AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2002, 02:28 PM
superally's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: scotland
Posts: 16

PC won't turn off!

Hi guys

Low-priority grumble...for some reason my PC has started refusing to turn off. Shutting down just reboots. One of my mates reckons it's because the Firewire card is waking the machine up, but any suggestions as to what to do about it welcome! Spec is:

Gigabyte 7DXR+ m/b (new)
AMD 1700XP
IBM 120XP HDD
Generic 3-port Firewire card
Additional 4 port USB card
Logitech wireless desktop
512MB DDR2100
QuietPC PSU

Win XP Pro

Any thoughts.....?

Cheers

Ally
__________________
AMD 1700XP+
ECS K7S5A
512MB DDR2100
Radeon 7500
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2002, 02:33 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Turn **off** the "wake on lan" or any other "wake on" features. Also when did it start doing this? Is this a new problem that just started happening?
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah

Last edited by robbie; 31st December, 2002 at 03:49 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2002, 03:38 PM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

I think I would start unhooking things till you found the culprit. I think Robbie has the right idea, it must be a "wake on" something doing it. Once you have sorted out what is doing it then play with it till you figure out the why of it. Maybe a read of the dreaded instructions for the part that seems to be doing it will reveal some wisdom.

Good Luck !
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2003, 07:08 AM
marcofra2000's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: In the Desert of CA
Posts: 539
Send a message via MSN to marcofra2000

Re: PC won't turn off!

Quote:
Originally posted by superally
Hi guys

Low-priority grumble...for some reason my PC has started refusing to turn off. Shutting down just reboots. One of my mates reckons it's because the Firewire card is waking the machine up, but any suggestions as to what to do about it welcome!
I had a problem like that and what I did was to unhook the PC from the DSL modem everytime I shut it down. Some one told me that I was being hacked, and yes I was couse I found very interesting folders in my PC that I didn't even add them myself. Those files where 2 viruses. What I did was to use an antivirus, get Norton System Security, and a formated. After a few days I got attacked two times and they were blocked by the software. But I noticed something, after using Netmeeting I had this attackes, why?
__________________
Athlon 64 3500+@3800+
ASUS A8V
Gainward 6800 GT@ULTRA
2x512 Ballistix DDR PC-3200
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
Maxtor 80 gig
Antec 430 Watts
Onkyo HT-S760, 750 Watts.

Opinions are like butts, we all have them and they all stink at one time or another. But when people's butts stink we don't go around cleaning them, so please don't tell people that their opinions stink.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2003, 03:52 PM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

if mywinxp puta was still around i would check this myself, but its not here and im not sure the "option" is there.

i had a similar problem with win98SE.

i fixed it by RUN->MSCONFIG->turn off fast shutdown.

im not too sure tho
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2003, 06:32 PM
superally's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: scotland
Posts: 16

Sorted - hauled out the firewire card and all is well. Not a big issue as I haven't used the thing in 6 months anyway. Not looking forward to going through it all again next time I want to do some video editing tho'....

Incidentally the MS website identifies Roxio Direct CD as a prime culprit, so having installed that a while ago I ditched it and it made no difference. Reinstalled it then yanked the firewire card and it's fine.

Thanks for the advice

Cheers

Ally
__________________
AMD 1700XP+
ECS K7S5A
512MB DDR2100
Radeon 7500
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2003, 11:50 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Good to hear that you got it sorted out.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2003, 03:37 PM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

Good to hear it's taken care of.
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MY turn to ask for help! cadaveca AMD Motherboards & CPUs 29 8th November, 2005 05:25 AM
Computer does not turn on: PSU? sushi CRASHED! 7 10th May, 2005 11:13 PM
8KDA3+ won't turn on!?? amd640c EPoX MotherBoards 1 9th October, 2004 09:44 PM
looks like its my turn kat ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 15 21st May, 2003 02:12 AM
If this doesn't turn you on, you're not really a geek. Wa11y General Hardware Discussion 42 27th February, 2002 05:41 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0