AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #121 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 12:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: South Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 173

ET & Holst,

Barton uses MORE power than these AXPs.

How's the Barton testing going in the lab on the 8RDA?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #122 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 01:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 15

Unhappy

Man, this is just

Anyway, my board is still alive and kicking at 2.0V with an uptime of 1 day+ and 6 hours of prime. And I know 2.2V worked as well, didn't actually Prime it for a longer time but say, 30 minutes or so. And before that, it crashed at about 30 seconds. Hope someones gonna come up with a second solution for the vcore problem soon.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #123 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 02:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: South Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 173

rev,

You've got about the best board out of everybody here so far.

Did you do any mods at all? (even vdd)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #124 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 02:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 15

No, but VDD mod is coming up.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #125 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 03:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: South Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 173

Tried setting 2400+ speed at stock 133FSB x15 and 2.1v. Turned system off for twenty minutes to let it cool down. Powered up and siren, no POST.

I think the T-Bird 1.4G (before Palamino) still holds the record for using the most power at stock speed. Anybody have one to try in the 8RDA?


ET or Holst,

In what configuration is the 8RDA+ rated for 2.2v Vcore?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #126 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 03:35 AM
Jeff F.'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Posts: 140

Here's what I get with the 2.20v setting...

(Vdd & Vddr mods done)
Attached Images
 
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #127 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 03:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 103

I have some good news to report and a possible fix for this. *Maybe*

OK,

when I saw you could run the vcore at 2.2 but had to have the CPU at stock speed and not have a shutdown, this showed me it might NOT be an OVP issue. It looked like a heat issue to me.

I also read one guy touched his finger to the VRM at 2.2v and he got a giant blister on his finger it was so hot.

So in short, I took a 233MM anodized heatsink and cut it up to fit on top of the vcore VRM. The VRM is about the size of a ram chip.
But the little heatsink is pretty tall even though it's only six prongs big. I mixed epoxy with thermal paste 50%/50% and glued the sink over the VRM. I let it dry and put a 80mm fan over it. It also blows on the mosfets.

As of right now, I'm running Prime since 9:12 and it's 9:42 now
at 2.05v and it hasn't shut down yet

Before it would shut down right away. So glue a nice big heatsink on top of the VRM plus a fan. If you don't have an anodized heatsink, just put some tape over the little legs on the VRM so you don't short anything out. Most of the time if you glue it perfectly flat, it won't touch the legs at all.

Good luck
__________________

Last edited by Bondo; 21st January, 2003 at 03:46 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #128 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 03:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 103

Still running :beer: :devil:
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #129 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 03:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: South Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 173

Good job Bondo,

I agree that extra cooling is a good idea.
Can you try setting Vcore for 2.1v and then see if you can reboot?

That would be great if you could all the way to 2.2v.

Jeff,

Guys like you have all the luck!

Is that your first 8RDA?
Any extra cooling on the VR or any mods needed to run Vcore that high?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #130 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 03:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 238
Send a message via AIM to DisposableHero

set it for 2.2 while you're at it.. 2.0 can be done with mod i think
__________________
-METALLICA-

| AMD XP 1700+ @ 2.75 2.05v | Prometeia | Epox 8RDA+ | 512m Corsair DDR @ 211 DC | ATi 9500 @ 9700 - 400/630 | Antec sx1040b | 80gig WD |

-METALLICA-
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #131 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 03:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 103

I'll try higher vcore's in a little bit. I want to "break in" the VRM to this vcore before I up it. I don't want to stress it out right away.
This whole N2 board needs burning in for it to work right. They should burn the boards in for a day before selling them at 200/200.

This is my second "8RMA+"

All I did to run like this is what I posted.

BUT,

I do have water cooling on the NB and the CPU plus the VDD at 1.87v
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #132 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 03:59 AM
Jeff F.'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Posts: 140

Quote:
Originally posted by Photon
Jeff,

Guys like you have all the luck!

Is that your first 8RDA?
Any extra cooling on the VR or any mods needed to run Vcore that high?
There's been a fair amount of work getting this board to run... but at the same time it's been a lot of fun. :-D

Just the Vdd and Vddr mods for me. And as for cooling, take a look at my room temperature. I'm ducting outside air onto an air-TEC via a Vantec Tornado so needless to say I'm keeping the entire motherboard pretty cool.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #133 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 04:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 103

Still running

I'm going to put little heatsinks on the six mosfets too plus a little long flat one on the VDD vrm.

It's tiny
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #134 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 04:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 103

Oh I forgot,

I have a heatsink/fan on the SB too :clown:
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #135 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 04:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 103

OK,

I just rebooted and guess what?


IT REBOOTED!

I set the vcore for 2.1v and my 2400+ is at 2500mhz RUNNING PRIME for 2 min now
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #136 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 04:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 15

Really nice, Bondo

So this was after all a heat issue? Since I also added a few fans to the VRM.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #137 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 04:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 103

YES, all heat.

These few VRMs are faulty I would say. They overheat.

But yes, no circuit problem after all. Just our enemy

HEAT:devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #138 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 04:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 238
Send a message via AIM to DisposableHero

lets just see.. ill put a heatsink + fan on the voltage chip... right now i just have a fan... 2.0 was max stable
__________________
-METALLICA-

| AMD XP 1700+ @ 2.75 2.05v | Prometeia | Epox 8RDA+ | 512m Corsair DDR @ 211 DC | ATi 9500 @ 9700 - 400/630 | Antec sx1040b | 80gig WD |

-METALLICA-
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #139 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 04:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 103

Prime still running at 2.1v :beer:

So guys,

you know what job you have to accomplish?

Go out there and destroy the enemy. :clown: :clown:

Attack that heat!

Cut up those heatsinks....


What are you waiting for??????
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #140 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 04:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 103

Quote:
Originally posted by DisposableHero
lets just see.. ill put a heatsink + fan on the voltage chip... right now i just have a fan... 2.0 was max stable
Don't forget the thermal adhesive
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
higher Vcore for 4PDA2+? frogblast EPoX MotherBoards 56 4th September, 2004 08:19 AM
[8RDA3+ Rev. 3.1] Why cant i use a higher vcore than 2.0?! fabbro76 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 13 13th August, 2004 07:17 AM
OC software to achive a higher vcore? mobius_13 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 28th July, 2004 02:40 PM
nForce2 Higher tRAS yields better performance and higher overclocks? Evc AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 23rd July, 2003 10:42 PM
Vcore higher then it should be?? Stilo EPoX MotherBoards 2 22nd January, 2003 07:08 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0