8RDA3+ rev. 2.0? Veky EPoX MotherBoards 5 10th September, 2003 08:24 PM
Is it worth upgrading...? rocklobster EPoX MotherBoards 1 21st July, 2003 05:06 PM
its worth upgrading those drivers slack Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 23rd February, 2003 06:28 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0