AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2003, 08:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 238
Send a message via AIM to DisposableHero

Why cant i use a higher vcore than 1.9?! Mobo just turns off!

no matter what speed im set at... if i set my vcore higher than about 1.9 if i use my cpu at full % my computer will turn off and the siren will sound! whats goin on here?

thanks
__________________
-METALLICA-

| AMD XP 1700+ @ 2.75 2.05v | Prometeia | Epox 8RDA+ | 512m Corsair DDR @ 211 DC | ATi 9500 @ 9700 - 400/630 | Antec sx1040b | 80gig WD |

-METALLICA-

Last edited by DisposableHero; 13th January, 2003 at 07:48 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2003, 09:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 111

i don't even have the 8rda+ yet, but it sounds to me as if the thermal protection has shut down your pc - as the shutdown function uses the XP-internal diode, your CPU-temp was too high i guess...
__________________
XP1700+@2505mhz(12.5x200mhz)@1.85V l Watercooling Cape-Corp KC42-X2 l 8RGA+, NB active, SB passive cooled l MOSFETS & Vreg passive cooled l 512MB PC3200 TwinMOS @ 2.77V l Leadtek A250 LE mod. to Quadro4 700XGL @ 300/553 l Seagate Barracuda IV 7200, 80GB l Pioneer DVD-115F regionfree l LiteOn CD/RW LTR-48246S l Sitecom Wireless USB -Adapter l DigitalDoc 5

PCI1 > free l PCI2 > free l PCI3 > free l PCI4 > PROMISE ULTRA100 TX2 l PCI5 > WinFast TV200XP Tv-Tuner l PCI6 > free

431 watt enermax PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2003, 09:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 238
Send a message via AIM to DisposableHero

i use a 226w pelt.. i doubt my temp is the problem
__________________
-METALLICA-

| AMD XP 1700+ @ 2.75 2.05v | Prometeia | Epox 8RDA+ | 512m Corsair DDR @ 211 DC | ATi 9500 @ 9700 - 400/630 | Antec sx1040b | 80gig WD |

-METALLICA-
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2003, 06:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: South Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 173

DH,

Same problem here. I have an 8RDA+ v1.0 that shuts down with Vcore over 1.9v. I ordered another board thinking I just had a bad one, but this new v1.1 does the same exact thing.

Let's try to figure out what we have in common...

I'm running an early 2400+ that I unlocked with the L3 trick to run on my old KR7A. I left the CPU unlocked in the 8RDA+ so not sure if that could be a cause, but I doubt it.

Running a Sparkle 400W PS, also tried a TTGI-520SS but no difference. RAM is single 512 Corsair 3500C2.

The only "unusual" thing about my rig is it's in a desktop case (Enlight 7200).

I thought this was a MOSFET overheating problem at first, but now I'm not so sure. I think it may be a protective circuit on the mobo that is being "over protective".

So what's going on with your rig, anything similar?
__________________

Last edited by Photon; 13th January, 2003 at 06:41 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2003, 07:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 238
Send a message via AIM to DisposableHero

well.... temps are not really a problem here... got a orb fan screwed on to my northbridge...

running in an antec 1040x case with 400w antec with +5 and +12 pots turned up a little... ram is a single stick of 256 corsair 3500c2 .. havent tried extra cooling on mosfets yet...

had an 80mm fan blowing at the bottom of my case right on the southbridge... no heatsink on it though... anything above 1.9 seems to set the siren off...
__________________
-METALLICA-

| AMD XP 1700+ @ 2.75 2.05v | Prometeia | Epox 8RDA+ | 512m Corsair DDR @ 211 DC | ATi 9500 @ 9700 - 400/630 | Antec sx1040b | 80gig WD |

-METALLICA-
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2003, 04:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 18

I had the same problem. Using a Prometeia as cooling solution and 512 MB xms3500 RAM. I tested two diffrent CPU`s , no difference. The board was shutting down over 1,9V.
Now my Board is dead anyhow... waiting for a new one, will see, if it is getting better.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2003, 04:51 PM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

I don't know whats going on here fellas, as I have used over 2v when running chilled water benching, running prommies and stuff should have np running 2v.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2003, 04:55 PM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

I believe when OPP was benching his 8RDA+ he had trouble running over 2.075v ( I THINK )......... he stated something about it over at xtreme......... and he runs a prommy.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2003, 05:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: South Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 173

Quote:
Originally posted by DisposableHero
well.... temps are not really a problem here... got a orb fan screwed on to my northbridge...

running in an antec 1040x case with 400w antec with +5 and +12 pots turned up a little... ram is a single stick of 256 corsair 3500c2 .. havent tried extra cooling on mosfets yet...

had an 80mm fan blowing at the bottom of my case right on the southbridge... no heatsink on it though... anything above 1.9 seems to set the siren off...
It doesn't seem to be a temp problem here either. I can set Vcore for 1.975 and everything is fine until I stress the CPU with something like Prime. There's not even any time for anything to heat up, it shuts down instantly when loading Prime.

We have Corsair RAM in common, but I don't see how that could cause a Vcore problem.

ET or Holst, any suggestions?

