AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2003, 11:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to Dastardly

New Thoroughbred with 8rda+

Just assembled my new machine, and will be doing some benchmarks, overclocked at various speeds. Since, I lurked here to get ideas for the various parts, I thought I would contribute back with some 3DMarks at various memory, CPU, and FSB speeds. Currently, I am still downloading and installing the latest drivers. Check back in a couple hours.

Nominal Specs:

Athlon 1800+ (Thoroughbred)
SLK800 Heatsink with Thermaltake Case Fan II (Same as Volcano 9)
Epox 8rda+
2 x Corsair CMX256A-3200C2
ATI 9500Pro
IBM 60GB HD Primary
WD 30GB HD Secondary

CPU Fan at 3000RPM CPU temp 35C
Case Temp 19C

I will be back with results...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2003, 11:51 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Where did you get your 1800+ T-Bred? I've been looking for one for a couple of weeks now.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2003, 12:35 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Dastardly, welcome to AOA. I'm looking forward to seeing your results... good choices on components.

Mook, I know your jones'ing for the low end B's (me too), but he didn't say B... just Tbred.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2003, 12:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to Dimmst Of Death

Seen some on Newegg but no way to tell if its AIUGA stepping.. Anyone contribute to this? They just have the model #
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2003, 12:46 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Model# AXDA1800DLT3C

From what I understand... these should be A's
1.5v
90c max temp
266fsb.

Not sure tho.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2003, 05:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to Dastardly

It is a thoroughbred A when I said new I was referring to when it was bought.

Some results:
At 1.75V VCC and 2.7 VDIMM
CPU top frequency is about 1850MHz
Sync FSB topped out at 191MHz

3DMark2001 SE:
9500Pro settings are balanced (No AA...)
Default tests at 1024x768 32 bit color
1533MHz @ 133x11.5 -> 11471
1600MHz @ 133x12 -> 11600
1680MHz @ 140x12 -> 11873
1800MHz @ 150x12 -> 12145
1860MHz @ 155x12 -> 12294
1833MHz @ 166x11 -> 12498
1837MHz @ 175x10.5 -> 12480
1850MHz @ 185x10 -> 12571
1805MHz @ 190x9.5 -> 12566
1814MHz @ 191x9.5 -> 12463

As I am typing this CPU temp is reported as 40C
Case temp at 18C
CPU fan is set at 3200RPM to reduce noise.

Just started Prime95 torture test, we will see where that temp goes from there.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2003, 12:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to Dastardly

Hi all-

New settings. I increased the VCC to 1.85V and got to 1880MHz 188x10. I want to get 190x10, but I think it would require 1.9V and cranking the CPU fan up towards 4000RPM, and I just don't want the noise. CPU temp is reported as 47C after running PRIME95 for 15 minutes. 3D mark was 12785.

Does 1.85V sound too high for air cooled at the temps being reported?

Based on THG benchmarks this is about the same as a Athlon 2100+ with ATI 9700Pro (a $180 more expensive card) on A7N8X with DDR333 memory.

Don
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2003, 07:13 AM
vengance_01's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to vengance_01

those are so sweet results for that cpu. How do you like your Epox Nforce 2 board? I have an Asus Nforce 2 board on the way. Any wierd quircks you have run into? Are you using the lastest NF2 drivers?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2003, 07:51 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by vengance_01
those are so sweet results for that cpu. How do you like your Epox Nforce 2 board? I have an Asus Nforce 2 board on the way. Any wierd quircks you have run into? Are you using the lastest NF2 drivers?
If you're curious at all about the EPoX 8RDA+ (the nForce2 board), check out the EPoX section. There's tons of info there.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2003, 05:01 PM
Invalid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 218
Send a message via AIM to Invalid

Hi vengance,
I got me a Asus Nforce 2 board for crimbo, it added about 2500-3000Marks onto my score!!! and about 30FPS extra...although i did go to the A7N8x deluxe from a Asus A7A266, which was on its last legs, if u have any questions on this board i would be happy to help

