AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th January, 2003, 08:57 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

ASUS a7v333 bios trouble

I have had less than perfect stability with my system I decided to try updating the BIOS. Downloaded the 1015 bios from ftp.asuscom.de. Flashed and everything seemed fine. Rebooted and dos worked fine and the bios was fine. But windows XP owuldn't boot with a NO_IRP_STACKING something error. Any ideas? When I eventaully managed to move the original bin which fortunately i had backed up on to a floppy and then restore the bios, it was all perfect.

Any ideas whats wrong? system spec listed below.
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2003, 11:41 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Erm no, I dunno whats wrong. I have the same mobo as you and mine is working great...
Did you try lowering your overclock? Not that I really think it would matter, but its the first thing I try if something screws up! LOL
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2003, 05:20 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Are only Beta BIOS updates available at Asus.Germany? Or are "Final" BIOS flashes there too?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2003, 07:04 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

There was a 1016 beta and a 1015 final. I tried the 1015. Haven't tried the beta yet. First thing I did was reset my overclock for the first boot. none of the settings or anything i tried made a difference. I tried repaving with the ghost file I made a couple of days ago but it still did the same thing. But when I came back to the original (1011 by the way) BIOS it worked fine. I may try that 1016 beta jsut to see how it goes later.

Thanks for the replies though.
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 01:44 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Glad to read that going back to the 1011's fixed everything! Did you use the Asus "automatic BIOS update while you're online" feature?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 07:21 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

I tried doing it automatically but it couldn't connect. So I downloaded it manually then flashed from within windows. When I flashed back to 1011 I used awardflash obviously cos I couldn't get into windows to use that program. Does anyone reckon that flashing 1015 using award instead of the automatic update would actually make a difference?
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone else having trouble with the New Epox 9NPa+ Bios that is out 07.28.05?? bozack EPoX MotherBoards 10 9th August, 2005 07:29 PM
A7V333 bios updates stigweed AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 3rd June, 2003 11:00 PM
Trouble with the new bios for the 8rda+ Robin B EPoX MotherBoards 1 2nd February, 2003 12:36 PM
ASUS A7V333-Raid VDimm Question. mookydooky AMD Motherboards & CPUs 12 18th November, 2002 02:57 AM
who own asus a7v333 joehoo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 15th June, 2002 04:17 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0