Is there some kind of protection circuit causing this and is there any way to disable it (including cutting chip pins)?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2003, 07:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 238
Send a message via AIM to DisposableHero

yup same here... i can set it to i think up to 1.95 vcore and it'l make it into windows... but liek you said.. anything that stresses cpu... will make comp turn off
__________________
-METALLICA-

| AMD XP 1700+ @ 2.75 2.05v | Prometeia | Epox 8RDA+ | 512m Corsair DDR @ 211 DC | ATi 9500 @ 9700 - 400/630 | Antec sx1040b | 80gig WD |

-METALLICA-
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2003, 09:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: South Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 173

ET or Holst,

Is this being caused by the IRU3055's OVP tripping?

Warranty issues aside....

Can I lift pin 15 & 19 on the 3055 to disable OVP?

Are there any other protective circuits that could cause this?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2003, 09:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 238
Send a message via AIM to DisposableHero

dude my southbridge is a little warmer than normal... and im only at 1666 12.5x133 1.85v im thinking of putting i sink on that sucker see if anything happens.. i put a sink and a fan blowing on my mosfets didnt do a thing though


edit: what is your "case/mobo" temp? i think thats taken at the southbridge somewhere
__________________
-METALLICA-

| AMD XP 1700+ @ 2.75 2.05v | Prometeia | Epox 8RDA+ | 512m Corsair DDR @ 211 DC | ATi 9500 @ 9700 - 400/630 | Antec sx1040b | 80gig WD |

-METALLICA-

Last edited by DisposableHero; 13th January, 2003 at 09:40 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2003, 07:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 18

Wow, i have exactly the same problems. Shutting down after a second if i run Prime, or super Pi in Windows at over 1,95 V.
I was working over two weeks on this problem, but nothing helped.
I cooled nearly all chips on this damn MoBo, without any positive results. Maybe it can`t handle subzero temps or very low temps and is cutting the power off...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2003, 08:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 238
Send a message via AIM to DisposableHero

Quote:
Originally posted by Merenfreak
Wow, i have exactly the same problems. Shutting down after a second if i run Prime, or super Pi in Windows at over 1,95 V.
I was working over two weeks on this problem, but nothing helped.
I cooled nearly all chips on this damn MoBo, without any positive results. Maybe it can`t handle subzero temps or very low temps and is cutting the power off...
is this an 8rda or 8rda+?
__________________
-METALLICA-

| AMD XP 1700+ @ 2.75 2.05v | Prometeia | Epox 8RDA+ | 512m Corsair DDR @ 211 DC | ATi 9500 @ 9700 - 400/630 | Antec sx1040b | 80gig WD |

-METALLICA-
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2003, 08:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 13
Send a message via ICQ to rexer

Running my 1800+ Tbred @ 2.13ghz using 2.0vcore prefectly fine. I've had it up to 2.1vcore also with no problems.

Strange problem you guys are having.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2003, 08:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 238
Send a message via AIM to DisposableHero

the strangest thing is that no epox rep. has any say on the matter
__________________
-METALLICA-

| AMD XP 1700+ @ 2.75 2.05v | Prometeia | Epox 8RDA+ | 512m Corsair DDR @ 211 DC | ATi 9500 @ 9700 - 400/630 | Antec sx1040b | 80gig WD |

-METALLICA-
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2003, 09:55 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

No, what's strange is that you seem to feel they are obligated to do so. They are not. They volunteer their time here at AOA, do what they can to help those they have time to.

Equally strange is that our long time members haven't seen this problem. It might be helpful if you at lest stated which mother board your using along with the usual details concerning your system.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 14th January, 2003 at 09:58 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2003, 10:12 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
Originally posted by DisposableHero
the strangest thing is that no epox rep. has any say on the matter
I allready have on other threads.

My board runs fine at 2.05v any more than that and my CPU overheats once ambient temperature rises.

I do have allot of airflow over the mosfets and vreg.

You can disable the Vreg's OVP by lifting a pin and adding some resistance although Im not sure thats the problem you are experiencing.

http://www.irf.com/product-info/data...ta/iru3055.pdf

Pin 16 looks like what you want to mess with
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2003, 02:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 25

No problems running a 2400 AIUGB here (2470 @ 2.00v). had it up to 2.17 by accident (was looking at the chipset voltage), no problems booting/shutting down/loading the BIOS/changing/rebooting
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2003, 03:20 PM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

I have the problem but I think its memory related, Have you guys disabled the automatically shutdown thingie in startup and recovery to see if its a Blue screen error?

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/lee.nagle/xpshutdown.JPG
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
higher Vcore for 4PDA2+? frogblast EPoX MotherBoards 56 4th September, 2004 08:19 AM
[8RDA3+ Rev. 3.1] Why cant i use a higher vcore than 2.0?! fabbro76 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 13 13th August, 2004 07:17 AM
OC software to achive a higher vcore? mobius_13 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 28th July, 2004 02:40 PM
nForce2 Higher tRAS yields better performance and higher overclocks? Evc AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 23rd July, 2003 10:42 PM
Vcore higher then it should be?? Stilo EPoX MotherBoards 2 22nd January, 2003 07:08 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0