Ross
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2003, 09:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 21

Quote:
Originally posted by vengance_01
those are so sweet results for that cpu. How do you like your Epox Nforce 2 board? I have an Asus Nforce 2 board on the way. Any wierd quircks you have run into? Are you using the lastest NF2 drivers?
The clock result isn't that good for a 1800+ TBred A. I've seen a few giving 2gig and more - stepping's AIUGA .... have a look for AIUGB 1800s
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2003, 10:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to Dastardly

Quote:
Originally posted by Grisu


The clock result isn't that good for a 1800+ TBred A. I've seen a few giving 2gig and more - stepping's AIUGA .... have a look for AIUGB 1800s
I have seen people reporting 2gig, but as far as I can tell those involve going to 1.9V VCC and significantly more cooling than I have. I could probably do it, but I don't want to crank my fan to 4800 RPM, it is too loud, and 1.9V seems somewhat risky.

I have actually decided to settle back towards 1860. And, lower VCC to keep things a little cooler, and possibly let me turn the fan down even more to make things quieter.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 6th January, 2003, 09:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 21

Quote:
Originally posted by Dastardly


I have seen people reporting 2gig, but as far as I can tell those involve going to 1.9V VCC and significantly more cooling than I have. I could probably do it, but I don't want to crank my fan to 4800 RPM, it is too loud, and 1.9V seems somewhat risky.

I have actually decided to settle back towards 1860. And, lower VCC to keep things a little cooler, and possibly let me turn the fan down even more to make things quieter.
Hm, .... up to 1.9 shoud be okay with decent air cooling (I would go for Thermaltake SLK-800 with a Y.S. tech TMD fan) and case fans. My CPU's on water @1.95 and temps are around 35. I still wait for the 1.6V TBred Bs ....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 6th January, 2003, 05:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to Dastardly

Quote:
Originally posted by Grisu


Hm, .... up to 1.9 shoud be okay with decent air cooling (I would go for Thermaltake SLK-800 with a Y.S. tech TMD fan) and case fans. My CPU's on water @1.95 and temps are around 35. I still wait for the 1.6V TBred Bs ....
I have the SLK800 with Smart Case Fan II, so could probably do it, except running the fan at 4800RPM is really loud.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 6th January, 2003, 05:46 PM
Invalid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 218
Send a message via AIM to Invalid

Quote:
Originally posted by Dastardly


I have the SLK800 with Smart Case Fan II, so could probably do it, except running the fan at 4800RPM is really loud.

Hi,
I just got the Swiftech MCX 462+ heatsink and i got the smart fan II...but the connectors dont fit properly to it cus it has those special plastic clips to attatch the fan to the heatsink with...but my fan isnt compatible with the clips...is there any way around this?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2003, 10:25 PM
Oblic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: sthlm
Posts: 15

hmm is all the t-bread a and b unlock on the 8RDA+ ?



R
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2003, 10:42 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by Oblic
hmm is all the t-bread a and b unlock on the 8RDA+ ?

R
Yes, the CPUs are all factory unlocked, and the 8RDA+ can handle them with the right bios.

For older mobos, some have problems when the default multiplier is higher than 12.5. Even tho the CPU itself is unlocked, the MOBO is unable to changing multipliers. In these situations, only KT400's and nVidia2 mobos can handle all multipliers without mods.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Thoroughbred B 2000+ Lorddrakul AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 16th September, 2003 05:56 PM
Thoroughbred A or B core JIDSTER AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 5th March, 2003 12:43 AM
Thoroughbred Support EPoX Tech EPoX MotherBoards 29 14th June, 2002 01:48 AM
thoroughbred questions The Spyder AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 20th May, 2002 02:19 PM
which mb for AMD Thoroughbred? cpu-uk EPoX MotherBoards 1 10th March, 2002 11:15 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0